Chevron Left
Back to Advanced Financial Reporting: Accounting for Business Combinations and Preparation of Consolidated Financial Statements

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Advanced Financial Reporting: Accounting for Business Combinations and Preparation of Consolidated Financial Statements by University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

4.7
stars
111 ratings
40 reviews

About the Course

This course covers the accounting for business combinations (ASC 805), the preparation of consolidated financial statements (ASC 810), and other related topics including, but not limited to: step-by-step acquisition, deconsolidation, segments reporting, and the goodwill impairment test. This course begins with a discussion of the scope of ASC 805 and the differences between business combinations and asset acquisitions. Next, the course explores the measurement and recognition principles of the acquisition method to account for business combinations. Then, the course covers the consolidation process. You will learn how to prepare the consolidated financial statements and make all of the necessary consolidation adjustments....

Top reviews

YM
Aug 8, 2021

This is a rare intermediate accounting course I was looking for. Well supported by good course materials and lectures are easy to understand.

AA
Jun 14, 2021

Very helpful for beginners and lot of interesting being covered and gained a lot of knowledge through this course

Filter by:

26 - 40 of 40 Reviews for Advanced Financial Reporting: Accounting for Business Combinations and Preparation of Consolidated Financial Statements

By Dirk R

Mar 19, 2021

Great course, very helpful.

By Afzal K

Aug 4, 2020

Im satisfied with your work

By Long V

Nov 5, 2020

Very helpful course.

By Abdoul N S

Nov 30, 2020

Très instructif!

By P S

Oct 29, 2020

Really good

By ZAPATA M M

May 6, 2021

Excelente

By KENNEY P

Mar 23, 2021

Excellent

By Colin A S H

Mar 18, 2021

A well-structured and delivered course. The only peeve I had was the writing in some of the lecture videos. It was difficult to understand at times.

By negar k

Sep 16, 2021

I just have a problem with teacher's hand writing .

By Kannaprakasan K M

Aug 10, 2020

Thanks for knowledge

By Tauqeer A

Dec 28, 2019

very informative

By Akhil K

Jun 13, 2020

Good course

By Patrick m

Sep 19, 2021

It was a little too easy. Also, i have lived in foreign countries and spoken languages I am not native to, so I am sympathetic to accents, but the consistency of some of Professor Kostanovich's mistakes were quite distracting. eighteenS millionS dollar (no "s").

By Lorraine K M

Jun 12, 2021

I believe the content of this course was good. However, the instructor for the class had a very heavy accent and, unfortunately, I could understand very little of the lecture material. To make matters worse, the transcripts of the lectures were obviously done by someone who, like me, could barely understand the instructor! The transcripts contain so many errors that, in many cases, they are virtually unreadable. I quit listening to the videos around Module 4 or 5 as it was just a waste of time. I used the PDF ppts and struggled with the translations to try to learn. That did not work in the cases in which the PDF ppts were absent (at least twice). Finally, I am not sure how others feel, but the fact that the instructor used hand-written examples instead of technology (Excel, maybe?) to show work is absolutely unbelievable. It was made worse by the fact that his handwriting is very, very bad and it was impossible to read what was written. Truly a bad course experience. I don't quite understand reviews that say otherwise.

By santo d

Jun 25, 2021

H