Chevron Left
Back to Tropical Forest Landscapes 101: Conservation & Restoration

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Tropical Forest Landscapes 101: Conservation & Restoration by Yale University

4.9
stars
105 ratings

About the Course

Conserving and restoring tropical forest landscapes offers an opportunity to address pressing environmental and social challenges. Effective conservation and restoration initiatives support multiple objectives, including ecosystem functioning, climate change mitigation and adaptation, food security, and economic growth. This seven-week course explores the technical, social, and funding aspects of this timely topic. You will learn: 1. The importance of tropical forest landscapes and the actors and motivations driving restoration and conservation efforts. 2. How tropical forest ecosystems work, and how they relate to climate change and biodiversity. 3. Fundamental human dimensions to consider in any project, including human livelihoods and local property rights. 4. Conservation theory and dynamic aspects of conserving species and landscapes. 5. A spectrum of restoration strategies and key considerations for restoration, such as species selection and planting design. 6. How agroforestry systems can integrate trees and production to meet different goals. 7. Basic financial concepts and potential sources of conservation and restoration funding. The materials in this course offer a selection of key content from the Yale School of the Environment and Yale Environmental Leadership & Training Initiative's yearlong Tropical Forest Landscapes: Conservation, Restoration & Sustainable Use online certificate program....

Top reviews

CB

Jul 2, 2022

The course gave me a cleared perspective and wider understanding on this very complicated issue of tropical forest restoration, and tropical conservation.

AD

Jun 16, 2023

It's an excellent course for those who are interested in forest ecology, biodiversity conservation and restoration ecology.

Filter by:

1 - 22 of 22 Reviews for Tropical Forest Landscapes 101: Conservation & Restoration

By Zoë S

Aug 4, 2022

Interesting and engaging, well explained, even for people with no background in these matters.

By Gabriela T

Apr 24, 2022

This is the best online course I've taken, hands down. Tropical Forest Landscapes 101 helped supplement and complement previous knowledge I'd gained from my Masters, and better equip me for the professional opportunities I would like to pursue in the future.

By Cristina B

Jul 3, 2022

The course gave me a cleared perspective and wider understanding on this very complicated issue of tropical forest restoration, and tropical conservation.

By Leyla J C N

Mar 20, 2024

A very good summary of the basics of restoration. It would be great if a full Specialization could be offered.

By Pauline

Nov 4, 2023

Great course covers a wide range of topics and provide a lot of additional resources to go further.

By carlos p

Aug 3, 2023

This was a great course . I took a lot from the professors . Definitely recommend the course .

By Jelena M

Jul 15, 2023

Amazing course, one of the best ones I have taken on this site! The lectures are well structured, and the speakers convey their messages in a clear way and also keep it very interesting.

By Abhilash D

Jun 17, 2023

It's an excellent course for those who are interested in forest ecology, biodiversity conservation and restoration ecology.

By Elizabeth R M

Aug 14, 2023

I loved the content of the course; it is appropriate for people who want to get into this area. Highly recommended.

By Daniel M C

Jun 1, 2024

Curso bien estructurado, con excelente material para cada un de los temas. Buenos links para profundizar

By Marcus M

Oct 13, 2023

the initial survey was brief, concise and useful to myself; i expect it was also useful to you

By katherine c

Mar 17, 2024

Excelente curso. Un contenido sumamente bueno y enriquecedor para conocer sobre estos temas

By Mandar K

Jul 4, 2023

One of the best online complete courses available on Forest Conservation and Restoration.

By derek n

Apr 1, 2024

I love this course it helped me out a lot on agriculture

By Emmanuel H

Oct 9, 2023

The course is so insightful and well provided.

By Osama k R

Apr 15, 2023

that was a very well designed course.

By Muhammad E S

Feb 5, 2023

very helpful and so amazing to learn

By Sonali S

Dec 25, 2022

Very well explained concepts.

By Vincent M

Apr 17, 2023

I totally recommend !

By Karl S

Apr 4, 2023

AMAZING well taught

By Md. R A

Sep 14, 2023

satisfactory

By Spartain

Apr 27, 2023

Very informative but would be great if it didnt had the reading material.