Chevron Left
Back to Design Thinking for Innovation

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Design Thinking for Innovation by University of Virginia

4.7
stars
6,771 ratings
2,107 reviews

About the Course

Today innovation is everyone's business. Whether you are a manager in a global corporation, an entrepreneur starting up, in a government role, or a teacher in an elementary school, everyone is expected to get lean – to do better with less. And that is why we all need design thinking. At every level in every kind of organization, design thinking provides the tools you need to become an innovative thinker and uncover creative opportunities that are there – you're just not seeing them yet. In this course, developed at the Darden School of Business at the University of Virginia and taught by top-ranked faculty, we provide an overview of design thinking and work with a model containing four key questions and several tools to help you understand design thinking as a problem solving approach. We also look at several stories from different organizations that used design thinking to uncover compelling solutions....

Top reviews

RB
Sep 14, 2020

Very well explained with lots of practical examples - would highly recommend this course to anyone looking at getting an initial understanding of design thinking and how it can be applied practically.

LM
Sep 22, 2019

I really liked the peer reviews at the end. It was a great way to view other examples of how different projects, industries, and teams have used design thinking. The course was easy to follow as well.

Filter by:

1976 - 2000 of 2,084 Reviews for Design Thinking for Innovation

By PASUPULETI R H

Dec 18, 2020

good

By N C R

Nov 30, 2020

nice

By 221910304052 U H K

Nov 2, 2020

goog

By 121910309023 I V S S S P

Oct 28, 2020

good

By Sri h

Oct 19, 2020

good

By Huda A S A

Sep 22, 2020

good

By Kamani S M

Aug 27, 2020

Good

By Saikiran A

Aug 17, 2020

Good

By Shone G

Jul 13, 2020

good

By Jagadeeshwari C

May 26, 2020

good

By DODDI R P

May 20, 2020

Good

By Sarannya s n

Apr 15, 2019

Good

By Prakash K

Jan 17, 2019

Good

By 321910303034 g

Dec 19, 2020

gud

By ABBURI S H

Dec 13, 2020

nyc

By JIGNESHKUMAR P

Sep 25, 2020

gd

By selvam

Apr 10, 2019

ok

By Jason T

Nov 21, 2020

.

By Elizabeth C

Oct 4, 2020

.

By Amjad B M

Aug 19, 2020

I

By Balázs J

Jan 3, 2019

I think the course is nicely structured and in the given timeframe and for the price it gives a valuable overview on design thinking (DT). On the other hand it is too short to teach any skills or give a deep insight into any of the DT tools. Thus it is to me more a management awareness training and sadly this is not clear from the description. Additionally to complete the training one has to provide a short description of a case study with one of the DT tools. In 5 weeks I think it can only be done properly if the participant is already an active coach/facilitator or working in an innovation related position. This is also not clear from the description and somewhat contradictory to the scope of the course.

By Ashish M

Nov 30, 2020

The concept 'Design Thinking' itself appears to be just a combination of various group activities and brainstorming techniques that anyone in any industry for a couple of decades has already participated in. The tools have been around for a while too.

I dropped out during the 4th week, when the trainer's description of the remaining steps/activities did not throw up anything new.

It may be a useful compilation for people 0-5 years in the workforce, but for those more experienced - you've probably already started down the path.

By Monika F

Dec 30, 2020

Overall, this gives a good intro to design thinking and some of its methodologies, especially on why this is so beneficial to use. However, I think the course could be improved by 1) giving more "how to" methodologies and frameworks on how to really do it, 2) shortening the expert opinion's videos to something like 5 min (instead of 15, in which an expert is just going in a quite unstructured way about the importance of the topic) and 3) have exercise quizzes after every week.

By C. C

Dec 13, 2015

I previously gave this course a 5-star review; however, upon realising that there is no way to access the classroom after receiving the final grade and certificate, I simply can't give it the same excellent review. I have no way of accessing discussions and my final assignment to see any feedback classmates have given. There is also no option to re-take the final assignment, which was peer-graded and I believe I was not properly evaluated by my peers.

By Antonia R

Feb 6, 2018

Great videos and explanation of design thinking methods. The stories used as examples were illustrating the content, too. Unfortunately, I have the feeling that I do not have much written material or slides after finishing the course although I had taken notes during the videos. I guess there is no way around buying the book of the instructor! That is disappointing because I could have done that in the first place without taking this class.