Chevron Left
Back to People Analytics

Learner Reviews & Feedback for People Analytics by University of Pennsylvania

4.5
stars
4,261 ratings
783 reviews

About the Course

People analytics is a data-driven approach to managing people at work. For the first time in history, business leaders can make decisions about their people based on deep analysis of data rather than the traditional methods of personal relationships, decision making based on experience, and risk avoidance. In this brand new course, three of Wharton’s top professors, all pioneers in the field of people analytics, will explore the state-of-the-art techniques used to recruit and retain great people, and demonstrate how these techniques are used at cutting-edge companies. They’ll explain how data and sophisticated analysis is brought to bear on people-related issues, such as recruiting, performance evaluation, leadership, hiring and promotion, job design, compensation, and collaboration. This course is an introduction to the theory of people analytics, and is not intended to prepare learners to perform complex talent management data analysis. By the end of this course, you’ll understand how and when hard data is used to make soft-skill decisions about hiring and talent development, so that you can position yourself as a strategic partner in your company’s talent management decisions. This course is intended to introduced you to Organizations flourish when the people who work in them flourish. Analytics can help make both happen. This course in People Analytics is designed to help you flourish in your career, too....

Top reviews

AA

Dec 22, 2018

Thank you so much for this very helpful module! I hope you continue to inspire HR professionals around the world to use HR Analytics as an important means to drive organizational-related decisions.

PN

Jul 28, 2017

This is a very well defined course to give a very good start to the knowledge of People Analytics. The professors have brought in numerous examples to make the understanding of analytics better.

Filter by:

526 - 550 of 772 Reviews for People Analytics

By Jenny T

Oct 30, 2017

The course provides a broad general overview of what people analytics is, the types of questions that can be answered with data, and provides helpful examples from the field of business and sports. The lecturers are clear. However, I would have liked a bit more information on the actual tools and methods so that I can better consume/ understand this data and make better decisions.

By sampadanayak

Jan 16, 2017

This is a great course that gives a starting point and a framework for your people analytics journey. Though I expected a few more actual tools and techniques kind of inputs , this course did a good job at enabling me to ask the right questions when I do a piece of analysis, which is much more important.

A must do course for all people leaders and not just HR professionals.

By Gabriela E L M

Dec 13, 2016

Well explained, instructors show knowledge and experience in the area. Interesting, specially the topics to avoid pitfalls, cognitive biases, etc.

I thought that the Collaboration part was too abstract, some examples of What was measured, How (with numbers), the changes that happened in Collaboration and the measured Outcomes would definitely improve this part of the course.

By Mario F

Jun 18, 2016

Objectively analyzing the capabilties of people is very important in order to avoid the subjectivity. This provides an equal playing field for everyone. I really appreciate the feedback and techniques we got. I did however feel the Organizatinal Network Analysis was too general, and didn't provide much specific details. But it was a good overall background on the subject.

By YAMI W

Apr 17, 2020

worth learning it! great! But i still think it's hard to embark on people analytics with network analysis or collecting data via questionaire which is very tough and costly. To be honest, that applying the academically scientific method to corporate's practical issues is impractical and difficult for normal companies,of course except for consulting industry, and HR.

.

By Angie

May 13, 2020

Really fine designed introduction to People Analytics. In particular, I appreciated prof. Massey easiness to translate more complex analytical/statistical information into segments of information that were easy to comprehend by any layperson. I learned a lot and this course encourage me to dig deeper into the world of analytics. Well done!

By Rossana M T

Jun 21, 2017

It is a great program with great content. Very informative and thought provoking in how to evaluate talent and how to deploy analytics in the TA and Talent development areas. I found the applicability of the broader concepts very useful However, given my limited background on analytical tools, the actual deployment becomes more limited.

By Andy Y

Feb 24, 2017

Great intro course to People Analytics from a HR perspective. Really like the modules on Talent Acquisition and Collaboration (which is often overlooked when it comes to performance). Would have loved to learn about some of the tools that are available to consultants/HR professionals today to measure people performance.

