Chevron Left
Back to Advanced Programming in Swift

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Advanced Programming in Swift by Meta

4.8
stars
69 ratings

About the Course

At the heart of any remarkable iOS applies a thorough understanding of the Swift programming language. Embark on a journey to expand your knowledge and skillset with Advanced Programming in Swift. Discover Swift’s advanced custom data types, explore code organization best practices, tap into error handling to improve your program’s performance, and foster an understanding of programming the functional way with higher-order functions like map, filter and reduce. Then, to further understand the inner workings of successful app development, learn how to implement unit tests to ensure that your applications function as intended. By the end of this course, you will practice creating the functionality you often encounter in apps with large lists of items. You’ll implement advanced programming concepts including higher-order functions to process collections and build your own list in Xcode. Upon completion of this course, you will be able to: • Create custom data types including enumerations and sets. • Organize and optimize your code by using subclassing and inheritance, typecasting and polymorphism. • Discover how to set restrictions in your code using access control. • Create blueprints for your code with optional and required protocols. • Give control and pass responsibilities from one instance to another with delegation. • Employ appropriate error handling approaches, implement throwable functions and catch errors. • Describe what recursion is and identify common use cases. • Implement higher-order functions like map, filter and reduce. • Ensure your applications perform as expected by implementing unit tests. This course is ideal for intermediate learners who would like to prepare themselves for a career in iOS development. To succeed in this course, you need a foundational understanding of the programming fundamentals of Swift and SwiftUI....

Top reviews

EC

Dec 19, 2022

This is a valuable course.

I learned about the basics/fundamentals of the Swift language, also had good practice in SwiftUI by finishing the challenging project on week 4.

AH

Dec 20, 2022

This course is good. It covered some surprisingly advanced level programming concepts!

Filter by:

1 - 17 of 17 Reviews for Advanced Programming in Swift

By Paul M

Apr 10, 2023

Decent follow-on course for a Swift beginner. This is in no way "Advanced"--even Coursera ranks it was "Intermediate". No generics, opaque types, variadic, async, etc. Some of the content is pretty contrived which is a shame when there's the whole Swift Foundation framework to use as examples of the ideas in the course.

There are numerous typos and mistakes in the material and quizzes--nothing egregious though so it's still useful as a course; just be aware.

There are no instructors on these Meta courses as far as I can tell. No forum responses--all "instructors" listed have 0 posts.

The final assignment is more app development even though there was no iOS dev material in the course at all. So SwiftUI is a prerequisite!

By Abdelrahman B

Feb 28, 2023

The course content is great! I would've rated it 5 stars if the quizzes did not have incorrect answers at times.

By Javier P

Feb 7, 2023

Content needs peer review. Instructions are not clear. Dead links to previous course version material. Tests are not accurate

By Adolfo C

Apr 14, 2023

This course was excellent. I learned so much about engineering software, going back to my notes while trying to create my own app made me realize the depth of application of the concepts taught — like the importance of creating code that's easy to read and organized so it's easier to maintain. Learned a lot! Looking forward to the rest of the courses!

By Rodion S

Dec 22, 2022

I enjoyed doing this course. I liked the mentor and its structure. I suggest to make a couple of readings that would help through final lab because I have found it's challenging because through these weeks of learning compiling all these new knowledge without an example was a problem for me.

Anyway thank you!

By Nozhan A

Feb 12, 2024

Pretty solid course. I'm a mid-level iOS developer working solely as an iOS engineer in a company for 3 years now, and I learned lots of good stuff in this course. I'd recommend this course to anyone looking to round up their knowledge base in Swift.

By Eric C

Dec 20, 2022

This is a valuable course.

I learned about the basics/fundamentals of the Swift language, also had good practice in SwiftUI by finishing the challenging project on week 4.

By Alex H

Dec 21, 2022

This course is good. It covered some surprisingly advanced level programming concepts!

By Kato S M

Dec 17, 2022

A good certificate that dives deep into swift.

By Emre G

Oct 2, 2023

I thank you very much for your contribution.

By Mohamed A A

Jan 9, 2023

fantastic course

By Darrick T

Dec 9, 2022

great instructor

By Kevinho M

Jun 6, 2023

Great course!

By Lerasse L

Jan 7, 2023

Nice course!

By Bektosh B O

Dec 25, 2023

thank you

By Viorel H

May 7, 2023

Overall good, but I wish some concepts were covered in more detail and in a more friendly way. Definitely it doesn't get you very "advanced" in swift - just the key concepts that now, are actually basics

By Mahmoud A

Oct 18, 2023

great content but too short , requires a lot of self searching