Chevron Left
Back to Mathematical Thinking in Computer Science

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Mathematical Thinking in Computer Science by University of California San Diego

4.4
stars
1,869 ratings
438 reviews

About the Course

Mathematical thinking is crucial in all areas of computer science: algorithms, bioinformatics, computer graphics, data science, machine learning, etc. In this course, we will learn the most important tools used in discrete mathematics: induction, recursion, logic, invariants, examples, optimality. We will use these tools to answer typical programming questions like: How can we be certain a solution exists? Am I sure my program computes the optimal answer? Do each of these objects meet the given requirements? In the course, we use a try-this-before-we-explain-everything approach: you will be solving many interactive (and mobile friendly) puzzles that were carefully designed to allow you to invent many of the important ideas and concepts yourself. Prerequisites: 1. We assume only basic math (e.g., we expect you to know what is a square or how to add fractions), common sense and curiosity. 2. Basic programming knowledge is necessary as some quizzes require programming in Python....

Top reviews

AD
Mar 25, 2019

The teachers are informative and good. They explain the topic in a way that we can easily understand. The slides provide all the information that is needed. The external tools are fun and informative.

AM
Feb 27, 2021

It is a great course! teachers explain everything with care. While providing lectures there are some popup ques that verify whether you understood that lecture or not. Overall, a great experience.

Filter by:

251 - 275 of 430 Reviews for Mathematical Thinking in Computer Science

By Ethan K R

Apr 30, 2021

Awesome Course

By Adolfo S R B

Dec 31, 2020

Muy buen curso

By MOHAMED G A E

Jul 11, 2020

thanks so much

By Snehal P

Jul 1, 2020

Just Excellent

By ASHTON N

Jun 8, 2020

Amazing course

By SYED S

Dec 29, 2020

cool and best

By Zhe Y

Jul 21, 2018

learned a lot

By Yuhua Y

Oct 9, 2017

nice course

By Afnan A

Aug 15, 2020

Thank you!

By venus v p

May 31, 2018

wonderfull

By Madhan C

Jan 26, 2021

excellent

By Raymond B S

Dec 22, 2020

Thank you

By GADAMSETTI V M G

Nov 22, 2020

Excellent

By M L J

Oct 22, 2020

GOOD GOOD

By pavankumar p

Sep 9, 2020

excellent

By Kallinatha H

May 24, 2020

very good

By N R S

May 20, 2020

Excellent

By evans

Sep 9, 2019

very good

By Miguel A D A

Oct 3, 2018

Perfect!

By Gaurav R P

Oct 1, 2017

love it.

By 121910316063 g

Jan 19, 2021

good

By 221910311052 S N

Dec 19, 2020

good

By 2K18/EC/038 A R

Nov 30, 2020

Good

By maripalli s

Aug 1, 2020

good

By Ricky I S

Aug 17, 2020

Overall this was a good course. I was also studying the topics from other sources and reading Discrete Mathematics and Its Applications by Rosen and doing all the exercises at the end of each section of Rosen. I felt like the lectures in this course give a very basic overview but do not really get you to the point that you will be ready to apply what you learn to different problem situations. For example, logic was covered in about 20 minutes worth of video but is a 100-page chapter in Rosen, and for one to feel comfortable doing exercises as presented in Rosen or as seen on the homework assignments of many universities, you will need more exposure to the material. This may have been the case because this course is titled Mathematical Thinking in Computer Science and was previously called What Is A Proof? and their intention was not to really teach anything other than that and the other courses in the Specialization will get more into the specifics topics covered in Discrete Mathematics. I still plan on taking the other courses in this specialization as I feel that after reading Rosen and working out the problems in Rosen, its nice hearing some of the material covered again and only serves to reinforce principles. This course has a nice amount of interactive exercises that allow one to practice solving puzzles of sorts. I enjoyed those, although do not think they are sufficient to overcome the lack of practice doing different problems. Note to instructors: More exercises in logic to assess and develop ability in logic would be nice as its a very important part of Discrete Mathematics. If logic is only covered in this class in the specialization and isn't retaught in more depth in the other courses in this specialization, then it is not really being covered properly in this Specialization in Discrete Mathematics.