Chevron Left
Back to Visual Elements of User Interface Design

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Visual Elements of User Interface Design by California Institute of the Arts

4.7
stars
5,434 ratings

About the Course

This design-centric course examines the broad question of what an interface is and what role a designer plays in creating a user interface. Learning how to design and articulate meaning using color, type, and imagery is essential to making interfaces function clearly and seamlessly. Through a series of lectures and visual exercises, you will focus on the many individual elements and components that make up the skillset of an interface designer. By the end of this course, you will be able to describe the key formal elements of clear, consistent, and intuitive UI design, and apply your learned skills to the design of a static screen-based interface. This is the first course in the UI/UX Design Specialization, which brings a design-centric approach to user interface (UI) and user experience (UX) design, and offers practical, skill-based instruction centered around a visual communications perspective, rather than on one focused on marketing or programming alone. These courses are ideal for anyone with some experience in graphic or visual design and who would like to build their skill set in UI or UX for app and web design. It would also be ideal for anyone with experience in front- or back-end web development or human-computer interaction and want to sharpen their visual design and analysis skills for UI or UX....

Top reviews

TM

May 23, 2021

This course is very useful for a beginner who is looking for the basics of UI/UX course.

This course will give you the basic idea of interface design which very important for its advanced studies.

RS

Dec 31, 2021

I never thought this is possible. I am very grateful to Coursera and Calarts. This is a starting milestone to changing my career life for better. I am ready to pursue more and more with your support.

Filter by:

1051 - 1075 of 1,359 Reviews for Visual Elements of User Interface Design

By Facundo F F

Feb 13, 2019

Is a very good course for anyone but you must have a graphic design base. If not, the course suggests you to take it's own graphic design course. I think some of my peers really need to do that before submitting any work in this course. In the other hand, I discovered some outstanding works! For me, as an Industrial Designer with some experience in graphic and interface design, was kind of easy but useful to learn some technical vocabulary.

By Aalaa A

Sep 14, 2021

The course topics is very good but the peer review thing is not quit good enough, peers may give me a very good review just to finish his work. also you can make the sample pdf that you share with us a little bit more showy and youthful as the work I see on Behance, To encourage students to make their work more and more perfect to their portfolio. And let students use XD or Figma instead of Photoshop for the same reason.

By Cecilia W

Mar 15, 2019

I liked the course a lot, its a lot about knowing things that makes a lot of sense and learning how to start a new project with a methodology, the only things that I didn't like is that the precedent that the course give you to do your own homeworks it too basic, this means that most of the homeworks you will have to rview are reaaaally basic, a little bit of more motivation would be nice, to see some cool projects

By Oliwia D

May 26, 2022

Overall, course is very engaging, and personally, I have gained a very useful knowledge regarding UI Design. However, the peer feedback was margnial or did not make any sense. Apart of this type of feedback I would undeniably appreciate the feedback from experts. I believe that it is better to be graded by professionals, or even amateurs, but their feedback should be verified first before it gets to the learner.

By Kimberly S

May 8, 2020

Quite accessible course with a lot of video material. Not too long: 4 weeks. You can do it quicker if you have a lot of time. Only I miss a library where you can get good images, I felt I was swimming with the exercises and I also saw some assignments that were not so nice visually, while others were very professional. How do you get a professional look. I guess I need another, more in dept course for that.

By Jana R

Jul 31, 2020

Definitely a great class for beginners and everyone who has a background in ui/ux design and would like to refresh their knowledge. 4 out of 5 stars because the "peer graded assignments" could use some improvement, just because not everybody puts as much effort into reviewing and grading as others, so this leads to slight imbalances. Other than that, great experience. Would definitely recommend.

By Keyla A

Jun 11, 2021

Me encanto la forma en la que el profesor explico los fundamentos del diseño de interfaz, quede satisfecha con las lecturas adicionales que adjunto para complementar el curso. Es importante tener en cuenta que como anticipa el profesor, si se requiere de conocimientos previos de diseño grafico para comprender el curso. Me ayudo mucho a introducirme de manera profesional al diseño de interfaz.

By Sarai P T

Aug 2, 2020

The course is really fun. The videos are short and very easy to understand. The only reason I gave 4 stars, it's because I was not prepared to work with Illustrator and it'd be nice to have a warning like "you need to know basics of Illustrator" or something like that; as for the assignments it's not the same for someone who knows how to use Illustrator than for someone who doesn't.

By Pedro F E

Dec 14, 2019

El curso es adecuado para principiantes y me ha gustado mucho la idea de diseñar una interfaz. Además, el profesor explica muy claramente. No obstante, pienso que se ha utilizado demasiado tiempo tratando algunos contenidos que eran poco relevantes. El sistema de peer review tampoco me ha gustado, ya que los peers valoran sin tener el conocimiento o la experiencia necesaria.

