Chevron Left
Back to Algorithmic Toolbox

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Algorithmic Toolbox by University of California San Diego

4.6
stars
7,970 ratings
1,667 reviews

About the Course

The course covers basic algorithmic techniques and ideas for computational problems arising frequently in practical applications: sorting and searching, divide and conquer, greedy algorithms, dynamic programming. We will learn a lot of theory: how to sort data and how it helps for searching; how to break a large problem into pieces and solve them recursively; when it makes sense to proceed greedily; how dynamic programming is used in genomic studies. You will practice solving computational problems, designing new algorithms, and implementing solutions efficiently (so that they run in less than a second)....

Top reviews

SG

Jan 20, 2017

I liked the fact that the algorithms are not just the introductory searching and sorting algorithms. The assignments are fairly difficult (I have decent scripting experience), but not impossibly so.

MM

Sep 29, 2017

good course, I like the fact you can use a lot of languages for you programming exercises, the content is really helpful, I would like to have more indications from the grading system to save time.

Filter by:

1251 - 1275 of 1,602 Reviews for Algorithmic Toolbox

By CHITRESH K

Aug 21, 2017

Nicely explained , enough for solving the assignments. Good for understanding various techniques used in solving different and almost all possible problems efficiently.

By RITIK V

Apr 20, 2020

The course is overall good with lots of info but the explanation is little bit less in my

opinion and its not that easy to tackle . But at the end you will learn a lot.

By Kushal A

Jul 03, 2016

The course material is very good indeed, but some of the instructors were somewhat difficult to understand because of strong accents. Subtitles were largely inaccurate.

By Arpit V

Feb 13, 2019

The practice question helps with solidifying the understanding.

1 star less, as this could be improved by giving dry run of as an example for algorithm implementation.

By Jan R

Aug 22, 2017

Course content generally was interesting, though explanations were sometimes hard to follow. Slides could contain more information to make the matter easier to grasp.

By Eshan R S

Aug 25, 2018

Some instructor's accents were sometimes confusing, and the subtitles weren't good enough, but everything else was splendind and the exercises were well-thought-out.

By Jn S

Jul 09, 2020

learnt a lot new and challenging, but quite complex to understand several concept with the lectures need some additional exploration for the complete understanding.

By Shangqun y

Jun 30, 2017

Overall, the course is good, the programing problem is challenging, demanding a lot of thinking. I hope the explanation of the algorithmic can be more clear though.

By AVIK S

Jul 01, 2020

It is a little difficult for beginners but worth it. This course helped me understand the basics of algorithms. Should do this if anyone wants to learn algorithms.

By Daniele P

Aug 14, 2016

I learned a lot in this course and it was sufficiently challenging. My only qualm was that some of the pseudo-code was hard to understand and slightly misleading.

By 张艺谙

Oct 30, 2019

Most of the lessons are useful, but some parts are not much clear for me, so that I need to find some other materials.

The programming exercises are challenging.

By Socrates V F L

Aug 26, 2016

To complete this course you should be familiar with programming. While the first weeks are relatively easy to follow, last ones are really hard to keep up with.

By Daniel U

Mar 24, 2016

This is an awesome Course. I'd like that the failed tests, of the submitted programs, to be shown, in order to have a better idea where you are doing wrong.

By Nikhil M

May 16, 2020

It is an excellent course. It would be better if visual illustrations were to be displayed with the pseudo code, rather than after explaining pseudo code.

By Sahil J

Aug 29, 2016

I found the course to have some really helpful approaches to solving algorithmic problems when test inputs are unknown. Great "Toolbox" for a programmer.

By Prianka B

Oct 11, 2016

Alexander Kulikov, Michel Levin and Neil Rhodes are awesome teachers. Every topic of this course opens a whole new dimension of concept. It was awesome.

By Pankaj K

Nov 11, 2019

Week 6 of the course is little bit hard as compare to the initial weeks and the rate of increment of difficulty is high in the last part of the course.

By Ryan C

May 12, 2019

Highly informative, touching on all the key areas while remaining succinct. Problem sets were excellent – only suggestion would be to add more of them.

By Syed S A

Apr 23, 2020

The course will make you stronger in programming ever, as it will make you focus on time and space complexity and focuses on thinking out of the box.

By Sidharth S

Jul 01, 2016

The full course should be available with the assignments for the non payers. Only the certificate of this should be provided to those who have paid.

By Diego S

Nov 15, 2019

The coding challenges are incredibly valuable. Would have liked a bit more in depth mathematical explanations for the Dynamic Programming sections.

By Diwakar R

May 20, 2020

there was a language problem , and it would have been better if the explanation was not always in the form of expression but followed IRL examples

By ertosns

Apr 04, 2016

the content if very good, but lecturers are terrible. you better read slides and read any book you like. watching their videos it wast of time.

By Abhijeet K

Apr 03, 2016

Good course.But I wish there was a final assignment which covered all the weeks like a module exam to revise what we have learnt in all 4 weeks

By Mykola D

Mar 27, 2018

I like the course. I've learned a lot of new things. However, I felt like I needed more detailed info and more examples on some of the topics.