Chevron Left
Back to People Analytics

Learner Reviews & Feedback for People Analytics by University of Pennsylvania

4.5
3,440 ratings
589 reviews

About the Course

People analytics is a data-driven approach to managing people at work. For the first time in history, business leaders can make decisions about their people based on deep analysis of data rather than the traditional methods of personal relationships, decision making based on experience, and risk avoidance. In this brand new course, three of Wharton’s top professors, all pioneers in the field of people analytics, will explore the state-of-the-art techniques used to recruit and retain great people, and demonstrate how these techniques are used at cutting-edge companies. They’ll explain how data and sophisticated analysis is brought to bear on people-related issues, such as recruiting, performance evaluation, leadership, hiring and promotion, job design, compensation, and collaboration. This course is an introduction to the theory of people analytics, and is not intended to prepare learners to perform complex talent management data analysis. By the end of this course, you’ll understand how and when hard data is used to make soft-skill decisions about hiring and talent development, so that you can position yourself as a strategic partner in your company’s talent management decisions. This course is intended to introduced you to Organizations flourish when the people who work in them flourish. Analytics can help make both happen. This course in People Analytics is designed to help you flourish in your career, too....

Top reviews

AA

Dec 22, 2018

Thank you so much for this very helpful module! I hope you continue to inspire HR professionals around the world to use HR Analytics as an important means to drive organizational-related decisions.

PN

Jul 28, 2017

This is a very well defined course to give a very good start to the knowledge of People Analytics. The professors have brought in numerous examples to make the understanding of analytics better.

Filter by:

451 - 475 of 577 Reviews for People Analytics

By Jenny T

Oct 30, 2017

The course provides a broad general overview of what people analytics is, the types of questions that can be answered with data, and provides helpful examples from the field of business and sports. The lecturers are clear. However, I would have liked a bit more information on the actual tools and methods so that I can better consume/ understand this data and make better decisions.

By Noah W

May 29, 2017

Sometimes dry but the information was relevent and good examples to use for organizations, maybe too many sports based examples.

By Babuprasad S

Aug 22, 2016

Some more context based on examples from that could map to students going through this from different pats of the World would help better. The baseball was to specific to the West which was tough to follow at the start.

Thanks

Babu

By Atif A

Dec 15, 2017

This course was really helpful in building my concepts of what people analytics is and how is it being practiced in real world.

By Sandra C

Dec 30, 2015

Very enjoyable course; the facts were presented in a way that were highly understandable. I was able to immediately see how these factors played a role in my organization

By Karthik S N

Apr 24, 2016

Good Learning Experience. The course is not in depth. But leaves you with a taste of people analytics

By nikita b

Nov 01, 2016

good course.......

By Andrew V

Apr 14, 2016

Thoroughly enjoyed this topic...well taught

By Adithya S R

May 24, 2017

good

By Kelvin T C C

Feb 11, 2017

Good insight on people analytic.

By Sai G S

Mar 30, 2017

Clear understanding of how skill will work in given opportunity.

By Nazatul A B A R

Jan 21, 2017

This course is very awesome!

By Gabriela E L M

Dec 13, 2016

Well explained, instructors show knowledge and experience in the area. Interesting, specially the topics to avoid pitfalls, cognitive biases, etc.

I thought that the Collaboration part was too abstract, some examples of What was measured, How (with numbers), the changes that happened in Collaboration and the measured Outcomes would definitely improve this part of the course.

By Bentley H

Jan 24, 2016

Bring a different perspective to hiring.

By c k v

Apr 10, 2018

This course covered more of appreciation of analytics in HR than hard core analysis examples ( like operational analytics module). However, we get a perspective of use of analytics in People area.

By Eduardo G

Nov 07, 2016

Good Course, but maybe include more examples and make it more practical

By Marko G

Mar 20, 2016

The course was ok, but not enough tools were presented for People Analytics.

By Domenico M

Jan 04, 2017

This course gives you plenty of examples of the way un-measurable human relationship can be quantified. Moreover, you will be very surprise in all the evidence put together to show how the "good old way" in selecting and evaluating people is quite wrong

By Gautham A

Aug 02, 2017

The course was very thought provoking. I had previously known about the biases and heuristics but this course gave me a different perspective as to how do they manifest themselves in organisational spaces. It could have been better if we are taught a few more technical analyses. Thank you very much for the course.

By Hasari T A

Mar 01, 2016

It is always important to measure the effectiveness of all the people inside an organization. Through many practical examples, this course gave me a great perspective of qualitative analysis.

By Jacob A F

Jun 19, 2016

Could have used some more quantitative examples, but still transformed the I looked at inter-company people management and networking

By Tanakan

Dec 26, 2016

It is quite specific topic for people who are manager right now

By angana b m

Jun 16, 2016

The course was very informational. A lot of the concepts were new but very practical, as much as were the typical theories we deal with everyday in our corporate lives.

As much as I appreciate the course content, I had expected more metrics to be discussed, more maths, more problem solving, a session on a set of metrics, formulae, some business cases as a part of evaluation would have been more realistic. I deal with lot of analytics and numbers always. I do a set number of things. I was expecting the professors to guide us on more number crunching techniques with say, an excel of data of say 1000 employees. How do we play around with such data - which is what I do. And a thorough insight on such would have been amazing.

I hope my feedback is taken into consideration in a positive light. I loved your sessions, and would love to join in the future again, and it would be really helpful if you could guide us in some of the ways I tried to explain.

Thank once again.

Best

angana

By Kartik D

Jan 14, 2016

Great overview of challenges being currently faced by companies on retaining and hiring talent.

By Michael M

Dec 31, 2015

Well delivered, sometimes doesn't go into enough detail.