Chevron Left
Back to Visual Elements of User Interface Design

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Visual Elements of User Interface Design by California Institute of the Arts

4.7
stars
5,046 ratings

About the Course

This design-centric course examines the broad question of what an interface is and what role a designer plays in creating a user interface. Learning how to design and articulate meaning using color, type, and imagery is essential to making interfaces function clearly and seamlessly. Through a series of lectures and visual exercises, you will focus on the many individual elements and components that make up the skillset of an interface designer. By the end of this course, you will be able to describe the key formal elements of clear, consistent, and intuitive UI design, and apply your learned skills to the design of a static screen-based interface. This is the first course in the UI/UX Design Specialization, which brings a design-centric approach to user interface (UI) and user experience (UX) design, and offers practical, skill-based instruction centered around a visual communications perspective, rather than on one focused on marketing or programming alone. These courses are ideal for anyone with some experience in graphic or visual design and who would like to build their skill set in UI or UX for app and web design. It would also be ideal for anyone with experience in front- or back-end web development or human-computer interaction and want to sharpen their visual design and analysis skills for UI or UX....

Top reviews

RS

Dec 31, 2021

I never thought this is possible. I am very grateful to Coursera and Calarts. This is a starting milestone to changing my career life for better. I am ready to pursue more and more with your support.

JM

Nov 20, 2018

I never thought this is possible. I am very grateful to Coursera and Calarts. This is a starting milestone to changing my career life for better. I am ready to pursue more and more with your support.

Filter by:

1051 - 1075 of 1,261 Reviews for Visual Elements of User Interface Design

By Vikram M

Aug 23, 2020

really great introduction to visual design for the mobile and web interface. well taught and simple to follow. Great professors!

By Sofie R

Jul 15, 2020

This is the great online course but better the evaluator not from peers that also learning. its must be the professional. thanks

By Prianjali K

Nov 14, 2019

Great course, helps you get an understanding of the basic elements of UI Design & how to think about using them on an interface.

By Joseph B

Aug 22, 2019

It would probably be if more examples of digital interfaces are used and how the theory is evidenced in those digital interfaces

By Eduardo V

Nov 8, 2021

E​stoy satisfecho con el curso, sin embargo me hubiera gustado que los trabajos los calificaran los instructores de este curso

By Alejandra G Z

Oct 15, 2020

This is a very useful course for those who doesn't have much design skills. The information is clear and very well delivered.

By Francesca M

Jul 22, 2020

Explicaciones muy claras y simples. Buenas tareas para realizar. Valoraría más que hubiera alguna corrección de un profesor.

By Emad E S

May 5, 2020

It’s great. But we need feedback on our assignments from experts. Not just regular students so we know what we are lacking.

By Summer T

Sep 14, 2020

It was a good basic UI Design course but the peer reviews portion is unhelpful, would like more constructive feedbacks.

By Masrul W

Aug 4, 2020

I think it's better for intructors to show up their face during lecture. It'd create emotional bond with the students.

By Prince

Apr 16, 2019

Theoretical concepts are well taught but connecting those to practical work is where one finds it a little hard to do.

By Pragati V G

Aug 2, 2022

Really great course.all gives in detail information.we can also see our classmates reviews and their project too.

By Sarth B

May 2, 2020

needs to be more informational and rigirous! more assignments would be great! and 4 peer reviews instead of just 2

By Angela S

Mar 6, 2019

Helpful step-by-step introduction into the subject. Short theory inputs and a lot of practice. Really good course.

By Soham M

Oct 5, 2020

It's a good course where I learned the principles behind the basic designs style I had been following. Thank you.

By Patrick

Jan 24, 2021

Really fun and intuitive. I learned a lot just by following the lessons laid out and even built some new skills!

By Hala A

Aug 18, 2020

Fun Class! if you have experience in design, this will be a breeze to you, but it had great fresh reminders.

By Resha k

Jul 6, 2019

Well structured Course. Excellent for beginners who want to understand the different aspects of UI\UX design

By Amy T Z

Apr 30, 2019

I really wish that more of the technical vocabulary for different actions were reviewed this this course.

By Maria M

Oct 1, 2020

This course is best for beginners those who want to improve the designing skills must take this course.

By Usama M

Jan 28, 2022

It was very good course, although it contained on theory. It must have some practical being performed.

By Yashwanth M

Jul 21, 2020

Excellent explanation . I feel more of theory part and need some videos on assignments also .

Thank You

By Malik W

Jun 18, 2020

The course is really nice and introduced me about UI/UX really well,but i'm not a fan of peer grading.

By Kennetta j

Feb 13, 2020

I enjoyed the course a lot. I hope in the future there will be a live teacher grading the assignments

By Aurora C V V

Apr 22, 2022

It is really important to use the recomended apps for desing so you can deliver an excellent product