Chevron Left
Back to Roman Art and Archaeology

Roman Art and Archaeology, University of Arizona

4.6
310 ratings
94 reviews

About this Course

The objective of this course is to provide an overview of the culture of ancient Rome beginning about 1000 BCE and ending with the so-called "Fall of Rome". We will look at some of the key people who played a role in Rome, from the time of the kings through the Roman Republic and the Roman Empire. We will also focus on the city of Rome itself, as well as Rome's expansion through Italy, the Mediterranean, and beyond....

Top reviews

By VJ

Jul 06, 2016

To me, it is the best structured course so far. Quiz after every lesson and written assignment after every week. Also, prof. Soren is reproducing it steadily and in comprehending fashion.

By EM

Aug 16, 2016

A really interesting course, very informative and a very engaging tutor. I say this as a Classics teacher who has learned lots from these lectures. Thank you, Dr. Soren!

Filter by:

90 Reviews

By Susi Alsfelt Riise-Knudsen

Apr 16, 2019

fantastic

By Susanne Pröse

Mar 29, 2019

The course was a great experience for me. In addition I like the little dog. She was not always interested but a very helpful auditor.

By Anil Rao

Feb 26, 2019

Solid course for those interested in Roman History. A little meandering at times with tangential diversions into stuff like Marine Archaeology and even studying history through Tree aging but interesting and well paced most of the time.

By Ygor Klain Belchior

Feb 19, 2019

good

By Francisco León

Feb 10, 2019

Un genial profesor.

By Maria iZquierdo

Nov 23, 2018

Amazing and entertaining course! I totally recommend to everyone looking for a broad panoram on Roman history.

By Manuel Alejandro Medina Aracena

Nov 01, 2018

Bastante didáctico e conciso en la información que entrega

By Samer Mohamed Khadour

Oct 20, 2018

Its a great course. Thanks.

By Wojciech Wawrety

Oct 20, 2018

Amazing course. Dr Soren did a great hard job. The course has a lot of information, interviews and proffesional films.

By Jen Skladony

Oct 14, 2018

Enjoyable & informative. A great warm-up for going back to college.

Thanks!!