By annie a

Jul 29, 2020

The course material itself is simple and easy to digests. I really love the way the assignments are developed based on your previous submission. The peer- graded assignment might not be for everyone as design is subjective however if you just observe elements of apps design then you more or less get the structure , grid and consistency by which you build your standard.

By Violet V

Dec 27, 2020

Great instructors and amazing lessons but some of the students....should not review if they plan to write good or na or one word when it's required to have actual feedback. A lot of the students drag the course down but the instructors are top of the class. I did have peer reviews done by some great people who actually tried but they are far and few in between.

By Karla F S

Oct 5, 2020

The course itself was a great step-by-step process on designing UI. However, I did not like the peer-review system as some students did not take the assignments seriously (example: some did not fill out prompt questions before submitting which is also part of the grading criteria). Having said that, I am looking forward to the UX courses of the specialization!

By Joanna

Jun 19, 2020

Content is great, I really like the idea of making few (2-3) videos and then sharing some readings. Assessments press you to implement knowledge in a practice and as well let you start building your portfolio.

An only small minus: videos even though high quality in the content are sometimes a bit boring: I was losing concentration a bit after longer watching

By TAMARA R H

Jan 25, 2021

This is amazing! I was able to have a basic foundation of UI theoretically and it really helped me to have some sort of guideline when designing an interface. However, I think the speakers could talk a little bit about the design trends and aesthetics because I still find most students who have no background in graphic designing seemed a little lost.

By Tay R T

Dec 26, 2020

For a beginner without any experience in graphics design, the course content is a great introductory course to UI design, although you should be prepared to spend much more time than stated for each assignment. A common complaint about this course is in the peer-review assignments, and it might be difficult to obtain high-quality reviews from others.

By Ziad A S

May 7, 2020

The course is very good theoreotically as it explains how is the designing process accomplished to make a usable and functional interface that the user don't feel lost or stressed while using it.

Big Thanks to Mr Worthingtion and the Calarts institute for offering me such a great knowledge.

Looking forward to take 3 more courses in this specialization!

By Lina s

Apr 25, 2020

The course was interesting. Earlier I have studied Html, Css and Javascript, so now it was very useful to study also UI design. I will continue with the specialization to gain a more complete knowledge. However, the course was too easy even for beginners level. It could have contained more quizzes. It was nce to see peers' ideas and designs.

By Fabienne P

May 9, 2020

The course in general is great! Everything is explained perfectly, the videos are understandable, I liked the reading parts as well with interesting articles. What doesn't work that great is your peers that grade you. Two times I had to resubmit my submission because there I didn't pass because of bad reviews. Apart from that, great course!

By Meiliana K

Jul 30, 2020

It is a very good course from Cal Arts. The instructor able to conveys the material clearly and it is easy to understand! I also like how they show us visually with animation and interactive images instead of using only text. Overall, I learn the material well & interested to complete the remaining courses for this UI UX specialization.

By Regine Y

Jan 23, 2021

This course is best for those with a graphic design background and wants to upskill themselves and advance in a design career. The course is very informative and quality; covers all the fundamentals such as the relationship between UI&UX, usability, look&feel, mood&style, etc. Not forget, you get to engage with other amazing learners.

By Daria

Dec 25, 2019

It is a nice course for people who are very new to UI design. Do not expect to learn what is "beautiful" and what is not as this course is focused on basic rules of UI - not the design trends! I am satisfied with the topics.

What I missed here is feedback from instructors and maybe more live examples!

Great course to keep you on track.

By Sruti V

Oct 3, 2022

The course content is quite good in establishing the fundamentals. However, the peer graded assignments don't help at all since peers hardly give any useful feedback. While the assignment content streamlines the thought process, some professional feedback on how one can improve would make this course one of the best for this field.

By Sophie X

May 24, 2020

This course is a very basic level for beginners. I love the course which is very detailed, analysable, and logical. The assignment is very helpful to understand how to make good UI design. The only thing is the assignment example is not very practical and trending. Also I hope professional faculties can review students' assignment.

By Andie M

Aug 22, 2020

Learned a lot. Found that using Sketch was easier for me than using the suggested Adobe apps. I'm not a huge fan of the peer grading because some peers don't care as much to give feedback or let you know why they gave you a less points. I love the way we learn through videos and the "Save note" button. Very very helpful.

By Ariya G

Aug 3, 2020

I loved this course as a Graphic Designer, I found it quite easy to follow and complete. Good video tutorials. I would love if the peer review system was more refined with more specific yes/no answers and less subjective value marking. But I guess that is also a true reflection of of life as a designer anyway. :P