Chevron Left
Back to Graph Search, Shortest Paths, and Data Structures

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Graph Search, Shortest Paths, and Data Structures by Stanford University

4.8
stars
1,764 ratings
208 reviews

About the Course

The primary topics in this part of the specialization are: data structures (heaps, balanced search trees, hash tables, bloom filters), graph primitives (applications of breadth-first and depth-first search, connectivity, shortest paths), and their applications (ranging from deduplication to social network analysis)....

Top reviews

DS
Mar 29, 2020

Awesome course! Professor Roughgarden is fantastic. The material was appropriately challenging. Perfect amount of rigor. Only one minor squabble: the hash problem set is terribly misleading.

TG
Nov 30, 2019

It was an awesome experience to learn from such a teacher. Now I have a much clear view of the graph algorithms. I have enjoyed this course. Thanks to Stanford for offering this course.

Filter by:

176 - 200 of 204 Reviews for Graph Search, Shortest Paths, and Data Structures

By Bianca D

Feb 23, 2019

Great course; especially on Data Structures and when certain ones are appropriate. I do wish the final exam solutions would be posted after completing the exam successfully in the same way the problem set solutions, hints and comments are provided.

By Jingxuan W

Aug 24, 2019

the later graph algorithms are implemented rather cursory. It is quite hard for us to implement it at home using a "big idea" as given in the video. I wish the instructor could give us some intuitions of how Java, C++, or Python handle the case.

By Nikola G

Jul 25, 2018

Great course but needs restructuring. The videos of how an algorithm works come after extensive discussion on what its action's running times are. If this were flipped and we learned how it works before running times it would be more intuitive.

By Marcus H

Oct 19, 2017

Great course! The programming assignment for Week 4 was a bit demoralizing, though. I am very certain I had the right answer, but had to implement another solution that did not involve Hash Tables in order for it to process in < 24 hours.

By Georgios K

Dec 29, 2019

Great course, the first exercise was a little bit hard but the material is useful, if you read the relevant book then the course is even easier.

Last I want to mention that writing the code in Python makes the course easier.

By Sai R

Dec 11, 2016

The material was a little light and far fewer video quiz questions to test our understanding of the material. I also tried to test myself on BFS and DFS by doing online quizzes like geeksforgeeks - bombed really hard.

By Garrett M

May 22, 2018

assignments didn't seem as interesting or complex as class 1, besides week 1 of class 2. Lecture material was high quality however, and the advanced optional material is appreciated

By Songmao L

Nov 3, 2019

Hope the professor could teach more about hashing and give a detailed implementation of some data structures or supply some interface template code.

By Joseph B

Aug 9, 2018

This course was much harder than the first one. Plan to spend extra time doing the assignments. However, it is totally worth it!

By PLN R

Jun 17, 2018

Great course! Best one for refreshing concepts! Can act as a starting point too! Absolutely love the explanation.

By Marko D

Jan 15, 2020

Great coverage of graphs and basic implementations. Wish hash implementation was discussed in more details.

By Manu A

Feb 9, 2020

more examples of hashing algorithms could have been introduced (like consistent hashing, Murmur hash etc.)

By Rudransh J

May 4, 2020

An exhaustive and engaging course. Recommended if you can work hard with dedication. Overall very nice

By Fan Y

May 1, 2018

The optional components seem to be important to answer the quizzes and questions for some weeks.

By Utsav S

Jul 27, 2020

it helped me a lot specially the hash table content portion..Thanks a lot

By ALLA K R

Jan 15, 2020

i understand algorithms very well thank u for learning me more detail

By Sandeep P

Sep 8, 2018

Very nice introduction to Graph Search. Thanks to the instructors!

By Toader A

Dec 6, 2020

Mentor help is almost non-existent.

By Mohit S

Jun 28, 2017

NICE CONTENT.

By Rakshit G

Dec 17, 2016

Good learning

By Christophe K

Dec 29, 2020

good

By Sudhanshu B

Mar 4, 2020

I feel it is an ok course, however the assignments can be made better. The assignments in Alogorithms offered by princeton are more interesting and meaningful.

By Michael B

Aug 7, 2017

Some of the problem sets were a little fiddly. Especially the last one, which was crushingly terrible if you tried to actual use the solution he told you to.

By Joern K

Aug 30, 2018

Sometimes badly synchronized, there are also mistakes in the videos which haven't been corrected.

By Nadanai L

Mar 30, 2019

Wonderful material but some issues with programming assignments which need updating