Chevron Left
Back to Vowels of American English Pronunciation

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Vowels of American English Pronunciation by University of California, Irvine

4.9
stars
228 ratings

About the Course

This is the second course of The Pronunciation of American English specialization. In this course, you will learn and practice all of the vowel sounds of American English, including pairs of vowels that may be easy to confuse. Each week you will receive practical advice from successful English learners and practice an effective technique called shadowing to improve your pronunciation of vowel sounds. You will also have opportunities to record yourself and to respond to the recordings of other learners. Only learners who pay for the course will be able to take the graded quizzes or submit assignments for feedback. The free version provides access to the lectures and practice activities only....

Top reviews

ES

Sep 24, 2021

Aunque el título hace parecer que el curso es sencillo, fue una experiencia enriquecedora.

Don't trust yourself by the title, this is an excellent and full of learning course (in my experience).

NN

Jun 26, 2020

Very helpful. This course provides a core for learning vowels pronunciation and truly shows interesting information that I've never learnt before when studying at compulsory school.

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 72 Reviews for Vowels of American English Pronunciation

By Kelum P

Jul 31, 2020

It's a great course that helps non-native speakers to understand the native speakers' conversations and speak in English with an American accent.

By Ariane C S

Feb 19, 2021

I loved how was format the course, and it's been constructive in my English journey. Thank you to the staff and Coursera for this opportunity.

By Md I H

Jun 14, 2020

This course is a good start for setting your pronunciation. I have got an idea how to use my mouth correctly while saying certain sounds. I'm more conscious pronouncing vowel sounds, I understood how finally to correct my mistakes that made my speech difficult to be understood. 3 stars because I didn't see any active involvement of the managers of the course or teachers. There were certain mistakes in the tests that lowered my score. Peer review is not valuable, the rubrics are not clear what exactly to evaluate.. I don't understand why pay for the certificate... I wish I could get some valuable feedback on my pronunciation.

By Noriko Z

Jun 24, 2020

I think it's a very useful course for many people with simple explanations to make vowel sounds. Yet, as some learners mentioned, the mouth shape figures are a little too simplified and they are mainly from the side, meaning that there were not any other detailed mouth views from the front or any other angles or any photo or video-like real life views..

Also, it is quite a pity that some quizzes include errors but not fixed at all. I would like the staff people responsible for the course would check what the learners post in Discussion section, otherwise w e have no communication places to post any problems. Thank you.

By Như N

Jun 27, 2020

Very helpful. This course provides a core for learning vowels pronunciation and truly shows interesting information that I've never learnt before when studying at compulsory school.

By Angel R A J

May 27, 2020

I would strongly recommend this course, it was a fascinating journey, You will enjoy so much that you can become addicted to do it and to improve your pronunciation.

By Lourdes M P C

Apr 13, 2021

I like the detail with which the teachers teach how to pronounce vowels, never before has someone taught me so clearly

By Akhoon F

Feb 21, 2021

THIS IS WORTH EVERY PENNY . I AM GLAD , I CHOOSE THAT COURSE

By Julio

Apr 22, 2023

I learned English with the wrong approach: Writing and Reading and then Listening and Speaking. Due to this, I mispronounced plenty of vowel sounds. Thanks to this course, I understand better the secrets of clear pronunciation. I need to practice more, clearly, but UCI teachers have taught me how to do it. I am super grateful. I promise to keep practicing every day, and I am sure that with their knowledge, my pronunciation and accent will be excellent sooner than later. Thanks, UCI teachers. You rock!

By Cindy H

Jul 8, 2023

Excellent team of experts and perfect teaching. I'm so glad that I took this course. I will never forget it. They helped me understand the vowels and look at them from another perspective. I feel I have really achieved my goal. I love the didactic ways they use to teach you through a rubber band, images, and videos.

By ISMAIL C T

Dec 22, 2021

I am greatly thankful for all of my teachers on this course. I have already taken a similar course on this topic from my university but I have ended up learning more about pronunciation and also practicing my skills. I would recommend this class to everyone :)

By Esaú C

May 23, 2023

This course for it has been very helpful because I learnt a loto about how to pronounce and i feel more confident when i have to speek in English without doubts it's amazing this course and the specialization.

By Ernesto G S

Sep 24, 2021

Aunque el título hace parecer que el curso es sencillo, fue una experiencia enriquecedora.

Don't trust yourself by the title, this is an excellent and full of learning course (in my experience).

By Chinnawat C

Feb 21, 2021

Well structured. Good instructors, Good lecture.

Recommend for all who want to improve English pronunciation especially those who learn English as a second language like me.

By Edgar A M G

Nov 6, 2021

one of the most helpful courses I have ever taken in my second language career!! thanks again for this invaluable material.

By Pirada C

Mar 10, 2023

I love this course so much . made me have more confident and learn more with Vowels of American English

By C A P

Nov 28, 2020

This course is very complet, the teachers are nice and they motive you to learn much.

I liked this course a lot

By Ngọc G N T

Nov 6, 2022

The course is great to me. I have learnt many new things regarding to American pronunciation.

Thanks so much!

By Luis B

Aug 27, 2021

Los tips y recomendaciones que acá nos proporcionan los profesores son invaluables, un millón de gracias.

By Flávio V d S

Feb 15, 2021

I really enjoyed this course. It helped me to improve my pronunciation.

Now I feel more confident!!!

By Micah M M

Jan 13, 2021

Nice Examples! I hope examples are written in the PDF file. Thanks! This lesson helped me a lot.

By Dino P C

Jul 26, 2020

Great content! I would suggest it to anyone who wants to master American English Pronunciation.

By Dalila R L

May 31, 2022

it is a great course because you can identify the diferents sounds in American English vowels.

By Deleted A

Aug 30, 2022

This course was very important for my English learning. The methods used were quite useful.

By Мариам

Mar 27, 2023

I really liked this course. It was quite intense, but very interesting! Thank you!!