Chevron Left
Back to AI for Medical Diagnosis

Learner Reviews & Feedback for AI for Medical Diagnosis by DeepLearning.AI

4.7
stars
1,586 ratings
348 reviews

About the Course

AI is transforming the practice of medicine. It’s helping doctors diagnose patients more accurately, make predictions about patients’ future health, and recommend better treatments. As an AI practitioner, you have the opportunity to join in this transformation of modern medicine. If you're already familiar with some of the math and coding behind AI algorithms, and are eager to develop your skills further to tackle challenges in the healthcare industry, then this specialization is for you. No prior medical expertise is required! This program will give you practical experience in applying cutting-edge machine learning techniques to concrete problems in modern medicine: - In Course 1, you will create convolutional neural network image classification and segmentation models to make diagnoses of lung and brain disorders. - In Course 2, you will build risk models and survival estimators for heart disease using statistical methods and a random forest predictor to determine patient prognosis. - In Course 3, you will build a treatment effect predictor, apply model interpretation techniques and use natural language processing to extract information from radiology reports. These courses go beyond the foundations of deep learning to give you insight into the nuances of applying AI to medical use cases. As a learner, you will be set up for success in this program if you are already comfortable with some of the math and coding behind AI algorithms. You don't need to be an AI expert, but a working knowledge of deep neural networks, particularly convolutional networks, and proficiency in Python programming at an intermediate level will be essential. If you are relatively new to machine learning or neural networks, we recommend that you first take the Deep Learning Specialization, offered by deeplearning.ai and taught by Andrew Ng. The demand for AI practitioners with the skills and knowledge to tackle the biggest issues in modern medicine is growing exponentially. Join us in this specialization and begin your journey toward building the future of healthcare....

Top reviews

RK
Jul 2, 2020

It was a nice course. Though it covers basics. A follow-up advanced specilization can be made. Overall, it's sufficient for beginner for an engineer trying to learn application of AI for medical field

KH
May 26, 2020

Throughout this course, I was able to understand the different medical and deep learning terminology used. Definitely a good course to understand the basic of image classification and segmentation!

Filter by:

276 - 300 of 348 Reviews for AI for Medical Diagnosis

By Vignesh S

May 31, 2020

A very well structured course that covers most of the practical design challenges of deep learning applications in healthcare sector. A good foundation for people who want to pursue a career as a Machine Learning Engineer for medical diagnosis and/or computer vision.

By Endre S

May 24, 2020

Great course! Although the coding exercises focus more on lower level details of matrix manipulation, and not on the parts for selecting a model, building and training it. Most of the model related code is provided if form of utility code or as pretrained weights.

By hasti g

Oct 20, 2020

Hello,

I enjoyed taking this course. It would be great if assignments could be debuged, I tried downloading the assignments to debug using vscode but some parts of the assignments(datasets or some functions) were not there to be downloaded.

Thank you

By Chad H

May 24, 2020

This was a great course for getting a high-level understanding of AI's applications in medical diagnosis.

The only issue is that the assignments are auto-graded which, coupled with bugs, can make submitting assignments very frustrating.

By Pierre G

May 1, 2021

Great but 1) all notebooks must be moved to Tensorflow 2 and Pytorch 2) it's not a Deep Learning course but a data course (for people who want to really understand the classification/Unet models, they need to study another DL course)

By Denizhan E

Feb 27, 2021

Course data and related util files with reasonable explanations will make this course magnificent. I spent a lot of time figuring out differences while I try it in my local engine due to version differences.

By Lee Z Y

Feb 10, 2021

Pleasant pacing, very clear and concise lecture material. I was really frustrated with the final assignment though. Would be nice if the grader gives something more instructive than correct/incorrect.

By ADITYA K

Jul 14, 2020

A good course to understand the use of Deep Learning and AI in Medical Diagnosis. In this course, you can understand different ways to segment and analyze the images of brain tumors and X-Rays.

By Kiran C

Jun 4, 2020

Use cases selected were really nice, Videos should carry more detail technical aspects and could be bit more lengthy and Assignments should consider multiple options to solve given problem

By Anditya A

May 29, 2020

too hard

too little explanation in the exercises,

definitely not for beginner,

this is an expert class course,

even an experienced student, who's familiar with tensorflow might struggle a bit

By Pooja A

Dec 12, 2020

A good course with challenging assignments. However, the assignments could have been a little less self explanatory and should have triggered deeper and more individualistic thinking.

By Stephan P C

Jul 12, 2020

The assignments are extremely simple; mostly just implementing an equation in Python. The rest of the notebooks are basically readings. Maybe give a little more coding practice.

By Ameera A

Sep 11, 2020

The course is build in a way makes it easy to learn. I liked how the assignments had been built and the way of grading quizzes

I think we need a special course for U Net

By Philip J S

Sep 13, 2020

Very abstracted and high level course, no "intution" presented compared to Machine Learning of Andrew Ng; Nevertheless, still a great course for AI in Healthcare

By Chakkarapani V

May 25, 2020

This course is a good starter for applications on AI on medicine. I enjoyed. But I felt there can me little more explanations instead of a very short videos.

By Soham T

Jun 15, 2020

The course content was great and all theoretical concepts were clearly explained but, the instructions in the programming assignments were a bit unclear.

By Nikolaos N T

Mar 28, 2021

Getting the right code for week3 assignment was really time-consuming - still have not found what was the error giving me the standardize function

By Ravi P B

May 30, 2020

Nice course to learn basics of machine learning as well as get your hands dirty with application of artificial intelligence to medical diagnosis.

By Muhammed A

May 6, 2020

it's good, I expected it to be richer, but I guess there's no much development in that area to teach currently, I hope it will evolve with time

By Галинская Т В

May 10, 2020

There were a lot of problems when I was completing the programming task in week 3. I Think that many points are not sufficiently explained.

By Quoc D N

Mar 21, 2021

The lectures are great, but the labs could use more practicing/exercises than just reading a notebook already filled with code that works.

By Nada S

Jun 7, 2020

So nice and complete. May be some programming assignments need to be more clearer or explained, but over all; great course. Thank you.

By Kabakov B

Sep 8, 2020

It is so much better than courses from NLP specialization. But still too many "translate well-known formulae to python code" tasks.

By Praneet S

May 23, 2020

last assignment of week 3 of this course is quite difficult to understand so I feel few more explanation should be mentioned

By Taiki H

May 13, 2020

More detailed skills like data converion would be desirable, but still good starting point for beginners. Thanks!