Chevron Left
Back to Women in Leadership: Inspiring Positive Change

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Women in Leadership: Inspiring Positive Change by Case Western Reserve University

4.7
stars
364 ratings
118 reviews

About the Course

This course aims to inspire and empower women and men across the world to engage in purposeful career development and take on leadership for important causes---to lead change with more conviction and confidence---and improve our workplaces and communities for all. By offering more complex understandings of issues related to professional women and work, the course will help you increase self-knowledge about your own values and vision, as well as enhance your capabilities as a leader, manager, and team contributor. We will examine the opportunities, challenges, trade-offs, and organizational dynamics experienced by women in work organizations, as well as reflect on and practice effective individual behaviors. The course aims at answering questions such as: What are the valued attributes and behaviors of women in the workplace? How does the gendered nature of organizations impact women? What derails our career advancement and what propels us upward? What are your leadership goals and aspirations? How can you best integrate your multiple family and work life commitments? How do you define career success? What can organizations do to provide women with opportunities to excel? What opportunities could our global economy harness by advancing women to leadership? How can the full talents of the workforce be tapped into and developed? The course is about leadership and inspiring change, but at its core it is meant to inspire and empower women and men across the world to engage in purposeful career development and take on leadership for important causes, to lead change with more conviction and confidence, and improve our workplaces and communities for all. Your involvement in the course activities is essential to help you learn these concepts and develop the necessary skills to implement them. If you watch the videos and read the required articles you will be introduced to some intriguing ideas. If you do the personal reflective exercises and complete the final project you will convert those ideas into relevant experiences to enhance your life and work. Going beyond your personal relevance, your potential learning will expand to understanding and working with others more effectively through either the Discussion Forums in the course or through face-to-face discussions (some of you are taking the course in groups). Each week, we will post reminders, changes, and other relevant announcements....

Top reviews

IF

Jun 29, 2020

Amazing and well planned course! Learned about myself and those around me! It assisted me in fortifying my confidence as a leader and a woman in this society. Absolutely recommend!

KS

Sep 21, 2020

Really a helpful course having focus on women development . It helps women travel and explore more in their career. Explains concepts in leadership that were not known before.

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 118 Reviews for Women in Leadership: Inspiring Positive Change

By Angélica T

Dec 13, 2016

Thought-provoking course that validated many of my experiences. Helpful tips and frameworks for women and men alike. Thank you, Dr. Bilimoria!

By Dr. M G

Mar 26, 2019

a great course which really makes me think and act on new dimensions learnt. I suggest all women who aspire leadership roles to take this up.

By Mena M

Jan 22, 2019

That was amazing! I totally recommend that course because it will explain a lot of things that happen in workplaces and what women face in their milestone.

By Angela A S

Mar 31, 2020

This course helped me to be more assertive in my current job. I actually utilized some of the tools during my most recent performance evaluation .

By Daniel O

Apr 21, 2018

My expectations for this course have been exceeded. All who involved in developing this course have indeed done extremely great service to humanity. Starting with the lecture notes, videos, materials, quizzes, assignments, and discussion forums, you will certainly desire to participate. I doubt there will be a single soul who has already taken this course will ever describe and see this course with a different lens that will portray lack of insight, interest, and excitement. Dr. Diana Billimoria is an exceptional professor endowed with excellent qualities that will keep both your eyes and ears highly attentive and focus. The extent of her passion for all the presentations is absolutely non-comparable.

i have already shared and discussed the course with two other women and some of the lecture videos for their perusal and a possible enrollment.

It is a great delight to be part of this course, and once again kudos to all who made it possible.

Wish Case Western University all the best and wish for more of such courses.

Daniel

By Soha G

Oct 14, 2017

The course was very helpful in bringing my thoughts together and get them into a concrete personal plan. The most important takeaway for me the concept of centered leadership, thinking about success in a holistic way is very logical and empowering.

Being exposed to the fact that women in well developed countries face the same issues we face in developing countries changed my opinion that women issues where I live is just another symptom of broken systems and if these systems improve women situations will "automatically" improve.

Identifying what I need to work on, knowing that there are well established tools to handle them was also great.

In fact the "Inspiring leadership specialization" in whole is really useful program and I am glad I came across it. Thanks to everyone who put an effort on it.

By Dimka G

Apr 08, 2016

Thank you very much for the great course!

Whereas Inspiring Leadership through Emotional Intelligence course was the basic for me, Conversations That Inspire course has helped me to spread positive emotions and to inspire people, Women in Leadership: Inspiring Positive Change has boosted tremendously my self-confidence and self-efficacy skills. I’ve gained clarity on my Leadership vision and the actions which I need to take in order to reach it. I have better understanding of the different tools for leadership and much more. Thank YOU so much for everything!

Looking forward to the next course from Inspired Leadership specialization! I feel inspired!

By Shemené K

Dec 02, 2019

This course has led to a better understanding of women and men in the workplace, It has unlocked more potential towards becoming a leader or being a leader no matter which industry you are in. The best thing I took from this was to be more confident and to speak up but to speak up in the right manner in order to be identified as a competent candidate for leadership roles.

