Chevron Left
Back to Algorithmic Toolbox

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Algorithmic Toolbox by University of California San Diego

4.7
stars
7,243 ratings
1,527 reviews

About the Course

The course covers basic algorithmic techniques and ideas for computational problems arising frequently in practical applications: sorting and searching, divide and conquer, greedy algorithms, dynamic programming. We will learn a lot of theory: how to sort data and how it helps for searching; how to break a large problem into pieces and solve them recursively; when it makes sense to proceed greedily; how dynamic programming is used in genomic studies. You will practice solving computational problems, designing new algorithms, and implementing solutions efficiently (so that they run in less than a second)....

Top reviews

SG

Jan 20, 2017

I liked the fact that the algorithms are not just the introductory searching and sorting algorithms. The assignments are fairly difficult (I have decent scripting experience), but not impossibly so.

MB

Mar 06, 2018

Cool course. Thank you! One suggestion about your book (Learning Algorithms Through Programming and Puzzle Solving): could you add some theory which would serve as a brief reminder before problems?

Filter by:

1126 - 1150 of 1,457 Reviews for Algorithmic Toolbox

By Adam D

Jan 13, 2020

Great for review of algorithms. I've seen most of these in university Algorithms courses, but this was a great refresher. Coming back to these now, I have a greater understanding than when I first saw them.

By Վարդան Գ

Feb 10, 2019

There are great subjects and in general the course are great too. the only thing that i would like to mention is that there are some places that should be explained more deeply especially in case of week 6.

By Hasan_Saju

May 20, 2020

This is a very good course to learn some the basics of algorithms. It is also good for people who want to polish their algorithm skill. Very good for learning Dynamic Programming and sorting techniques.

By Vikash K

Mar 02, 2019

good technique implemented for learning and exploring about big data(primitive) handling, and other study stuffs and additional slides are quite helpful to understand algorithm and its implementation.

By Zamirbek A

Feb 04, 2018

The content is full and helpful. I've learned a lot.

Some instructors should've used the marker while explaining to walk through the codes instead of just putting a slide and talking on the background.

By Iakov L

Dec 04, 2016

Great course. I would suggest to improve pronunciation of some of the lecturers, add more material, lower the concentration of the material (by prolonging or splitting the course). Great work, thanks!

By Jules K

Aug 03, 2016

As the title suggests, this course will give you some tools/techniques in terms of algorithms design and implementation. You will probably also learn from doing the programming assignments. Enjoy!

By Allen F

May 17, 2020

Great course for stepping into algorithms. But some portions have bad lectures like for example explaining the theoritical reasoning for finding safe move in week 3 greedy algorithm is very poor.

By Victor C

Oct 16, 2019

Content and explanations are absolutely great, the only thing that need to be improved is the way of working with exercises, would be great to have something similiar like HackerRank or leetCode.

By Sameer U

Sep 02, 2019

It becomes very hard to cope up with the course at the end. I hope more explanations were provided so that we can understand the concepts with more clarity. Nevertheless it was a good course.

By Pinak D

Jan 05, 2020

This course is very helpful as it teaches you the various ways to solve the problem. Also, it gives details explanation of the algorithms taught in the course. I really liked this course!!

By Pavel O

Sep 06, 2016

Good collection of task and learning materials. Definitely worth it! More numbers theory and algorithms reading could be included. But agree, it better to read books referenced.

Thank you!

By Herman C

May 14, 2016

More information should be given for the failed test cases. Is a waste of time to find bug if you don't know what the bug is. ie test case 4/13 in the minimal dot product assignment

By Wan N

May 06, 2020

The assignments are quite valuable and with their help, I have improved my algorithmic skills. However, it will be better if the video materials can give a more detailed explanation.

By Ranjeeta K

Jul 01, 2019

I really liked the course design as it included programming assignments along with course lectures. Except for some errors caused in the submissions, everything else was just fine.

By Matija K

Aug 02, 2017

The programming assignments are great. They are not easy and really make you think and work. Some topics should be better explained. Especially in the Dynamic programming lectures.

By Aidar

Sep 19, 2019

Michael Levin should make more slides for explanation (with step-by-step examples) how Alex Kulikov and other mentors did. Also, it was difficult to hear only his broken english.

By Kerem C T

May 15, 2019

Very hard topic explained good. I had to get help from other videos(outside this course) explaining some of the algorithms in detail. Other than it was a good experience overall.

By Maziar M

Apr 17, 2018

The assignment are perfect. They are comprehensive and pretty challenging. Although, I believe the lectures could be a little bit better organized. Specially the last two weeks.

By Comsaripalli V P K

Apr 03, 2018

The Assignments and the Syllabus are Good. But The explanation of the faculty is not that great. You would need to read external material to better understand whats happening

By Andrey G

Sep 11, 2016

Понравились задачи и освещенные темы. Для работающих людей график сдач очень жесткий. Хочется успеть решить все задачи, но банально не хватает времени из-за дневной нагрузки.

By Chirag J

Apr 20, 2020

Course content can be improved. Week 3 starting video lectures are very hard to understand. The Instructor himself not able to memorize that what he is teaching to students.

By Tan P Z

Nov 18, 2019

I dont think anyone can keep up with the explanation of DP pseudocode, ironically went to watch youtube videos instead for explanation of code. Good course other than that.

By Mehmet S

Jan 28, 2019

Everything is good, except the test cases in the assignments are not given. It takes a while to debug without test cases. At least we should be given the failing test case.

By Menachem M H

Apr 03, 2017

Not well explained. Do read the resources and spend time on YouTube and stack overflow to understand the concepts. Otherwise definetly a challenge and an interesting course