Chevron Left
Back to Solar Energy System Design

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Solar Energy System Design by The State University of New York

4.8
stars
145 ratings
58 reviews

About the Course

Solar Energy System Design builds upon the introduction to PV systems from Solar Energy Basics course, which included basic system components and functions, as well as some basic system sizing using simplifying assumptions. You should at this point have a basic understanding of electrical power and energy, be able to calculate the energy needs of a site as well as energy production potential for a PV system at a given location under optimal conditions. Much of this course will focus on incorporating on the ground conditions into energy production considerations, and how to account for these conditions in system design and equipment selection. By the end of this course you should be able to incorporate losses in irradiance due to array setups with less than optimal positioning and/or shading, and account for variations in module output due to temperature variations in your system design....

Top reviews

PK
Oct 27, 2020

The course is very focused and use of simple language and examples makes the concept pretty clear. Excellent content and you will end up with good knowledge on Solar Energy System.

ZA
Sep 9, 2020

Teacher is very elaborative and explained each concept so nicely. Thankfully now i can design solar systems for net metering. Thanks Professor Neal Abrams and Coursera

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 60 Reviews for Solar Energy System Design

By Ulf L

Aug 27, 2020

Really good course for the design of ongrid PV systems: a lot of practical advice on how to dimension this kind of PV systems. What could be added (but maybe this also for another course): how to design grid independent systems with battery storage and what are (ranges for) prices, on what do they depend etc.

By zarar a

Sep 10, 2020

Teacher is very elaborative and explained each concept so nicely. Thankfully now i can design solar systems for net metering. Thanks Professor Neal Abrams and Coursera

By paul p

Dec 28, 2020

this is a course to where you design and spec a PV system, it is well presented and i have learnt many new things . a big thanks to prof Neal Abrams

By Saroj K

Sep 22, 2020

This course was very helpful to me in understanding how to design a solar system based on different environmental condition. I applaud SUNY for coming up with such an effective course regarding solar energy system design.

By Pravin K

Oct 28, 2020

The course is very focused and use of simple language and examples makes the concept pretty clear. Excellent content and you will end up with good knowledge on Solar Energy System.

By kishan k

Apr 18, 2021

In this Coursera course you have not mention battery selection,mppt tech. So this knowledge is not enough

By Geron G

Oct 4, 2020

This course is really great. I learned a lot and boost my confidence by adding new sets of skills.

By Rigert S

Aug 15, 2020

Good introduction in system sizing and calculation of losses

By MARUTI R P

Mar 13, 2021

I needed this course for my academic purposes, it is really well designed course and will take you to the depth of solar system design. If you are electrical engineer and need to understand the basics of solar system design you should definitely go for it.

By mehran k

Sep 19, 2020

Great Course, the syllabus covered all the necessary topics in designing a grid connected solar system. Moreover, the lecture delivery style of the instructor was very engaging, which allowed me to finish the course before deadline.

By houssem m

Jan 23, 2021

really a great course , i would like to give a special thanks to Mr Neal Abrams for the great work i appreciate the effort he made to elaborate such an amazing course , looking forword to learn more from that wonderful Professor .

By Birannaa J

Dec 24, 2020

Amazing course. I learned a lot from this. Very simple and easy to understand classes. Every scenarios were explained through simple examples make the study much more easy. I recommend to follow this course with out any hesitation.

By Soorya p S

Jun 1, 2021

It was really very interesting but tough academic journey of my life. Many times frustrated for not clearing the tests....finally got it...At some places more explanations and examples must be included.

By Nicolás A P L

Jul 12, 2021

Excellent Course !! It opened my interest in solar energy and allowed me to design a solar installation in a good way. Thank you very much to the University and the professors.

By Alejandro X T M

Dec 17, 2020

magnificent course. I learned a lot in these weeks with all the tasks, bibliographic references and with the elaboration of the final project.

My favorite course so far.

By Shah N A

Jun 23, 2021

Just overwhelmed by the learning and outcome i obtained from the course. The course provides detailed study and understanding associated with respective stream.

By Brayan M R

Jun 17, 2021

It was amazing, This course helped me to see how important is the solar energy. Also this course helped me get my studies on track.

By rashid k

Jun 21, 2021

Excellent course for the busy professional to enhance their knowledge and skills in PV Designing from the reputed institute.

By MUHAMMAD A

Jul 11, 2021

Among last few courses I have done here, This is most interesting & full of learnings for Solar Design Engineers.

By Alvaro R

May 20, 2021

Well prepared and complete for understanding of Solar Systems, components and installation

By mohitha v

Oct 10, 2020

It was really good course. I understood the practical version of solar system designing.

By NABIN K S

Apr 18, 2021

This course has helped me to understand more parameters for solar energy system design

By Dai B

Jul 15, 2021

Good course. Strike a great balance between theory and practice. I really enjoy it.

By Charles O

Apr 10, 2021

An important course for any Solar system designer taught by an excellent tutor

By Madhav D

Jun 15, 2021

It would be great if battery backed up systems are also covered in the course