Chevron Left
Back to Careers in Sustainability

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Careers in Sustainability by Arizona State University

4.3
stars
41 ratings

About the Course

This course is an introduction to careers in sustainability, focusing primarily on the role of a sustainability analyst at public and private organizations. Through a mix of video, print, peer review, and interactive content, learners will be able to explain sustainability and the specifics of a sustainability analyst’s job within an organization. The course is structured around two elements: topical knowledge and practical application. Throughout the course, learners can practice what they learn and get feedback from their peers to build their skills. Additionally, knowledge checks provide milestones for learners to ensure that they understand the necessary information about each topic presented. Each module begins with a video that introduces the concepts taught in the lesson, including interviews with ASU School of Sustainability professors. Interactive activities and hands-on application are central to the learner experience in this course. They include participating in mini-application experiences, trying out real-life skills with expert feedback, and creating personalized tools like presentation slide decks and spreadsheet templates to use in the role on day one of a new job. The interactive and hands-on activities are specifically designed to teach not only sustainability skills but also professional skills like professional writing, presentation skills, and conducting successful video meetings. This combination of practical skills and specialized content makes this course a unique foundation for the rest of the specialization....

Top reviews

DA

Dec 24, 2022

Absolutely gem of a course. Anyone who wants to learn about sustainability with no prior knowledge of the same may start with this course.

Thank you Coursera! Merry Christmas!

SB

Oct 20, 2023

Very hands-on course, learned a lot by having to do a plethora of peer-reviewed assignments!

Filter by:

1 - 17 of 17 Reviews for Careers in Sustainability

By Natasha O

Dec 2, 2022

Though the information you learn is valuable, the grading system is not. Having peers grade you from all around the world does not seem fair when some of them are not taking this course seriously. I had feedback such as "no" with no explanation of how I could improve on an assignment I was genuinely confused about. I ended up failing that assignment and had to wait a week to be regraded on my new submission. The set up for the assignments is a little confusing at times and the "templates" can be used by anyone. So sometimes the data gets altered. It was easy and convenient, this class, so that's why I gave it any stars.

By Victoria F

Mar 8, 2023

The peer review grading piece holds up actually completing this module.

By ShivaChemburkar

Sep 13, 2023

Completing any course should not rely on peer-graded assignments. The course material is good and serves as a nice refresher or introduction to sustainability.

By Matti L

Oct 26, 2022

Course itself is quite good overview of the basics of a sustainability and on the work of a sustainability analyst. However, the many peer review task makes it a bit frustrating, since there is no way of tring to figh/skip a reviewer who clearly hasn't spend anytime checking the submission and gives 0 pts that should not be given for that submission. Then it requires another submission and another waiting time of new peer reviewers.

By Joshua J

Jul 19, 2023

creating the line graphs was the most challenging part as I was not familiar with Excel. This type of application is real world as I've been in solar and have conducted many bill reviews to ensure accurate system sizing for customers. I would've liked to have more than simply peer review- even though the peer review aspect is perfect for learning; I found a few folks didn't really understand the assignments or were just flying by. In any case, it proved useful for me. Look forward to part 2/3 !!

By Andrés Y V

Jan 23, 2023

Considering this course as an entrance to sustainability analytics, it provides great information. On a personal level, it motivated me, as it showed me with clarity what does a sustainability analyst profesional route looks like.

By Dolma A

Dec 24, 2022

Absolutely gem of a course. Anyone who wants to learn about sustainability with no prior knowledge of the same may start with this course.

Thank you Coursera! Merry Christmas!

By Sayan B

Oct 21, 2023

Very hands-on course, learned a lot by having to do a plethora of peer-reviewed assignments!

By Emad I H M E M

Jan 16, 2023

Excellent real sustainability course that match the reality situations and applications.

By Mohammad S C

Jan 7, 2023

Amazing to learn, and expandable to apply if you know your environment.

By Jocelyn S

Apr 6, 2023

I thoroughly enjoyed this course. Thank you!

By SHAJI M I H

Dec 29, 2022

Excellent

By Kyle C

Jan 2, 2023

This course provides a great overview of what working as a sustainability analyst entails, but the assignment prompts are often unclear and leave room for multiple interpretations. Additionally, I believe that the slide presentation templates they offer have some room for improvement when it comes to clearly and concisely conveying information. I would recommend this course for anyone (like me) who wants to learn more about what it's like to be a sustainability analyst, but I would not get overly caught up in the assignments.

By Jill V

Jan 13, 2023

Good overview of how sustainability analysis works and what skills are needed to have a career in that field. Some assignments and templates had mistakes in them, but it didn't significantly impact the course.

By Emma C

Dec 21, 2022

Good course with clear instructions, definitely a good place to start to learn more about sustainability analysts

By olivia b

May 30, 2023

I enjoyed the course. It was a good starting point to understanding what the topic encompasses.

By Corinne A

Apr 14, 2024

j'ai trouvé les vidéos de mauvaises qualités car les images ne sont pas pertinentes avec le son et ça m'a perturbé pour suivre ce qui est dit. Ce sont en plus les mêmes vidéos trouvées sur une banque d'images qui tournent sur la plupart.... Autant faire un audio simple, en plus ça sera plus en accord avec le thème de faire des contenus moins gourmand en data ;) . Je n'aime pas non plus la correction par les pairs, je ne me sens pas compétente pour juger le travail des autres, et j'aimerais mieux être évaluée par quelqu'un d'expérimenté. Mais je comprend ce choix et j'en connais les raisons. Il n'y a pas mon nom sur le certificat!!! autant dire qu'il est inutile :( Cependant, je suis tout de même satisfaite car cela m'a donné un autre regard sur mon métier. J'ai apprécié les exercices de mise en situation. Je remercie Coursera de m'avoir fait bénéficié de ce cursus