Chevron Left
Back to The Blockchain

Learner Reviews & Feedback for The Blockchain by University of California, Irvine

4.1
stars
106 ratings
33 reviews

About the Course

Begin your exploration of blockchain technologies with a look at fundamental blockchain concepts along with an application in which blockchain technology plays a critical role — cryptofinance. This course also introduces distributed digital systems in terms of software and network architecture, and shows how these systems underlie the functionality of the blockchain. In this and the following courses in the specialization you'll have a chance for hands-on-practice to cement your learning. This course requires the purchase of two books for the completion of assignments: Drescher, D. (2017). Blockchain Basics: A Non-Technical Introduction in 25 Steps. (ISBN-13: 978-1484226032) Antonoupoulos, A. M. (2017). The Internet of Money, Volume Two. (ISBN-13: 978-1947910065)...

Top reviews

SK
Aug 17, 2020

I have read about Blockchain earlier but I needed structured way to learn about it effectively. This course enabled me to learn in a very effective way.

DM
Oct 18, 2020

Under this Information Age Blockchain Technology have changed and will keep enlightening the future of Finance and other different sectors!

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 33 Reviews for The Blockchain

By Renee V

Sep 4, 2020

I bailed at the first week. I should have known when I was eager to start the class then had to order two books. Look at the syllabus. The first week is reading parts of two books, then watching the creator of Ethereum Foundation tell you why likes Python as a language. Nothing in this first week explains anything. And the instructor doesn't say anything--no video. Fortunately, I took Univ of Michigan's "bitcoin and blockchain explained" course (which is good) so I knew the jargon in the books and Ethereum video. But that content doesn't explain anything really. It might be interesting if you already know the concepts and want to just hear people chat about ideas. For instance, the first book (Internet of Money vol 2) is just the edited transcripts of the author's talks and those are all on podcast and youtube. (Look up his talk on streaming money; that's sort of interesting). As for this course, I regret spending time here and I'm cutting my losses.

By Shahriar K

Aug 18, 2020

I have read about Blockchain earlier but I needed structured way to learn about it effectively. This course enabled me to learn in a very effective way.

By Craig D

Apr 13, 2020

One of the better Blockchain fundamentals courses available. The course book is highly recommended. Professor Stefan is outstanding!

By Bhalaji N

Dec 7, 2019

Wonderful course for beginners to look out for under the span of blockchain

By Anuj S Y

Jul 21, 2020

Great course for beginners to understand the concept of blockchain

By sandip b

Jun 26, 2020

Best course to learn blockchain basics

By Rashed M A H

May 22, 2020

It was a huge of information for the beginner, I recommend this course for advanced students.

By MUGISHA D

Oct 19, 2020

Under this Information Age Blockchain Technology have changed and will keep enlightening the future of Finance and other different sectors!

By SRIRAJARAJESWARI T

May 11, 2020

Text book mentioned is not available freely plz give free e-book link

By Anthony S

Feb 17, 2021

This course was a great overview of Blockchain technology.

By Kyle K

Nov 26, 2020

This is the greatest class that I ever had

By Bit O

Jul 12, 2020

Thanks friend verY good course

By Md. A R

Jul 28, 2020

need more details on it

By Naresh B

Sep 1, 2020

That's great course.

By ABHIJIT B

Jan 31, 2021

VERY GOOD

By Muhammad Z H

Feb 23, 2020

Thanks

By A S R

Sep 27, 2020

good

By Souvik P

Jul 9, 2020

nice

By AMJITH S

Jun 21, 2020

Good

By Cheng H Y

Mar 31, 2021

It gives a brief idea of what blockchain is about. The recommended readings are easy to read and is good for people who do not have a technical background. Some of the videos on the other hand are a bit too technical and can be hard to understand.

By Y K V M

Dec 25, 2019

This course serves as an overview on what Blockchain is and also serves as a route map to what to concentrate on, in a larger spectrum of this technology.

By Karthikeyan S

Dec 24, 2020

Nice great to learn.Keep it going

By Saptarsi B

Apr 6, 2021

A beginner's overview of the blockchain scenario, about peer-to-peer networks and crypto currencies

By William I

Oct 2, 2020

This course consists primarily of video's of tech entrepreneurs talking about why the blockchain is important to them, technologies / languages they use, and claims about future blockchain based products they are developing. There are some basic technology concepts introduced but the course material does not build a strong foundational understanding of what the blockchain is, how it works and and why it is important. The week 4 exercise about converting currency exchange rates over time (including Bitcoin Cash) seems totally irrelevant and also contains an error in the way it is setup.

By Marc H

Apr 5, 2021

Very basic course. Not much content nor support provided by the instructor.

Errors in the peer-review assignment instructions not corrected after being signaled months ago.

Not enough people taking the course to review peer-reviewed assignments.

I feel I have lost my time and (some) money.