Chevron Left
Back to Risk governance: Manage the risks

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Risk governance: Manage the risks by Macquarie University

4.7
stars
346 ratings

About the Course

All organisations must grapple with fundamental issues at the heart of governance: who are our stakeholders? What are their objectives? How can we ensure these objectives are met as effectively as possible? How can we ensure all legitimate stakeholders are treated fairly? Via structured learning activities (video lectures, quizzes, discussion prompts and written assessments) this course will teach you how to address these questions and how a sound governance structure and comprehensive risk management framework can support you and your organisation in achieving its objectives. You will consider contemporary ethical issues and devise practical responses to them, and finally, you’ll discover that your future ‘influencing’ challenge will be to encourage all members of your organisation to understand their role in serving your organisation’s stakeholders....

Top reviews

DM

Jun 3, 2020

I am really satisfied with the course. But, some elements need to be improved, such as an inaccessible website on week 6, and a mistake in the interquartile calculation on the week 3 video.

CF

Oct 12, 2020

The most influencial in the specialization for me. Great content, great reading, a few minor glitches, but excellent. The professor is really good at the subject. Too bad it finished

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 112 Reviews for Risk governance: Manage the risks

By Stef

Nov 8, 2020

Good course structure, wide range of information and interesting.

Negatively: Several modules have missing resources (spreadsheets, articles...) and the quantitative section lacks the fundamentals (e.g. relies on specific versions of software without at least providing the underlying mathematics). Forum based assignments were not moderated nor responded to by any moderators when problems occurred (and there were many listed).

Suggestions to the Lecturer: The professor knows her topic and presents it concisely, yet more depth would be appreciated (in addition to the topics mentioned above). If all resources were available I'd have rated this with 4 stars. If all fundamentals were provided (even as additional references for self-study) I'd have rated this with a full endorsement.

By GIBSON M M

Jan 8, 2021

I would like to thank you for your awesome teaching experience and explanation and elaboration as i was taking this course . You really opened my mind to think out of the box

By Irina K

Apr 27, 2023

the course is too heavy on financial calculations. The tests require a fin background to complete. it's not aligned with the rest of the course of the specialization. Poor course design.

By Luiz F R M

Jan 22, 2023

The content is great, certainly one of the best courses that I took here in Coursera. I really learned a lot of financinal and non-financial risk management, incluiding quantitaive and qualitative methods to assure it. Furthermore, Professor Sheedy has a great oratory, especially for non english speakers. To develop: some class materials were a little difficult to find, and I saw it as a general situation with the students.

By Mark L

May 17, 2020

I really enjoyed going through this course! Elizabeth is an excellent lecturer and I did gain good knowledge about risk management and risk governance, given I had almost non-existing knowledge or experience in this field. I finished this course as part of the course specialisation and this course, in particular, is the second most-liked course I enjoyed.

By Srinivasan K

Nov 6, 2019

Best course and training delivery by professor. She is truly a knowledge bank and governance champion where the maximum amount of expertise hold on her finger-tips. Her tone of display make me feel that am interacting with an auditor.

I took many corporate governance courses in India, and this is one of THE BEST course..

KUDOS to Macquarie team...

By Sang N

Jan 7, 2024

A practical and engaging approach to risk management frameworks and solutions. The top 3 things that impressed me the most were (1) The cognitive processes and behavioural biases (2) The Quantitative model (Log returns and Monte Carlo stimulation techniques) (3) Giving voice to values. Thank you for designing such a relevant course.

By Guang Y ( H

Aug 20, 2020

Great course for those who want to learn about risk management and risk governance mechanisms. A great beginner course. Wish there was another course similar to this that is more advanced. Assessments are practical and the content you learn is all up to date with current risk practices and regulations.

Overall, great course.

By Jaime V

Aug 15, 2020

I believe it is a very good introduction to the topic. Nowadays it is very useful to have these types of short instruction courses. Professor Sheedy did an excellent work to put this together and I appreciate the material that was given to us in various formats (articles, videos, etc.)

By May N

Jul 5, 2020

This is not a light course but very informative and practical. Professor Sheddy is an exceptional one. I do recommend it for All people. Risk management as the professor said is a given in today's business model. I did enjoyed it and gained a lot of knowledge as well

By Jessa I

Nov 7, 2020

I am grateful to take this course. It helped me open my perspective about big organizations and organizations in general. Managing a lot of people is indeed complex, and it helps to have systems in place. This course teaches you the importance of systems.

By محمد ب ض ا ب ط ا

Aug 20, 2022

شكرا للجامعة شكرا للاساتذه شكرا وزارة الموارد البشرية بالمملكة العربية السعودية على حسن اختيارها وحرصها على تطوير الموارد البشرية باللملكة العربية السعودية حيث اختارت هذه الجامعة لتكون هي طريق تطوير الموظفين وذلك بالتعاون مع هذه الجامعة الناجحة والمتميزة

By Dhinesh A D

Aug 24, 2021

Excellent course on Risk Management. Case studies offered such as ISO 31000 standards were helpful. Learners get clarity on the risk governance practices that different organization practices. Overall, valuable course one should go for.

By AMANDA J

Nov 1, 2020

The lessons were very informative, attractive and easily understood. I would be much grateful to Professor Elizabeth Sheedy and all the supporting staff for their endless efforts to make this course a success. Thank you very much.

By Francisco V

Nov 29, 2020

A very inspiring course to uncover the importance of Risk at the top of the organizations. Congratulations to Prof Sheedy for the well structured and presented modules and for the very pragmatic approach throughout the content.

By Sophie B D

Jun 14, 2020

I have learned so much from this course! The practice documents added some true value to this course and the readings were extremely valuable to the learning process and the application of the learning. Great teacher too!

By Ruchi S

Oct 14, 2020

I am a Risk practitioner with 15 years of experience. I started this course wondering, " what will it teach me". I have been proven wrong and how !!

Highly recommended. Professor Elizabeth Sheedy exceeded my expectations.

By CHETAN D S

May 9, 2020

This was a challenging and rewarding course, which sharpened my Risk Governance Skill, I enjoy the value that this experience will bring in to my work and projects.” Thanks to all my colleague and Instructor.

By Dewa P K M

Jun 4, 2020

I am really satisfied with the course. But, some elements need to be improved, such as an inaccessible website on week 6, and a mistake in the interquartile calculation on the week 3 video.

By Felix C

Oct 5, 2020

I really liked this course, because it focused on the policy-side implementation of risk management rather than just the tools themselves. A must for managers everywhere, in my opinion.

By Carlos J R F

Oct 13, 2020

The most influencial in the specialization for me. Great content, great reading, a few minor glitches, but excellent. The professor is really good at the subject. Too bad it finished

By Haresh S

Apr 7, 2024

I'm an university student. I would like to take this opportunity to thank the lecturer, University and Coursera. This course is amazing.

By Bernard D V

Apr 5, 2020

Excellent course about risk governance and risk management. The course is complete and interesting. An excellent work has been done.

By ABDULRAHMAN A A S

Aug 10, 2022

I'm confident the training provided me with a lot of insight and necessary tools. Many thanks Abdulrhman

By Hannah Z

Nov 11, 2020

Very well structured with a good balance of theoretical framework and practical application