Chevron Left
Back to Advanced MySQL Topics

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Advanced MySQL Topics by Meta

4.6
stars
184 ratings

About the Course

In this course, you'll begin to push beyond simple SQL statements in MySQL to an advanced level in database engineering. By the end of this course, you'll be able to: - Use control statements and variables in different contexts in MySQL - Develop user defined functions and procedures - Optimize MySQL database queries - Demonstrate a working knowledge of common table expressions and the JSON data type - Understand how and when to use triggers and events - Utilize subqueries, JOINS, views and transactions to perform data analysis - and use database optimization techniques such as MySQL transactions You'll gain experience with the following advanced MySQL database skills: - MySQL user defined functions - Advanced MySQL stored procedures - MySQL optimization techniques including Indexes, Transactions, CTE and JSON - MySQL triggers and events - Database analytics in MySQL - Advanced SQL queries for data analysis with JOINS, views and subqueries Through this course you'll develop new skills, improve your productivity, learn to act effectively with data and boost your career prospects. To be successful in this course, you should have already completed the previous course, “Database Structures and Management with MySQL,” or have prior experience with the skills taught in that course....

Top reviews

SI

Dec 10, 2022

Learned a bunch of new SQL topics here.. I recommend this to anyone interested in improving their SQL skills. Don't forget to expand your understanding via any other resources out there.

Good one!

PI

May 9, 2023

It was very challenging but the instructor maximized the time and resources available for a great course delivery. I learnt a lot, and hoping to practice to become more proficient.

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 54 Reviews for Advanced MySQL Topics

By Sidney I

Dec 11, 2022

Learned a bunch of new SQL topics here.. I recommend this to anyone interested in improving their SQL skills. Don't forget to expand your understanding via any other resources out there.

Good one!

By Brent A

Jul 3, 2023

This course really helped me to understand how SQL can be used in a programmatic way with explanations on Triggers, Functions, Procedures, and other various query optimization techniques. I found the introduction to the storing and referencing of JSON objects particularly interesting because the concept can really simplify the structure of a table and increase its readability.

By Bernard D R

Jan 8, 2023

All I can say is that this course literally provides an advanced concepts of SQL commands and a deep dive of not-so-often used and complex MySQL features. I learned a lot though I think I need to revisit most of the topics as it is not easy to memorize those syntax :) Great work, Meta!

By Patricia O I

May 10, 2023

It was very challenging but the instructor maximized the time and resources available for a great course delivery. I learnt a lot, and hoping to practice to become more proficient.

By Caleb H

Oct 5, 2023

I generally enjoyed the course and picked up a few things here and there. I did feel that some of the labs and test questions could have been more clear. I felt like I was guessing sometimes, not because I didn't have an understanding, but because the wording was confusing. Again, in general, it's a good course for those seeking to develop their MySQL skills.

By Brisa P

Apr 14, 2023

The topics discussed in this course are great, but I felt like the pace of it didn't match with the previous courses. This is the 4th course on this certificate and so far the one I enjoyed the less. I still think it was absolutely worth my time and that I learned a lot but I would have liked some more guidance on the activities.

By brent z

Mar 6, 2023

This was a helpful course that delves into how to write MySql queries more effectively. The only thing that would be better would add a MySQL project after learning so much about MySql. I think it would be nice to show what we have learned

By Eldin F

Mar 7, 2023

It was good but not as good as the previous once. Some parts were to fast paced and didnt cover enough info. I had the feeling like they didnt have enough time so they picked up the pace for some lections.

By 马镓浚

Feb 20, 2023

Some errors in this course need to be corrected, overall a good course.

By Carl S

Dec 30, 2022

Much more involved than the intro course, but so well presented and organized that I really flourished. I feel pretty confident in my ability to work in and with MySQL, and comfortable with the resources available to fine tune the syntax. Probably the single best module I have taken thus far on Coursera.

By Abdullah Z

Nov 12, 2022

Really good and comprehensive course but the problem is that the instructor speaks too fast and sometimes its difficult to grasp the concept due to that. Would really appreciate it if this isn't the case with the other courses in this professional certificate.

By Logeshwaran P

Jan 6, 2023

Thank you so much for the opportunity to learn Advanced MySql learn New things with crisp and clearly Taught Menter and Meta and Coursera thanks for help me..

By Krish S

Aug 3, 2023

Amazing course , it goes over and beyond in teaching you practical ways of bettering your sql / mysql implementations. Thankful for this course.

By Manuel A

Jan 2, 2023

Great course! in all fairness they did a very good job with this course, in my opinion that is.

By Yaoxiang N

Dec 17, 2023

The course is very nice. The only suggestion is to have a summary document for each module.

By aman s

Dec 6, 2022

Great Course, Some advanced topics needs more explanation but overall a great course.

By Kipkoech B

Apr 27, 2023

I like the way she teaches very detailed and in a simple way

By Corina d

Nov 13, 2023

This is the content I needed to polish my SQL skills!

By Anna R

Mar 5, 2023

The course is very useful, the exercises are great.

By Siva S P

Feb 29, 2024

Great place to learn in-depth skills of MySQL !!

By Alam

Feb 16, 2024

Again excellent. thanks to all the instructor.

By Juanes G

May 12, 2024

This course needs more situational examples

By Kunle A

Nov 28, 2023

Designed to shape you in MySQL operations

By Dmytro K

Jan 5, 2024

Everything you need to know about SQL

By Carmine L

Jul 10, 2023

Really enjoyed the final lab exercise