Thank you to Diana Bilimoria, KeyBank Professor and Chair of Organizational Behavior at the Weatherhead School of Management at Case Western Reserve University, you surely are passionate about creating a better world for employees and are a true inspiration.

By Dr. P B

May 28, 2020

It's a great course with so many insights. Informative content and learned faculty/speaker with clear videos. I enjoyed the course. My request or suggestion is, this course has too many self assessment assignments that has to be written in paragraphs. If those could be in different formats like quiz or one liners, it can become more interesting and easy to complete. However, I have learnt a lot and would suggest this course to everyone especially, women. Let's climb higher. Thank you for all the great insights about women in leadership madam. Thank you again.

By Lornah O

May 01, 2020

Right on point. I did relate with so many things raised in this course. The knowledge I have learnt and gathered will carry me in my personal and professional life. I will not be share to negotiate my salary, or position or project. I will not beat myself down and only look at others interest rather than mine. I will not be shy to get involved and learn the organizational politics and know who calls the shots...I love it I love it i can go on and on and on.. Thank you thank you

By Subhrata M

Jul 29, 2020

Dianna is a great coach and through the videos, reading materials, optional questions and assignments on our reflection she is always able to keep the participants completely engaged ensuring that we thoroughly enjoy the course and learn efficiently too. I also love her body language as she talks through the video. Very motivating! I would definitely recommend this course to budding women leaders who want to inspire a positive change. Thanks.

By Mireya N

Dec 20, 2017

I loved this course :) I enjoyed the videos with the instructor, with her wise, calmed, optimistic voice. This course was a very strong step to understand my identity as a leader, and to have clear that my skills, values and life needs are different from others, it means that I do can become a great leader, knowing myself better, working in myself. This course has giving me very useful tools to achieve that.

By Katarzyna L

Aug 10, 2020

I found this course really interesting and helpful with good research listed that brought useful insight into the situation of women in the workplace. It gives a better perspective on the differences in how men and women are treated and viewed at work but also gives helpful advice and bullet points on how to be a good leader and how to overcome some boundaries, some imposed by stereotypes.

By Sonali B

May 29, 2020

Thank You Dr Diana , Coursera Team and Mahindra Finance for offering this course. It has helped me take a level ahead in my leadership Skills and has helped me overcome few challenges which is helping me best to achieve my goals and Vision. Have loved the way Dr Diana has coached and would surely want to meet her some day to thanks her in person for her wonderful teachings .

By Beata J

Dec 03, 2019

very clear and easy to understand concepts and theory regarding our approach to work and career, supported with many studies results, cases and external readings. Builds not only self confidence but also helps to understand why we are acting the way we do - armed with this knowledge we can be more clear in what we want/need to change to become a better version of oursel

By Merrill C

Oct 22, 2016

Really great professor and material! I found the content to be relevant and the tools to be practical and useful. Also, the course fit into my busy life (i.e. there aren't hours and hours of lectures to watch), yet I still got a lot out of every week! Prof. Bilimoria has a great presentation style and very encouraging/accessible approach.

By Lilija M

Apr 06, 2017

This is probably the best course I have taken so far on Coursera, very informative , truly inspiring, and impacting me in a positive way as it has induced me to review my life, my achievements and career, challenges I met, analyse them and reconsider my approaches to self-evaluation, goal-setting and fulfillment.

Thank you very much!

By marta b a

Jan 15, 2019

I really enjoy this course and recommand to take it to every women (and some man)! It brought me to high-level reflections which I eventually woudln´t have otherwise and at teh same time it provided some very handy tools and strategies of how to deal with daily challanges (self-confidence, salary gap, creation leadership vision).

By Danielle P S C y N

Oct 14, 2020

Such a good course. All the videos and readings were an eye-opener for me. The tasks made me reflect and analyze my life in many ways. I am just waiting for my peers to review my final paper so I can begin to look for another course. Keep it up. Feel part of the Coursera community

By Arpana G

Aug 01, 2019

I can't afford to pay the amount to get the certificate. Kindly do the needful and provide me the certificate as I already completed my course before the target enrolment which was free. Your help and support will be highly appreciated. Thanks and Regards, Arpana

By ioanna p

Aug 29, 2020

Great course for women in leadership. The course provides an overview of the various components of the individual women journey in Leadership. I loved this course and I strongly recommended to women who believes that ‘everything you want to do you can do’.

By Vikram A M

Aug 29, 2018

This course gave me fresh perspectives about how women are treated globally irrespective of educational backgrounds or culture. It also highlighted what each one of us, in our roles as influencers, can do. Highly recommended.

By Mahesh P

Aug 01, 2017

Fantastic learning experience. Very important to be exposed to this work for personal and professional growth. I also learnt about my own unconscious bias. Plus the module (week 4) on negotiating effectively was awesome.

By Susan D

Jul 30, 2018

Tremendous course that has already provided immeasurable benefits to my career. This is the best professional development opportunity I have undertaken; connecting with women in senior leadership roles in my orga

By Alka A

Jan 16, 2020

I found the course very engaging and helpful. Information from various research outcomes and reading materials on the subject are interesting. I will definitely try and practice the learnings from this course.