Chevron Left
Back to Academic Information Seeking

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Academic Information Seeking by University of Copenhagen

4.7
stars
474 ratings
141 reviews

About the Course

This course will introduce you to the basic elements of academic information seeking - we will explore the search process from defining a strategy to evaluating and documenting your search results. Attending the course will make you a proficient information seeker. You will learn how to carry out comprehensive literature searches based on your own research assignment. You will be guided through the various information seeking steps from selecting relevant search strategies and techniques to evaluating your search results, documenting your search process and citing your sources. Attending the course will enable you to: • Identify your information need • Evaluate databases and other information resources • Set up search strategies and use various search techniques • Formulate search strings based on your own research assignment • Identify relevant material types • Undertake critical evaluation of your sources • Search more efficiently on the internet • Avoid plagiarism • Cite correctly • Work with reference management • Document your search process The course is intended for undergraduate students but the lessons will be useful to anyone who is interested in becoming better at finding scientific information. There are no formal requirements for the course. The series consists of 21 lectures that are organized into three modules. The lectures include small assignments and quizzes (to check comprehension). The lectures will each touch upon a topic that is essential to the information seeking process. To get the most out of the lecture series, we recommend that you access the lectures while you are working on an academic paper. We also recommend that you watch the lectures in the order in which we have structured them. We recommend that you create and fill out a log book while attending the lectures. We have created a log book template that you can use during the course. The lecture series has been developed in collaboration between information specialists at University of Copenhagen and Technical University of Denmark...

Top reviews

LB
Oct 17, 2020

The course was very comprehensive and easy to understand. The instructors made sure that they are giving the information in a way that won't make me confused. Thank you so much for this great course!

KR
Jun 13, 2020

This course has taught me a lot of techniques in searching information for my academic researches. Thank you to all people behind this, especially to the professors in this course!

Filter by:

26 - 50 of 140 Reviews for Academic Information Seeking

By Carla A

Aug 31, 2020

Es un curso introductorio, pero muy enriquecedor, sobre la búsqueda de información para la elaboración de papeles académicos, artículos y en general. Ha sido muy útil.

By Natalia N

Apr 7, 2020

I have 10 year experience in research, but for me this course was a useful refreshment of search methods. Now I have ideas how to guide my younger research fellows.

By villy v

Dec 29, 2020

Very nice and useful information are received in this course. Very nice and easy understandable videos and texts that supply the videos makes it easy for all.

By Nur C K

Dec 18, 2020

Thanks to this course, I have learned how to make a proper search and how to deal with the complicated research steps. Thank you so much for your time.

By PRAJJWAL D

Jul 9, 2020

Great course for academicians who are aspiring to write research papers and articles.This course gives the very basic foundational idea of the process.

By Paritosh D

Feb 14, 2018

Great Course for people who are new to research. This course provides an overview of the various components of the journey called research.

Thank you!

By T R

Aug 12, 2020

Thank you very much for giving this opportunity to learn and get the certificate from coursera. I am very much satisfied with this course

By Nathália G d A

Jul 13, 2020

Wonderful course that helps us to carry out academic research with quality and organization. It certainly helped me a lot in my research.

By Chara

Nov 27, 2020

The course is very helpful especially for those in the academic profession or anyone with library access to literature and materials.

By Kawthar N R

Sep 1, 2020

This course was very useful and entertaining for me, I've learned a lot from it and i highly recommend it for any student or learner.

By PATRICIA A A C

Aug 10, 2020

It gives practical information to start in the world of documental research, it gives also many good tips. Thank you very much.

By Jonathan W

Jan 27, 2020

Excellent course. I am starting my thesis in medical science, and this helped me a lot to give structure to my research work!

By Amr W A R S

Nov 11, 2019

A very amazing and comprehensive course that leads you to how to carry out your search and document it the correct way.

By MD. E H L

Sep 27, 2020

This course taught me a lot. From now on, my search pattern will change massively, Thanks to all of the instructors.

By Mai A M

Jun 21, 2019

I AM REALLY GRATEFUL FOR HAVING SUCH AMAZING CHANCE TO LEARN ABOUT THE NEW TECHNOLOGIES USED IN RESEARCHING

By Peter H

Jun 7, 2021

Productive and skillful academic information seeking course. Very useful for elementary research students.

By MUGISHA C B

Aug 11, 2020

I am glad I did this course. I have found the lecture on reference management tools especially helpful.

By doaa t m a

Oct 20, 2016

it is Avery good course and provide lots of information about searching process and tool of management

By Saleh A H M

Jun 30, 2020

I think this course is great for anyone who wants to make a great research paper.

So I recommend it.

By Peter C

Mar 21, 2021

Superbly covers the fundamentals and provides excellent understanding of search types and sources.

By Angel C

Sep 28, 2019

Excelente curso para aprender habilidades y buenas prácticas en los procesos de investigación

By Anna C M M

Jan 19, 2016

The reading material is not good (it' s even bad) , but the course videos are excellent.

By José J H

Dec 6, 2020

It is a very helpful course, if you are doing an investigation work it would be better,

By Francisco R

May 28, 2020

Great course, practical, specific, well documented and valuable. Congratulatios to all

By Monica F

Sep 7, 2017

It was a great course. I got to know tools that will help me improve my research.