Chevron Left
Back to Stories of Infection

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Stories of Infection by Stanford University

4.9
787 ratings
227 reviews

About the Course

This course introduces learners to a variety of infectious diseases using a patient-centered, story-based approach. Through illustrated, short videos, learners will follow the course of each patient’s illness, from initial presentation to resolution. Integrating the relevant microbiology, pathophysiology and immunology, this course aims to engage and entice the learner towards future studies in microbiology, immunology and infectious diseases. The patient-centered videos included in this course were created as part of the Re-imagining Medical Education initiative, led by Charles Prober MD, Senior Associate Dean of Medical Education at the Stanford School of Medicine. This initiative was the first of its kind to explore the collaborative creation of foundational medical education online content by inter-institutional teams of faculty. The content presented in this course was created by faculty from Stanford University School of Medicine, in collaboration with The University of Washington School of Medicine, Duke University School of Medicine, UCSF School of Medicine, and The University of Michigan Medical School. Support for this initiative was provided by the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation and the Burke Family Foundation. PLEASE NOTE: Information provided in this course is for educational purposes only and is not intended to be used for diagnostic and/or treatment purposes....

Top reviews

AV

Apr 12, 2019

Great course even for non-professionals. Helped understand unknown reason health conditions when doctors struggled to make a diagnosis or even find any particular reason for current health conditions.

JG

Dec 13, 2017

Very informative course! I didn't know Rocky Mountain Spotted Fever existed until I took this course. Although it would make more sense if more diseases were covered like scarlet fever, asthma etc.

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 228 Reviews for Stories of Infection

By seham a e

Feb 03, 2019

Thank you for this amazing course.

By Shi C

Jan 03, 2019

Great course, quite a bit information, clear explanation easy to follow. However I feel like the questions are a bit less challenging as I can complete most of them without going through all the details of the course materials. Would recommend to anyone who already has some understanding/background/experience with this field.

By nadia a

Feb 11, 2019

La présentation du cours est parfaite, le contenu très intéressant.

J'apprécie vraiment de suivre ce mooc.

By Rita B d

Feb 26, 2019

This course gave me a very good rehearesal of some infectious diseases on a very enjoyable way. I would like to do more courses like that on infectious diseases, on vaccination, or on immunological backgrond in the future. Congratulations! All the presentations were excellent!

By Islam M M M

Mar 10, 2019

Very helpful and interesting course

By Ranganathan P

Mar 13, 2019

Excellent. For a non-medical person like me, this illustration and presentation with graphics were brilliant. And the speed of speech delivery was just right (not slow like many others), compelling you to stay alert. I sincerely thank the instructors and Stanford University for this course

By Katherine L

Mar 15, 2019

This class was so enjoyable to take. I really enjoyed the illustrated lecture, case study, and learning about the various infectious diseases that exists. For someone that has no background in the sciences, I found it easy to follow, and very informative. I definitely recommend taking this course.

By Harry A H

Mar 21, 2019

wish i had such a course as a student

By Victor J M

Dec 27, 2018

I learned so much from this course and I am extremely grateful that it's free!

By Jessica B

Feb 17, 2019

I have several degrees and currently pursuing a masters in public health and this was by far one of the best classes I have ever taken. It was extremely thorough yet taught in a story telling/case study manner that made it incredibly interesting and easier to remember. The information was high level but explained in a way to make it understandable for people who may not have a lot of experience in the health/medical world yet. I would recommend this course to anyone with an interest in disease transmission.

By Andrejs V

Apr 12, 2019

Great course even for non-professionals. Helped understand unknown reason health conditions when doctors struggled to make a diagnosis or even find any particular reason for current health conditions.

By Abhishek M

Jul 16, 2018

FOR ME IT WAS GREAT LEARNING EXPERIENCE

By Arpit K

Jul 25, 2018

very helpful course

By Camila F R C

Jul 30, 2018

Excelente curso, bastante completo, entrega datos específicos de cada patología presentada que son imprescindibles para su diagnóstico, por lo demás es un curso muy didáctico relatando las historias de infecciones reales y sobre todo el uso de TICS es lo que más destaca, así como también por supuesto la claridad de la instructora.

By basem m s

Jul 30, 2018

it was a very good and well organized and magnificent course

By Faisal M S K

May 27, 2017

free certificate should be given to top performer

By Antonio f

Jun 25, 2018

muy bueno, didactico

By Cristian Z A

Oct 01, 2017

Un gran curso, con una forma didáctica y facil de entender las diferentes patologías a través de casos clínicos. Excelente!!

By Sisira

Apr 15, 2017

Very Good

By Froment-Chatre

Jul 12, 2017

Great mooc, recommended for everyone. A warm thank to Maya Adam.

By Narendra K

Dec 23, 2017

Learn lots of information about the different types of Infection

By Athena P

Sep 30, 2017

Excellent course, my favorite so far on Coursera. Thoughtful and well-made. Some of the scenarios had me on the edge of my seat, wondering if the patient would survive or succumb to disease. I was introduced to conditions I'd never heard of before, and learned not only about assessment and diagnosis of infections but detailed explanation on how they occur in the body. Enjoyed the method of instruction as it was very engaging. I plan to refer back to the course in the future. Thank you Dr. Adam and faculty.

By Ahmed G

Sep 23, 2017

provide tons of information..thank you.

By Kristin W

Dec 08, 2017

Great overview of many infectious diseases. Love the drawing lecture, holds attention much better than a powerpoint. Thank you!

By Anirban B

Nov 14, 2017

excellent course. i learnt a lot. the diagrammatic representation of every disease was the USP of this course.