Chevron Left
Back to Leadership Principles for Software Engineers

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Leadership Principles for Software Engineers by Advancing Women in Tech

4.8
stars
40 ratings

About the Course

Sponsored by AMAZON WEB SERVICES (AWS). Learn real-world software engineering management skills to succeed and impress in your first (or next) management role at elite engineering organizations. NANCY WANG, Director of Engineering and General Manager of AWS Data Protection Services and Founder, Advancing Women in Tech (AWIT), shares with you the engineering skills cultivated at AMAZON (the #2-ranked company in the Fortune 500), with supplemental practices from GOOGLE and MICROSOFT. Develop the skills and mental models that the world's best engineering managers apply to attract and retain world-class engineering talent. Upon course completion, you will understand what world-class software engineering organizations expect of their managers, including: * How to BECOME A MANAGER * Whether MANAGERS or INDIVIDUAL CONTRIBUTORS make more money * What is the difference between MANAGER EFFECTIVENESS and MANAGER QUALITY * How to HIRE YOUR TEAM * How to guide a team with TEAM GOALS...

Top reviews

DN

Nov 11, 2022

I enjoyed listening through this course while going about my day. Nancy should start a podcast she's very insightful.

SO

Nov 11, 2022

This content seemed more relevant than what I learned elsewhere about how to manage.

Filter by:

1 - 18 of 18 Reviews for Leadership Principles for Software Engineers

By Thato M

Aug 9, 2023

I highly recommend the course to anyone who is in the engineering sector. Although the content tend to focus more specifically on software engineering, any other engineering department can relate to the content.

l am not yet a manager but the content was very helpful in a sense that I know what is expected of me and what is it that I should expect from my manager. For future reference it also helped me with what I need to do in order for myself to successfully redirect my career into engineering management.

By My R

Dec 23, 2022

An excellent course for those whishing to learn and acquire the knowledge as well as skillsets for leadership in engineering roles (e.g. lead, manager, director etc.) Nancy's professional background and work experiences in major tech corporations provided valuable insights into how leadership is nurtured in those companies. In addition, she skillfully presented these insights into digestible units over several modules. Looking forward to more courses from AWIT. Thank you and best regards!

By Vlad G

Sep 13, 2023

This course makes concrete some of the things engineering managers might take for granted. Nancy Wang provokes us to introspect on the qualities we possess that has made us managers, or those we lack and have caused us to struggle.

I would highly recommend this for anyone who is already a manager, but still learning the ropes, or anyone considering switching into the managerial track.

By James K

Nov 14, 2022

The concepts in this course are presented very clearly and explained in a way that they can be applied in the real world. The course is aimed at those wanting to move into an engineering leadership role or those wanting to improve on the basics of that role and I think the material is both relevant and well-calibrated for those audiences.

By Michael T

Mar 30, 2023

Extremely practical and actionable course. Going to share with my niece. This is an excellent resource for anyone. But I'm especially thankful that this course particularly speaks to and supports young women in tech.

By Jeff S

Oct 24, 2023

Leadership Principles for Software Engineers by AWIT is an excellent course on Engineering Management. The material made sense to me as an experienced Engineer so I'm confident that I'll retain it. Nancy Wang did a great job teaching the course. I LOVED the interview with Neha!

By Tarek I

Sep 25, 2023

This was good course giving good concepts about leaderships and managements. It is good that the instructor provides some insights how things are being executed in big companies like Google and Amazon.

By Demo N

Nov 12, 2022

I enjoyed listening through this course while going about my day. Nancy should start a podcast she's very insightful.

By Sahad O

Nov 12, 2022

This content seemed more relevant than what I learned elsewhere about how to manage.

By Adeyemi T

Mar 30, 2024

explicit course modules with reallife industry experience explanations

By Si F

Nov 12, 2022

I didn't know what managers actually did until taking this course.

By Xati R

Nov 12, 2022

great to see a female engineering leader giving back

By Gashin G

Mar 24, 2023

Highly informative and very well structured.

By Alvin

Mar 24, 2024

Helpful insights with good explanations

By Andrea C

Apr 27, 2023

Very good explained and super usefull!

By Volodymyr N

Apr 28, 2024

I learned a lot. Thank you!

By Jonathan D

Mar 14, 2023

Would be interesting to have hand-outs with the examples and templates discussed in the videos.