Chevron Left
Back to Algorithmic Toolbox

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Algorithmic Toolbox by University of California San Diego

4.7
5,462 ratings
1,140 reviews

About the Course

The course covers basic algorithmic techniques and ideas for computational problems arising frequently in practical applications: sorting and searching, divide and conquer, greedy algorithms, dynamic programming. We will learn a lot of theory: how to sort data and how it helps for searching; how to break a large problem into pieces and solve them recursively; when it makes sense to proceed greedily; how dynamic programming is used in genomic studies. You will practice solving computational problems, designing new algorithms, and implementing solutions efficiently (so that they run in less than a second). Do you have technical problems? Write to us: coursera@hse.ru...

Top reviews

SG

Jan 20, 2017

I liked the fact that the algorithms are not just the introductory searching and sorting algorithms. The assignments are fairly difficult (I have decent scripting experience), but not impossibly so.

MM

Sep 29, 2017

good course, I like the fact you can use a lot of languages for you programming exercises, the content is really helpful, I would like to have more indications from the grading system to save time.

Filter by:

251 - 275 of 1,071 Reviews for Algorithmic Toolbox

By Nandan K

Oct 10, 2017

Really nice course that get's you started to the world of algorithms. It has a balanced progression and introduction to basic concepts, but highly recommend to do all the optional assignments since they help absorb all the presented material to the fullest extent. But to solidify the knowledge gained, I would recommend to solve more problems on the introduced concepts since I feel this course falls short in number of diverse problem statements to be able to think on how to apply the concepts in different scenarios.

By Florian S

Oct 03, 2016

This course is designed with a lot of thought behind it and using basically every mainstream programming language makes it even more fun to participate.

By Anna T

Sep 26, 2016

Very well structured, good choice of content. All video lectures are engaging and you can feel a lot of though was put into making algorithms explanations both clear and concise. Many thanks to the lecturers.

By Pawan K S

May 15, 2016

Very detailed and well covered

By Abhishek K

Nov 23, 2016

Very Good

By Anisuzzaman K

May 15, 2016

Algorithm Toolbox is an awesome course for getting started with problem thinking and problem solving!

By Jorge M

Jan 13, 2018

Excelent

By WENBO M

Aug 16, 2017

Really great course for an introduction to greedy, divide-and-conquer and dynamic programming techniques. Programming assignments are challenging for beginners but are really helpful for mastering the concept and materials. Referenced materials are useful to understand the concepts when listening to lectures is not enough.

By Khalid M A

Jul 24, 2016

The ideas I learned about the classical algorithms and their run-times are really useful and interesting. The problems are also very good.

By Jakub T

Oct 24, 2017

A very useful piece of knowledge for software developers, especially after they get a bit of practice and need to refine their knowledge.

By Karun

May 09, 2016

Great course to understand different categories of Algorithms and which one to apply to solve a problem

By Shaival

Sep 21, 2016

Awesome explanation, very concise.

By Матвей С

Jan 03, 2017

Tasks are amazing. But sometimes had to google some extra help.

By Atulya S S

May 21, 2017

I like the set of assignments in the course. Well organized and well explained

By Jan K

Mar 01, 2017

The best course I have done on Coursera. The authors have put together a great set of lectures and especially programming assignments, which really force you to think about what you are doing rather than go by trial and error. What's more, you can submit these in about a dozen commonly used programming languages so you can practise the language of your choice while learning about algorithms. Highly recommended!

By Filippov S

Jan 28, 2017

Great and challenging course.

By Victor F

Jun 08, 2016

Extremely useful course, that will improve your understanding of the core algorithmic techniques.

By Aarshay J

May 23, 2016

Another one of Coursera's trademark course. Really awesome for beginners in Algorithms.

By Hao-en S

Jan 19, 2017

Nice materials and challenging problems!

By Francisco A A M

May 11, 2018

College quality course. Maybe even better.

By Mehul R

Feb 29, 2016

very nice

By Madan K

Aug 09, 2016

AWESOME course ,A must for any programmer.

By Spiridonov A

Oct 08, 2016

I was great! A lot of useful and interesting tasks to improve your skills.

By Sudhindra M

Mar 23, 2018

cool one

By Zhehui Z

Jun 07, 2016

Very clear introduction to algorithm basics. Reasonable quizzes and assignments.