Chevron Left
Back to Writing in English at University

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Writing in English at University by Lund University

4.6
stars
593 ratings

About the Course

Acquiring good academic research and writing skills early on is essential for your success both at university and in your professional life. This course aims: - to give you an understanding of the conventions of academic writing in English and to teach you the components and benefits of what is called process writing. - to help you to put together your own “toolbox” of academic writing skills, as well as to give you a chance to test out these tools and to reflect on your own development as a writer. - to encourage reflection on discipline specific conventions; although the course deals with generic skills, you will be able to apply these generic skills to meet the particular needs of your own discipline. The course consists of four modules: 1. Writing in English at university: An introduction 2. Structuring your text and conveying your argument 3. Using sources in academic writing 4. The writer’s toolbox: Editing and proofreading In each module you will find video lectures and reading assignments, as well as assignments, such as quizzes and reflective self-assessment questions, in which you will have an opportunity to interact with other students taking the course. The course is free of charge, and learners have access to a free electronic textbook written to complement the MOOC: Writing in English at University: A Guide for Second Language Writers. It is possible for anyone who wishes to obtain a certificate of completion upon completing the entire course, including the graded assignments at the end of each module....

Top reviews

ZO

Apr 22, 2018

Excellent course for anyone who wants to learn or improve on proper academic writing. Especially useful if you're new to European and North-American Universities.

GK

Feb 22, 2017

I would recommend the course for everyone who would start new classes at university including intermediate level researcher like me! Best of Luck!

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 162 Reviews for Writing in English at University

By Gulam M A K

Feb 22, 2017

I would recommend the course for everyone who would start new classes at university including intermediate level researcher like me! Best of Luck!

By Akila W Y

May 19, 2017

Dear Prof. Satu, Dr. Ellen and Dr. Cecilia,

Glad to write you. Thank you for developing this very informative and interesting MOOC lecture schedule and make it available e free for all the students around the world wide.

The course is very informative, interesting and I really enjoyed.

However I've important suggestion, which will help future fellows. It is very hard to navigate and follow the whole lecture series. Therefore I'd like to suggest you, make a PDF book for whole program step by step with all the required text materials. so a student can first register to this course and get download book and print. Then while reading the book, he can listen to the video lectureres and follow the guideline and do the online tests.

Since this is a writing and reading focus course I really feel having course book will be really important and useful. Also with that this program will be more effective and friendly to follow.

I greatly appreciate you all contribution and big thank for you three, Lund University and the coursera team.

Kind regards,

Akila

By Elmer C

Jul 4, 2018

Awesome course. A completion certificated or a participatory certificated should be immediately linked in the end of the course.

By Ervin I R D

Aug 19, 2019

It is a good course since it covers most of the topics that someone needs in order to start their studies at university.

By Riz B

Sep 11, 2021

I am happy to have this course. I have a basic idea on how I will write acceptable reason on a paper. Thumbs up to its professionalism.

By Areeba F

May 2, 2019

please add exercises quizes than reading material. its so dry and hard to concentrate and absorb all things in short i did not expect this.

By Ahmed N

May 2, 2020

this course is very bad and no certficate

By cho z t

Jun 25, 2021

I finished this course for over a week ago and i don't get any certificate or mails. On the other hand, i finished all course but it shown i am in progress. Please do something.

By TRAN N P

Dec 23, 2018

This course shared a lot of useful suggestions for writing in English at University. It will be an essential lesson for anyone who prepare their next education development.

By Zyanya O

Apr 23, 2018

Excellent course for anyone who wants to learn or improve on proper academic writing. Especially useful if you're new to European and North-American Universities.

By Hesham S

May 25, 2017

Thank you Lund University.

By weiweiduan

Jan 30, 2019

Very useful.

By Shilpa M

Aug 3, 2022

It is more of self reading that too with very limited information. I don not recommend the course.

By Sonali R S

Apr 26, 2021

Not received certificate after completion yet

By riaz a

Oct 12, 2023

Writing in English at the university level can be both challenging and rewarding. Here's a review and some key points to keep in mind: Academic Rigor: University-level writing in English is expected to be academically rigorous. This means you need to conduct thorough research, critically analyze sources, and present well-structured arguments. Clear and Concise Language: Clarity is crucial. Use clear, concise language to communicate your ideas. Avoid unnecessary jargon and complex sentence structures. Grammar and Style: Pay close attention to grammar, punctuation, and style. Inconsistent or incorrect use of language can detract from your message. Citation and Referencing: Understanding citation styles (e.g., APA, MLA, Chicago) is essential. Properly cite all sources to avoid plagiarism and to give credit to the original authors. Critical Thinking: University writing often requires critical thinking. Challenge existing ideas, analyze various viewpoints, and present well-founded arguments. Structure: Organize your writing logically. Use introductions, body paragraphs, and conclusions. Each paragraph should have a clear topic sentence and should flow cohesively. Research Skills: Develop strong research skills. Utilize academic databases, libraries, and online resources to gather high-quality information. Peer Review: Don't hesitate to seek feedback from peers or professors. Peer review can help you identify areas for improvement. Editing and Proofreading: Always edit and proofread your work before submission. This step can catch grammatical errors and improve overall clarity. Time Management: University assignments often come with deadlines. Time management is crucial to ensure you have enough time for research, writing, and revision. Individual Voice: While adhering to academic conventions, it's essential to maintain your individual voice in your writing. Your unique perspective and insights can make your work stand out. Support Services: Many universities offer writing centers or support services for students. Take advantage of these resources for guidance and assistance. Feedback Utilization: When you receive feedback on your writing, use it constructively to improve your skills. Learning from your mistakes is an essential part of the process. In summary, writing in English at the university level demands attention to detail, dedication, and a commitment to academic integrity. With practice and a willingness to learn, you can develop strong writing skills that will serve you well throughout your academic and professional journey.

By Ahmed R

Nov 28, 2017

All I can say this course is well-written, well-delivered, in addition I gained lots of important information regards Writing in English and in-depth knowledge about Academic Writing.

My deepest gratitudes to the educators and University of Lund

By Yi T

Oct 6, 2019

This course is very helpful to my english writing skils and provide a generic approch and structure of academic writing. If you want to know the ubiquitous rule of scholarly writing and reading, you should take this course.

By Elscott O

Jun 15, 2017

This course was really helpful for those who want to further their education. I for one really learn a lot from this course and really improve my academic writings. I recommend this course for none native English like me.

By PAULINA M M

May 19, 2021

HE TERMINADO ESTE CURSO, NECESITO SABER COMO OBTENER EL CERTIFICADO DE CONCLUIDO DICHO PROCESO. AGRADEZCO SU ATENCION AL PRESENTE.

RESPETUOSAMENTE. PAULINA MELENDEZ MANDUJANO

By Martha J M T

Jan 3, 2022

Thanks a lot for allowing me to take part in this course. You brought very useful information to write an academic text.

The classes were excellent, thanks to the teachers.

By Falguni R

Jul 10, 2020

very useful course

By Flávio A S

Dec 7, 2020

In my opinion, the course is excellent. I've learned a lot. However, you should offer the option to upgrade it in order to get a certificate. Not getting a certificate is the only drawback of this course.

By Salim h

May 28, 2021

I finished the course but its still showing its in progress and i didnt even recieve email comforming that i finished the course Note: I need this email as it is my profissor's homework

By Soroor M

Sep 14, 2020

The videos were really boring and demotivating to watch.

By Aditya S

May 10, 2021

what about certificate , i did not get one