Chevron Left
Back to People Analytics

Learner Reviews & Feedback for People Analytics by University of Pennsylvania

4.5
3,440 ratings
589 reviews

About the Course

People analytics is a data-driven approach to managing people at work. For the first time in history, business leaders can make decisions about their people based on deep analysis of data rather than the traditional methods of personal relationships, decision making based on experience, and risk avoidance. In this brand new course, three of Wharton’s top professors, all pioneers in the field of people analytics, will explore the state-of-the-art techniques used to recruit and retain great people, and demonstrate how these techniques are used at cutting-edge companies. They’ll explain how data and sophisticated analysis is brought to bear on people-related issues, such as recruiting, performance evaluation, leadership, hiring and promotion, job design, compensation, and collaboration. This course is an introduction to the theory of people analytics, and is not intended to prepare learners to perform complex talent management data analysis. By the end of this course, you’ll understand how and when hard data is used to make soft-skill decisions about hiring and talent development, so that you can position yourself as a strategic partner in your company’s talent management decisions. This course is intended to introduced you to Organizations flourish when the people who work in them flourish. Analytics can help make both happen. This course in People Analytics is designed to help you flourish in your career, too....

Top reviews

AA

Dec 22, 2018

Thank you so much for this very helpful module! I hope you continue to inspire HR professionals around the world to use HR Analytics as an important means to drive organizational-related decisions.

PN

Jul 28, 2017

This is a very well defined course to give a very good start to the knowledge of People Analytics. The professors have brought in numerous examples to make the understanding of analytics better.

Filter by:

526 - 550 of 577 Reviews for People Analytics

By Denis G

Jan 01, 2016

I'd like to do more assignments.

By Andre T S

Jun 15, 2017

I think the content course should bring a better framework to support HR Business Analyses. So far so much conceptual not real tools to use day to day.

By Nathan L A

Oct 12, 2016

A little pricey for the topics covered, but I like that it gave a high-level overview of some of the data science elements required to get into this field. I wouldn't consider this a basic course just because I don't think a novice could extract much values from it -- not is it comprehensive enough to be wholly-contained (to really extract value from this course, there needs to be indep

By Rubén G G

Jan 22, 2017

I missed more practical examples to better understand the main concepts

By debjit b

Mar 01, 2018

Learnt some concepts however, not a detailed example/ support with project would have helped. too much introductory

By titus l

Mar 10, 2016

A very gentle introduction into a possibly highly exciting field. Should incorporate mathematical practice problems into case studies so that students can see where wrong assumptions are made and common human biases.

By Ryan C

Jan 05, 2016

The course was quite enjoyable and provided an overview of considerations for leaders and managers as it relates to people analytics. By employing some of the techniques covered, one will no doubt be in a better position for objectively hiring, evaluating, rewarding, retaining and promoting the best and most deserving employees.

By Pedro R

Feb 10, 2016

it needs more applications

By Rogbel

Jun 05, 2017

Great overview class on people analytics...great starting point.

By Devanand S

May 14, 2018

Though the Course is more theoretical some of the examples discussed are hard to comprehend

By Danyal R

Mar 22, 2018

Overall content and presentation was average, But i enjoyed Prof. Martine Haas Portion "Collaboration". It could be improved by incorporating some animated video which shows culture of the organization with some attractive examples. This would be helpful, i believe ! Thanks. Wish you all good luck for future.

By Chand D

May 03, 2017

Good insights into people management concepts. The course can do better by providing some more analytics examples.

By Semih K

Jul 02, 2018

Basic.

By Divya K

Jul 01, 2017

good

By Andrea M

Dec 08, 2016

Useful in order to have a high level picture of each single aspect regarding Business Analytics. Maybe not to "exciting" for practical analysts

By Gladys L

Jan 07, 2017

I appreciate the professors, but I really hope we can have some hands on tools on how exactly can we analyze the data to make decisions.

By Anand V P

Mar 29, 2017

It broadly outlines the issues and challenges any one implementing HR analytics might face. It talked about the possible pitfalls in decisions and assumptions that you make.They have used analytics and psychological research from popular organizations to elucidate the concepts. I think its ideal course for you if you are a manager and have an analytics system in place. But as an HR student interested in analytics i would have benefited more if stuff like what are key metrics to track and what are the best tools and what kind and level of expertise is required(like statistics,DBMS etc). This course provides a bird's eye view while I wanted a worm's eye view.

By Tiago F T C

Dec 30, 2016

It is a little bit about theory, and lacks real exercises (even if there were some practical examples from real life). The most interesting topic is for sure the Collaboration.

By PRABHAT K

Jul 21, 2017

Good

By Vikrant B

Jan 28, 2018

Provides a strong conceptual understanding, enlightens on what not to do. Could have been better on what to do

By Prabhat K

Sep 15, 2016

Very good information, what is missing is numerical approach to the problem as practice

By Serene T S H

May 05, 2016

Interesting general theories mentioned. It would be better if there real practical examples with analytic modelling are taught.

By Krzysztof S

Jan 17, 2016

The course indeed touches interesting materials. I especially found very interesting all the stories from sports domain and from real organizations. In addition, the reverse causality was interesting to here. However. Honestly, initially I was expecting to hear more specific hints and information. After the lectures, I am more aware of presented findings rather than how to implement it into organization.

By Leonardo M

Apr 12, 2017

I missed more tools and practical examples of how to implement people analytics on organizations

By Jay J

Oct 13, 2016

I enjoyed this course, especially the lectures by Cade Massey. His analogies and examples were very interesting and easy to understand. Some of the information throughout the course seemed to drag on a bit without any real purpose. But overall I would recommend this course.