By Gautham A

Aug 02, 2017

The course was very thought provoking. I had previously known about the biases and heuristics but this course gave me a different perspective as to how do they manifest themselves in organisational spaces. It could have been better if we are taught a few more technical analyses. Thank you very much for the course.

By Manasa S

Mar 01, 2020

Thank you so much !! I really enjoyed the session. I really loved the way real-time case studies were taken to help us understand the topics i would also like to thank the way, Professor Martine Haas explained the topic on collaboration in a very simple way with one example in a diverse manner!! thank so much !!

By Jason R

Apr 27, 2016

Overall excellent.

Constructive feedback: Similar to the Customer Analytics course, I would have found it valuable to learn about vendors that provide some of the services discussed; namely, the top-3 vendors of psychometric data that could fuel the analytics frameworks presented in these modules.

By Sarah R

Sep 16, 2016

Aside from being unable to take the quizzes (which seemed to provide very little in the way of testing understanding of the material), the course videos were great, very professional and some good info. Would be good to have project based assignment rather than just regurgitation of main points!

By Mircea-Stefan G

Dec 29, 2015

Great course, both focused and easy to follow. The sports (baseball) world analogies were not always very transparent for those who are not familiar with the field. All in all, a great course; really appreciate all three professors, who covered the material in a very coherent way. Thank you!

By Shreyas N

Apr 12, 2018

The course helped me understand how people analytics is being used in organizations, something that i never thought of.

Helped me get present to my own biases. It gave me areas to work on and be cognizant of in my company. A lot of practices we do here can now be improved and modified.

By saurabh s

Oct 16, 2016

The course serves well for beginners purpose. However I would really appreciate a little more advance level to be introduced as soon as possible to leverage the momentum generated and also to cater to practical needs.

Greater fo

Focus on real life examples and exercises will also help.

By Karin F

Apr 17, 2018

This course give a good summery about People Analytics. I think it's just a pity that one does not see in the tests which is the correct answer, if one has chosen the wrong one. The course keeps saying that employees value feedback. That should also be considered here too.

By Rabab W A

Sep 24, 2017

The course was useful and definitely it added to my experience; however I was a little bit confused by the middle of the course may be because of the quantity of the information or the length of the course.

Overall; it was very useful and it helped me a lot, thank you!

By Arushi M

Apr 14, 2020

Very well embedded with examples, though a few more industry related examples would be appreciated. It is a great introduction or starting point to understand analytics as a subject and relate it to people management in our organizations. Great learning experience.

By Terry W

May 13, 2020

This course provided insight into managing people using analytics techniques. Each module helped me gain awareness to recognize the noise and make better workforce decisions by harnessing the power of data, getting a clearer picture of what goes on and what isn’t.

By Christos F

Sep 06, 2018

The course was really interesting as it deals with human nature, how people think, act and are assessed in a working environment. It brings in new ideas on how to manage and assess people, giving a clear view on the commom mistakes made through that process.

By Manu S

Apr 26, 2020

Very well curated course for building fundamentals, the examples and anecdotes mentioned were really helpful. Would really like to see some assignments and hands-on activities done on data sets. This would add value to the overall experience of the course.

By NIRBHAY G

Apr 23, 2020

It would be good if some examples which are relevant in other parts of the world may be included to give insights into some topics. I had to first understand the concept of drafting to be able to make sense of the NFL Draft case in Performance evaluation.

By Domenico M

Jan 04, 2017

This course gives you plenty of examples of the way un-measurable human relationship can be quantified. Moreover, you will be very surprise in all the evidence put together to show how the "good old way" in selecting and evaluating people is quite wrong

By Clara Z

Dec 15, 2015

All the videos are very interesting and insightful. But I feel the overall content can be more substantiated to make it more like a course. Each of the current week can be followed by at least 2 more weeks of detailed techniques and examples.

By MAHIMA

May 27, 2020

Wonderful course. Loved it. But in some of the modules examples used were from sports field. Good that examples were connected to the sports field and analytics but not all can easily connect it to the topics if they don't follow sports.