Chevron Left
Back to Requirements Writing

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Requirements Writing by UNSW Sydney (The University of New South Wales)

4.7
stars
175 ratings
57 reviews

About the Course

Welcome to "Requirements Writing". As the title indicates, over the next four weeks, we will be looking at the important task of writing of text-based requirement statements. The course takes you step by step through the rules for writing requirements statements in accordance with the "Guide for Writing Requirements" published by the International Council on Systems Engineering (INCOSE). This course welcomes anyone who wants to find out how to write requirements. It is relevant to anyone in project management, engineering, QA, logistic support, operations, management, maintenance and other work areas. No specific background is required, and we welcome learners with all levels of interest and experience....

Top reviews

SR
Aug 4, 2020

This course provides a great introduction to requirements writing. I would recommend this to anyone who is new to writing requirements and needs to quickly understand how to write good requirements.

DP
Jul 27, 2021

Admirably rigorous and thorough, this course is an excellent resource for advancing or refreshing skills and mindset when it comes to capturing & defining requirements.

Filter by:

51 - 58 of 58 Reviews for Requirements Writing

By Max C

Jun 4, 2021

Great content, multiple choice answers really limit the demonstration of the student's knowledge.

By Franco S

Jul 8, 2019

Very thorough course about the rules on how to write text-based requirements

By Udochi E Q

Jun 22, 2020

I found this course very helpful and practical

By Edwin C v E

Dec 29, 2018

The course is way too short. Less than 1 hour of video material (for the 4 weeks combined!) is far below average. The INCOSE writing guideline, which can be bought on the INCOSE webpage and which is listed as recommended reading, is more than enough for most people to grasp the concepts behind textual guidelines, and to write and review textual guidelines themselves. The INCOSE guideline even includes lots of examples. Pushing his own pricey book (which is not at all required to successfully pass the course) at the end of each and every video becomes fairly annoying after 2 or 3 videos and should have been left out completely.

Apart from these issues, the course content is good. It is based on the INCOSE writing guide (of which dr. Ryan was a co-creator) and ISO 29148. Solid and valuable material, but as stated above, the course is too pricey to make it worthwhile for some people.

By Michael K

Jan 29, 2018

Although I enjoyed the course, I found it to be only a superficial introduction to the subject. It took me 2 hours and 12 minutes (132 minutes) to finish this "5 weeks" course with 100% grade. After viewing the first lecture in audit mode, I was quite enthusiastic and directly purchased the certified course. However, now I feel like I didn't get much for my $49 when I compare this short course with other Coursera courses. Many of them would offer the amount of material shown here in their first week - while providing much more in-depth knowledge in the remaining 3-4 weeks.

By James H

Apr 3, 2020

The structure for the requirements that the course is trying to teach is good and logical. However the test information is very annoying. It seems to care too much about the naming the error in each requirement and never really asks you to fix the requirement. Who cares if the error is a passive voice or in the definite article, you need to be able to spot this an error and fix it. Re-structure the quizzes and tests - this course could be so much better.

By Johannes W

May 15, 2021

This course is good content-wise, but, and that is a big mistake, it is not self-paced! Heaps of unsolved problems regarding this in the discussion forum. You can only take a week's content at a time, and then have to wait for a week to work on the content of the next week! No chance of finishing this four hour-course on a day, as you would usually want to do it.

By Arnau C

Dec 7, 2018

Just OK. In my opinion, the answers are not clear: they are ambiguous.