Chevron Left
Back to Songwriting: Writing the Music

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Songwriting: Writing the Music by Berklee

4.9
stars
32 ratings

About the Course

If your notebook is full of unused lyrics and you’re struggling to find inspiration for the music, this course is for you. Whether you are an experienced songwriter looking for new ideas or a beginning songwriter learning to read music, this course will lead you to a rich source of songwriting possibilities. Led by award winning songwriter and Berklee College of Music professor Scarlet Keys, you’ll learn to construct strong, expressive melodies that your audience will remember as well as experiment with new chords to break out of any harmonic rut. Whether you are new to writing music or are looking for new ideas to change up your songs, this class will teach you how to make deliberate choices with your harmonies and melodies to best emulate the emotions you want your audience to feel. You will start by discovering common chord progression and tying specific emotions to each chords in a scale. Then you will practice changing the harmonic and melodic rhythm of a song to better highlight important lyrics. Finally, you will learn to create melodic hooks and simple techniques to help you generate new melodic ideas....

Top reviews

HC

Jan 8, 2022

It really helped me understand how the music plays a part in a song, working with the lyrics. It encouraged me to try out stuff and write fearlessly.

HV

Mar 17, 2022

Super helpful primer on the key things to think about when selecting chords and rhythms for a song!

Filter by:

1 - 13 of 13 Reviews for Songwriting: Writing the Music

By Sylvain L

Sep 28, 2022

5 star for the content of the lessons, by the stellar Scarlet Keys. She will help you raise your game in making your music express the emotions you wanted to convey. Note: the videos from this course are available for free on Berklee's YT channel, so if you don't need the certificate...

Minus 1 star for the outdated and clumsy user experience from Coursera: impractical, difficult to navigate and confusing. The peer-rating system is particularly bad. Time to completely rethink it.

By Paula P

Jul 25, 2022

This was such a wonderful course. I had taken music theory in college and had the classical training, but this course is exactly what I wanted to learn beyond what I was taught. Scarlet does such a great job conveying the emotions that are associated with certain chords and chord progressions and really breaks down what you need to create prosody in music. It is challenging, but in the best way possible.

By Themba M

Apr 4, 2022

loved the course, learnt a lot.

By Ian L M

Dec 29, 2022

Great course. You'll learn about which chords and melodies - along with the lyrics - invoke specific emotions. I would say that the only downside is that it's more geared toward piano/keyboard players instead of other instruments. An understanding of basic music theory is a good idea before starting this course.

By Luis G M

Jun 13, 2022

Ha sido un curso muy inspirador, las ideas propuestas por la profesora resultan muy útiles y las tareas están muy bien planteadas. Es un buen material al que regresar siempre que las musas estén visitando a Beyoncé :)

By Hera M A

Jan 9, 2022

It really helped me understand how the music plays a part in a song, working with the lyrics. It encouraged me to try out stuff and write fearlessly.

By Heather V

Mar 17, 2022

Super helpful primer on the key things to think about when selecting chords and rhythms for a song!

By Beautiful M

Jul 11, 2022

 That was a great course and I loved the chords lessons in songwriting.

Thanks.

By Fabs R

Jun 21, 2022

A very helpful course. It helped me a lot when it comes to harmonic rythm

By Rubén D G

Jan 31, 2023

I highly

Recommend

this course!

By Dikaia M

Apr 29, 2021

This is a great course!

By PABLO L A M

Sep 6, 2022

I love it. Thank you!

By Mario A

Sep 6, 2021

Great course!