Chevron Left
Back to Renewable Energy: Fundamentals and Job Opportunities

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Renewable Energy: Fundamentals and Job Opportunities by University at Buffalo

4.7
stars
50 ratings
17 reviews

About the Course

This course prepares you to recognize the complexities and nuances of different renewable energy solutions, as well as relevant career opportunities (both technical occupations and roles not typically associated with clean energy). Learners are immersed in discussions about green energy technologies, the impact of sustainability on society, energy consumption in the United States and conservation. Topics include: tenets of green building design and construction, solar energy conversion through photovoltaic cells, wind turbine site selection and design, and nanotechnology applications in clean energy. It references educational opportunities from the State University of New York (SUNY) system that correlate with each clean energy market segment. The course is suitable for anyone interested in entering the renewable energy field, whether fresh to the workforce or switching industries. Material encompasses online lectures, videos, demos, readings and discussions. Learners will create a career roadmap, whereby they define a job that interests them, conduct a gap assessment to determine additional education/training/skills they need, and document a pathway to their ideal renewable energy career....

Top reviews

SB
Apr 15, 2021

Amazing course! I learned so much more about solar and wind and our universe! We can accomplish so very much if we all take that first step and make it all matter!

DV
Mar 8, 2021

Excellent introduction - Good presentations and materials, I learned a great deal and want to know more. Thank you

Filter by:

1 - 17 of 17 Reviews for Renewable Energy: Fundamentals and Job Opportunities

By Marion Sanchez

Feb 8, 2021

I did get a better understanding about Renewables energy

By Darlene d V

Mar 8, 2021

Excellent introduction - Good presentations and materials, I learned a great deal and want to know more. Thank you

By José L C

Feb 10, 2021

Give you a very good summary of renewable energies

By Walid H

May 16, 2021

Pathways to renewable energy

Practice charter

· Engage respectfully with local community including traditional owners of the land and seek their views and input before finalizing the design of the project and submitting a development application.

· Provide timely information and accessible, responsive in addressing the local community’s feedback, concern throughout the lifetime of the development.

· Be sensitive to areas of high biodiversity, cultural and landscape value in the design and operation of projects.

· Minimize the impacts of highly productive agricultural land where feasible and explore opportunities to integrate continued agricultural production into the project.

· Consulting the community on the potential visual, noise, traffic and other impacts of the development, and on the mitigation options where relevant.

· Support the local economy by providing local employment and procurement opportunities wherever possible.

· Offer communities the opportunity to share in the benefits of the development and consult them on the options available, including the relevant governance arrangements.

· Commit to using the development to support educational and tourism opportunities where appropriate.

· Demonstrate responsible land stewardship over the life of the development and welcome opportunities to enhance the ecological and cultural value of the land.

· Engage with communities on plan for the responsible decommissioning, or refurbishment/repowering of the site.

Renewable energy target

· Large-scale energy target requires high-energy users to acquire a fixed proportion of their electricity from renewable sources.

· Small-scale renewable energy scheme(SRES),provides a financial incentive for individuals and businesses to install “SRES” such as; Roof top solar, solar water heater, and heat pumps.

Benefits of renewable energy target

· Households will save hundreds of dollars on their power bills.

· General investments in home grown industry.

· Created tens of thousands of jobs

Governance arrangements

· The commitments; Signatories (defined as those companies who commit to honor the charter),of the best practice charter for renewable energy developments.

· Public display of commitment; clean energy council (CEC) will maintain and publish an up to date list of signatories to the charter on its website.

· Eligibility; Signatories to the charter must be member of the “CEC” and involved in the development, delivery and operation of large-scale renewable energy facilities.

· Change of the charter; should a proposal be made to alter the charter wording, the “CEC” will consult the Signatories and the relevant “CEC” Directorates on any proposed changes.

· Voluntary withdrawal from the charter; Signatories may decide at any time to withdraw from the charter.

· Honoring the charter; In honoring the charter, Signatories are solely responsible for managing any concerns raised directly with them or via the clean energy council (CEC).

By Peter R N

Mar 12, 2021

As a teacher (now in my mid 70s) I was looking at this course as an introduction/overview to Renewable Energy that I could use in my Industrial Arts classes. It has achieved that goal and will allow me to set class projects to inspire students and to discuss future employment opportunities/ pathways in the Renewable Energy fields.

By Sandy B

Apr 16, 2021

Amazing course! I learned so much more about solar and wind and our universe! We can accomplish so very much if we all take that first step and make it all matter!

By Celina

May 17, 2021

The format is great and the information is very useful.

By Samuel O

May 26, 2021

I gained a deeper knowledge about renewable energy

By Abdikadir I

Feb 25, 2021

Renewable energy ia very important in our lifes

By Shaik M A

Feb 13, 2021

Good course and good app helpful for student s

By Reda H

Apr 19, 2021

Good course

By Amine S

Mar 24, 2021

AMAIZING

By Borra G

May 15, 2021

Good

By Nicholas J O

May 6, 2021

I great introduction to how renewable energy works and the careers available. I would like to have have had more examples and practice problems in the technical lesson. One of each problem is not enough for me to learn how to to them.

By Benjamin A G E

Mar 20, 2021

Very useful information. It's a good course for an introduction to renewable energy. I would appreciate if it has a second part with more technical knowledge.

By ADARSH P

Jun 11, 2021

NICE EXPERIENCE .HAPPY TO LEARN A LOT IN CLEAN ENERGY .

By MUHAMMAD Z A I

Apr 5, 2021

Nice lessons and amazing task