Chevron Left
Back to Math Prep: College & Work Ready

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Math Prep: College & Work Ready by University of North Texas

4.1
stars
79 ratings

About the Course

This MOOC will cover four main categories: Number Sense, Elementary Algebra, Intermediate Algebra, and Geometry and Statistics. The purpose of this course is to review and practice key concepts to prepare learners for college and the workforce. This course will help learners review and practice key concepts in preparation for the math portion of the Texas Success Initiative Assessment 2.0 (TSI2). The TSI2 is a series of placement tests for learners enrolling in public universities in Texas. Please note, as the TSI assesses your math knowledge spanning from elementary math concepts to statistics, the content presented is extensive. You will want to allow yourself adequate time to study and prepare for the TSI2 assessment....

Top reviews

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 31 Reviews for Math Prep: College & Work Ready

By Kristen L

Jan 17, 2022

This course has no videos; it is comprised entirely of write-ups of foundational math concepts. These write-ups are done well, without being too bloated, and encompasses all the key concepts. They are also fairly easy to read, and the layout is easy on the eyes. For anyone wanting a review of these math concepts, this is an EXCELLENT course to take a refresher from.

HOWEVER, this courses' quizzes are BLOATED with bugs. There are three weekly quizzes that it is impossible to get 100 on, because the answer to the question is submitted incorrectly. Until this is fixed, my rating will remain as is.

Otherwise, this is a nice refreshment course and it's obvious significant effort went to creating it.

By Jami L

Apr 4, 2022

While I found this course helpful as far as giving a nice review and I was happy with the learning experience as a whole, I was less pleased with the fact that there were so many errors in text and examples (clearly was not proofread) and ran into a few times when I had the correct answer on the quiz (asked others to work the equations/problems to verify) but was marked as incorrect. Seems like if this is for college prep, more attention would have been paid to details like these.

By Matt

Apr 20, 2022

Decent course, although there are some mistakes in a few of the quizzes with week three.

By Amanda P

Sep 17, 2022

This course was helpful, but somewhat unclear and riddled with errors, and bad coding. Some of the formulas and example problems show up clear and readable, while many appear in long strings of unformatted coding, so that in order to read it, you need to study the string and slowly pick apart the elements of the problems. It is time consuming and frustrating. Additionally, there are a few instances where this happens in a test, making the questions very difficult to answer.

Also, many of the test problems are printed so small it is actually difficult to make out what the problem even says. I found using the phone app actually helped a bit on legibility.

Lastly, this is an very fast paced overview of many mathmatical concepts. It doesnt dive extremely deep in any explainations. It mostly tells you, 'this' is 'that' and here are 3 examples, then moves on. It does mostly build on itself, but if you are not super attentive to the samples, you may miss a critical element that was not explained, but is 'somewhat' demonstrated in the sample problems... which are hard to read... so great review if you already have learned these concepts before and just need a refresher. But not good for someone brand new.

By Gavin G

Mar 27, 2022

Most quizzes have lots of issues when submitting an answer

By Cor v H

Mar 28, 2022

mo certificate.

By Stephen D

Jun 10, 2022

some math values on text and in tests were unreadable

By murat v

Aug 4, 2022

it was excellent, but there were some typos.

By Bartosz D

Dec 10, 2022

Many mistakes, please fix it as soon as possible. Course made for average students. It has not taught me much.

By Frieda P F

Oct 3, 2022

Too bad I had to give this course a one star. This course had so much potential. Unfortunately, many of the examples were shown in the coded programming language which made it difficult to understand the concepts. If this problem can be resolved, I would give it four stars since the material is succinct and thorough wilth a decent amount of examples to illustrate the concepts.

By Will

Sep 28, 2022

First, this course had errors in a few quizzes. Also, there appears to be computer code mixed in with the course text which makes reading the necessary material very difficult.

By Nay W M

Aug 21, 2022

I was learn about of mathematics's equations. I'm not really good in Maths , but I feel I'm beacame, a person who is interested in Maths and good in Maths. Thank you so much!

By Yuliya A S

Jul 20, 2022

I already have bachlors in Mathematics, however need a quick refresher of basic mathematics, and really love the content of the course.

By Rauana B

Dec 7, 2022

Thank you for this course! I prepared for the math test and it is really helpful with a clear explanation.

By Michael T

Jun 19, 2022

great review of HS math

By Hassan M C

Jul 2, 2022

Very enoyable course.

By Malini

Dec 8, 2022

Useful recap

By S.Mahdi J

Dec 6, 2022

very good

By عبدالرحمن م س ا

Mar 28, 2023

شكرا

By Monica H

Jul 24, 2022

It was a good review. It was not possible to enter some algebraic terms as answers. Maybe add a note in messages about how to enter the exponents and parenthsis. There were some typos that made the info confusing in places. Week 3 could be divided into 2 weeks because it is so much work.

By John B

Jun 7, 2022

Some errors in typing as well as not able to input radicals, exponents, or square roots as answers. Otherwise it covers the topics well and is easy to work through and use.

By Karl H K

Feb 1, 2023

This course starts, and ending quite challenging, should a course the preps, student-learners, for the: "Math Prep: College & Work Ready" course.

By Nosho

Nov 20, 2022

Some typos here and there, but overall a decent review for grade 10 algebra. Some grade 11 trig would be a useful addition to the course.

By Jennifer H

Mar 18, 2023

Overall a great course. Some typos in the lessons and in one quiz. Helpful though, if a little vague at times on explanations.

By Pieter J W L

Sep 19, 2022

Minor mistakes here and there, but overall a great course.