Chevron Left
Back to Advanced Financial Reporting: Accounting for Business Combinations and Preparation of Consolidated Financial Statements

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Advanced Financial Reporting: Accounting for Business Combinations and Preparation of Consolidated Financial Statements by University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

4.7
stars
128 ratings
47 reviews

About the Course

This course covers the accounting for business combinations (ASC 805), the preparation of consolidated financial statements (ASC 810), and other related topics including, but not limited to: step-by-step acquisition, deconsolidation, segments reporting, and the goodwill impairment test. This course begins with a discussion of the scope of ASC 805 and the differences between business combinations and asset acquisitions. Next, the course explores the measurement and recognition principles of the acquisition method to account for business combinations. Then, the course covers the consolidation process. You will learn how to prepare the consolidated financial statements and make all of the necessary consolidation adjustments....

Top reviews

YM
Aug 8, 2021

This is a rare intermediate accounting course I was looking for. Well supported by good course materials and lectures are easy to understand.

CS
Dec 31, 2021

The professor is a total success, well explained and subjects are easy to develop because of his way with students. Thank you!!

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 46 Reviews for Advanced Financial Reporting: Accounting for Business Combinations and Preparation of Consolidated Financial Statements

By Prashant S

Dec 10, 2019

Amazing course to take your financial concepts to next level. The course appropriately deals with the complexity of financial consolidation and make concepts very clear. The presentation is a little less jazzy than its contemporaries, however, if you are focussed on what you want this is the course.

By M. A

Feb 8, 2020

Useful for everyone wants to advance his skills in accounting consolidation.

By Melody D H

Dec 14, 2020

Very good course. I learned a lot. I wish there was a free accounting textbook to go with the course so that I could go into more depth on some of the subjects. But I got through it and passed the course. :) Time to see what other intermediate or advanced accounting courses they offer.

By Marco A

Oct 12, 2020

The course provides the basic knowledge how to properly evaluate by an accounting standpoint a merger and acquisition of a company under the GAAP.

The professor Kustanovich is straight and explain clearly the content of the lessons.

By ALBERT B

Jun 25, 2020

An excellent course with an excellent faculty. Broke down the most complicated concepts of consolidation, so quickly and easily. Thank you so much Coursera, University of Illinois and CPA Michael Kustanovich sir !

By Yu m

Aug 9, 2021

T​his is a rare intermediate accounting course I was looking for. Well supported by good course materials and lectures are easy to understand.

By Carlos A H S

Jan 1, 2022

The professor is a total success, well explained and subjects are easy to develop because of his way with students. Thank you!!

By ashwath a

Jun 15, 2021

Very helpful for beginners and lot of interesting being covered and gained a lot of knowledge through this course

By Aleksandra G

Oct 2, 2020

This is an interesting and useful course, but it is definitely not intended for beginners in accounting.

By Kelly R

Jul 1, 2020

Excellent class for anyone in financial reporting looking to brush up on some more technical areas.

By Kelly C

Nov 5, 2021

excelente las explicación, sobre el manejo de las fusiones y consolidaciones de las empresa

By Sheikh W B

May 20, 2020

Very informative and structured course for the learners of group/corporate accounting.

By SYED N A

Nov 29, 2020

Thank you for everything. I will utilize the knowledge that I get from this course.

By Tirth P

Nov 1, 2020

It was too good. Full of financial knowledge and full of extras. Worth full..

By Martin M

Oct 12, 2021

I learned an immense amount about business combinations in this course.

By Andreas

Sep 1, 2020

Good to equip yourself with, and very informative on business mergers.

By Ismaeil H A J A ( O - F A

Aug 9, 2021

excellent course a very good for beginner, gained a lot of knowledge

By Ahamed A

Feb 22, 2021

It was a best course and nice knowledge through which we can grasp.

By Sefiu T O

Jun 8, 2020

I learnt more from the course. It was an interesting experience.

By Abdul M

Sep 7, 2020

I have learning the how to make the financial statements

By Ahmed A e

Jun 22, 2020

this course is more Advanced , significant and simple.

By Jennifer L

Oct 16, 2021

One of the best accounting classes I had so far!

By Yumna H

Jun 13, 2021

Amazing course all concepts explained tactfully

By James

Sep 16, 2020

The best Coursera course I've ever participated

By John Q

Dec 26, 2020

A lot of knowledge was covered in this course.