Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Molecular Spectroscopy

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Molecular Spectroscopy by University of Manchester

4.7
stars
2,066 ratings
540 reviews

About the Course

The course introduces the three key spectroscopic methods used by chemists and biochemists to analyse the molecular and electronic structure of atoms and molecules. These are UV/Visible , Infra-red (IR) and Nuclear Magnetic Resonance (NMR) spectroscopies. The content is presented using short focussed and interactive screencast presentations accompanied by formative quizzes to probe understanding of the key concepts presented. Numerous exercises are provided to facilitate mastery of each topic. A unique virtual spectroscopic laboratory is made available to enable students to measure and analyse spectra online. Assessment is via summative quizzes completed during the course period....

Top reviews

KB

Oct 14, 2020

This course helped me to further understand the principle behinds the 3 main spectroscopic techniques: UV/VIS, IR and NMR which is very beneficial for my future career working in a lab environment.

MR

Sep 9, 2020

Muy bien todo y super completo, ayuda aun mas en esta situación de cuarentena porque facilita la información y es una nueva manera de aprender que esta muy bien fundamentada y muy bien organizada

Filter by:

501 - 525 of 544 Reviews for Introduction to Molecular Spectroscopy

By NAGALAKSHMI R C

Jul 15, 2020

Very Nice course

By Saugata G

Aug 5, 2018

Very interesting

By Manasa d

May 1, 2020

good experience

By Antony J

Aug 7, 2020

Good, helpful

By Srikanth

May 8, 2020

It is great

By RISHI S

Oct 26, 2021

GOOD

By NISHITA M

May 17, 2020

nice

By Y V S C

May 3, 2020

Good

By BANGARU R

Sep 28, 2021

m

By Paulus C

Mar 14, 2018

C

By Dion S

Jul 29, 2018

I was kind of disappointed. Before this course I had done about half a year of spectroscopy as part of labs undergraduate chemistry at community college, and we hadn't really done any UV other than mentioning its existence. I took this course hoping to refresh and improve my spectroscopy skills and learn UV before I transfer to University. Sadly, I found the course to be extremely cursory at best. Perhaps I was just looking for too much. Maybe Manchester will offer a sequel? If so I would enrol and check it out.

I also found the course to be rather understaffed in that when I tried asking some questions on the forums it took weeks for even another student to reply, much less an instructor. In addition there seem to have been several wrong answers on the quizzes, as well as typos such as 106 instead of 10^6. Although the staff has addressed a number of this issues I am still waiting on a correction or comment on the final quiz. Since I paid for this course, I would like my grade to reflect what I have externally verified is a correct answer.

By Bradley S

Nov 21, 2021

L​ectures are clear and informative, but the online testing is very poor. Some tests had missing sections of the answers due to issues with brackets, and math examples given during lectures are too simple in retrospect as the questions during tests are often applications of the equations from views that were not discussed during the lectures.

F​urther, on two quizzes, there were problems that were not even discussed. I went back through the lectures to find where I missed them, and never found it. There is a chance it was an equation that the student was assumed to know from other courses.

By Rosie T

Apr 21, 2020

Detailed and informative lectures, however the quiz and assessment sections of the course were remarkably poor. There were multiple mistakes in marking these, and many of my questions are left unanswered. A mark scheme and feedback of explanation of the answers would be appreciated to help those completing the course in the future, as the discussion forums are pretty dead.

By Siobhán O

Aug 25, 2020

It was OK, the workings to the answers would be very useful! You can get it wrong so many times and still never find out the answer when you finally pass in a quiz which is frustrating. Also more interactiveness would be appreciated rather than just watching students in a lecture hall.

I expected videos, sample questions and workings, better week study sheets etc

By Deybi F A A

Aug 19, 2020

The course is short and I believe that the course is for people to know the topics, if you do not know them, you will probably get confused. I would like they left more support material to learn and that in the exams the topics seen were asked. I would like the course to be revised in order to improve learning.

By asmaa g

Dec 5, 2020

it would be better if it activate the option of verifying of the result or for showing it after limited times of tries .

sometimes in the quiz there are questions with laws that are not discussed in the course .

also it would be better of having a book as a reference to study

By ebron f

Nov 9, 2020

Good course, had the opportunity to learn new concepts. But the certificate coursera is providing is having some issues on verification and The University logo is not fully showing in the certificate its only partially visible.... HOPING COURSERA WILL HELP ME OUT.

By Teri S

Jul 17, 2020

The subject matter is interesting and enjoyable to learn about.

However, I felt that it was poorly presented. The lecturer just rambled through the prepared slides, rather than introducing and explaining the topics to his audience.

By Chow Y S

Jun 22, 2020

Overall a decent introduction to spectroscopy but at week 3 the practice quiz test concepts that were not taught. Hence, unable to complete but still able to complete this module because it's ungraded

By Nimrod B

Apr 25, 2018

Nice overview of the field but poorly written exams, focusing on technical minutia.

Even worse, some problems are not solvable based on the knowledge given in the course.

By Yogen M B

May 20, 2020

The course is very good. Quizzes for the Week 3 are messed up and need a lot of work. Could have had more examples of spectrum analysis.

By Niranjani D

Sep 15, 2020

The lectures could have been more clear and planned. The assignments are really good and churns-up our mind to imbibe the concepts.

By Morgan L G R

Oct 13, 2020

Good content to go through the basics, however lack of details and theory about the quantum physics underlying NMR and IR

By Madhusudana R M

Jun 22, 2020

It is useful only for already subject known candidates. Its highly difficult to understand new to spectroscopy