Chevron Left
Back to Algorithmic Toolbox

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Algorithmic Toolbox by University of California San Diego

4.6
stars
12,141 ratings

About the Course

This online course covers basic algorithmic techniques and ideas for computational problems arising frequently in practical applications: sorting and searching, divide and conquer, greedy algorithms, dynamic programming. We will learn a lot of theory: how to sort data and how it helps for searching; how to break a large problem into pieces and solve them recursively; when it makes sense to proceed greedily; how dynamic programming is used in genomic studies. You will practice solving computational problems, designing new algorithms, and implementing solutions efficiently (so that they run in less than a second)....

Top reviews

SG

Jan 19, 2017

I liked the fact that the algorithms are not just the introductory searching and sorting algorithms. The assignments are fairly difficult (I have decent scripting experience), but not impossibly so.

BD

Jan 19, 2021

The course was really amazing which provided deep knowledge from basic to advance that how algorithms works and how to design algorithms. Thanks to all the expert teachers who taught in this course.

Filter by:

1851 - 1875 of 2,506 Reviews for Algorithmic Toolbox

By Дима Т

Jul 20, 2022

Iunderstand why there is no comments about mistakes.

It suppose to be like real life.

Still, this is NOT life, but rather training.

How students suppose to find an error if there is no info + comparing with clow solution not clear?

Just my opinion (;

But everything else is great!

By Juan E R L

Apr 19, 2016

Videos are very well explained, the exercises comes with several difficulties, good to apply what you learn and push a bit more. I was able to retake some stuff that I've forgotten and learn new stuff. As a 12 year experienced engineer, I'm please that I took this course.

By Sai K N

May 10, 2020

This course helps to learn the techniques to write the optimised solutions for a program which is very much necessary in today's world of competetive programming. Its a very good learning experice though I faced problem in understanding the dynamic programming concepts.

By Anup V

Mar 27, 2016

Having time left on the last programming assignment in week 4 and not being allowed to complete it was a downer. I'm not sure if this was bug or if I'm missing something. The course was great and challenging. Thank you for preparing, organizing and teaching this course.

By Volodymyr K

Apr 20, 2020

The course is pretty good. It covers main ideas of solving algorithms along with general problems that can be solved using highlighted ideas. However, the fifth and sixth weeks weren't so exciting because of the lack of the explanation regarding dynamic programming.

By Marina V

Mar 29, 2020

Good content, I really enjoyed learning the concepts, thank you! However giving only 4 stars because in some cases explanations/proofs were hard to understand -- and I'd find a YouTube video where someone explains the same thing very clearly in just a few minutes.

By To P H

Sep 3, 2018

Content of this course is very good for fundamental algorithm work. I have learnt a lot

In the divide and conquer section, nevertheless, I found the lecturer speaking quite fast and it would def help is he can explain things in more details using more layman terms

By Matthew S

Aug 8, 2016

An excellent and methodical approach to learning algorithms and their related data structures (as well as appreciating the value and importance of efficient computing). Also a great refresher even if you have had formal training in Data Structures and Algorithms.

By PRATYUSH G

Sep 21, 2020

The course was great and it focused on the most important and prominent algorithms in programming but the lack of solutions using proper syntax made it really difficult to implement the explained algorithms, often causing me to search for other sources the same.

By César C

May 9, 2018

Aún no logro comprender cuál es el beneficio para los instructores en no mostrar el input/data cuando un test-case falla, eso me hubiera ayudado a encontrar las soluciones más rápido, además en el mundo real, el input siempre es conocido. Por lo demás, muy bien.

By Mohit

Nov 4, 2020

This is tough for me ,I don't use ungraded part due to error 404 ,i don't take to use of this course and all the teacher are good,quiz and programming aassignment is also good but ,due to some error in the ungraded part i don't take much benifit of this course

By Thales A K N

Jun 25, 2020

I wish it had some kind of introductory course to it, I know it's not the most advanced one, but I still had a harder time to complete things than I thought! This also might be the whole point of it, but overall the course is very complete and thrilling to do!

By TUSHAR T

Oct 10, 2020

VERY GOOD AND TOUGH PROGRAMS WERE THERE, I REALLY GOT TO KNOW ALOT FROM THIS COURSE. THANK YOU TO EVERY ONE WHO MADE THIS COURSE POSSIBLE. THE LECTURES ON DYNAMIC PROGRAMMING WEERE NOT ENOUGH TO SOLVE THE PROBLEMS, I TOOK HELP FROM RANDOM VIDEOS FROM FACEBOOK

By Keyur U

Jul 18, 2020

It's a great course on algorithms. The problems are designed in such a way that one gets a deep understanding of the concepts learned. I also liked the interactive tools which were used to create an intuition of the concepts to be learnt in the upcoming part.

By Christopher W

Aug 25, 2017

Overall great course and challenging programming assignments. My only critique is that some of the lectures (especially dynamic programming lesson) were difficult to follow. A little more attention to the delivery of the lectures would have been helpful.

By Sharvari D

Feb 5, 2018

I have found this course useful. It cleared my basics and I was finally able to overcome the fear of coding. However, I found that the video lectures were a little tough to understand and too straightforward. Rest, I can I say I have learnt a lot. Thanks!

By Tian P

Dec 18, 2017

The course offers a good overview of some of the major algorithms. The programming assignments are designed really well. I wish the lecture of some parts could be more elaborate, such as change money and edit distance. I really enjoy Alexander's sections.

By LAKSH C

Jun 7, 2020

There were great explanations and perfect problems regarding each topic I can definitely say that my programming skills have improved with this! Thanks a lot!

The only complaint I have is that some of the professors accents are kind of hard to understand.

By Khotov L K

Jul 13, 2016

Everything is awesome except a minor mismatch between Niel Rhodes's and Alexander Kulikov's presentations in Week 4. Although Prof. Rhodes prooved Master Theorem in the first half of the Week, Prof. Kulikov didn't use it estimating algorithms asymtotics.

By Jim J

Aug 17, 2017

The assignments are of great standards and is challenging which is great for a learner. The videos and the materials are of not much help to understand the concepts in detail and often have to rely on simpler You tube videos to understand the concepts.

By Kurt W

May 18, 2016

Testing cases are claimed to be generated randomly, in that way why can't we get the random test case to improve our result? Also, there is no example code after the course, if I didn't solve out the problem I may never have the chance to work it out.

By Rachana N A

Jan 24, 2017

Very Good course

All the concepts were explained very well, barring Dynamic Programming. That could have been a bit more detailed. The programming assignments were fun to solve. A must have course for people beginning their study in computer science.

By Sushrut K

Sep 6, 2020

The course was really great and the teachers were also fantastic. I would suggest this course to all the people interested in algorithms.

However, I would like to suggest to add some more examples, so that the concepts will be thoroughly understood.

By Mark K

Mar 28, 2016

Lectures were clear, for the most part, and the homeworks were fun and instructive. Material on dynamic programming might have been clearer. Also, notes and references to texts would have been helpful. Thanks for putting together a great course.

By Fabrice L

Oct 11, 2017

Very good course! A lot of practice and exercice, that is what I expected. Some of the lectures are difficult to understand, it mainly depend on which teacher is explaining. But I mostly they follow an example well chosen to represent a concept.