Chevron Left
Back to Data Visualization and Communication with Tableau

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Data Visualization and Communication with Tableau by Duke University

4.7
stars
2,834 ratings
656 reviews

About the Course

One of the skills that characterizes great business data analysts is the ability to communicate practical implications of quantitative analyses to any kind of audience member. Even the most sophisticated statistical analyses are not useful to a business if they do not lead to actionable advice, or if the answers to those business questions are not conveyed in a way that non-technical people can understand. In this course you will learn how to become a master at communicating business-relevant implications of data analyses. By the end, you will know how to structure your data analysis projects to ensure the fruits of your hard labor yield results for your stakeholders. You will also know how to streamline your analyses and highlight their implications efficiently using visualizations in Tableau, the most popular visualization program in the business world. Using other Tableau features, you will be able to make effective visualizations that harness the human brain’s innate perceptual and cognitive tendencies to convey conclusions directly and clearly. Finally, you will be practiced in designing and persuasively presenting business “data stories” that use these visualizations, capitalizing on business-tested methods and design principles....

Top reviews

TP
Jul 3, 2016

Thanks very much for great content and especially, Ms. Jana Schaich Borg for brilliant presentation skills, lovely voice and good looking as well. Please participate. This is highly recommend course.

TT
Sep 18, 2020

An in detail course for beginners on Tableau. Excellent work by the professors in terms of explaining key concepts and helping students learn the tool properly. All should definitely go for it :) !!

Filter by:

476 - 500 of 641 Reviews for Data Visualization and Communication with Tableau

By Jahirul I

Sep 5, 2020

Awesome

By Yaqin Z

Mar 8, 2020

thanks.

By Goh J H

Nov 10, 2020

great!

By arti b

Jul 14, 2020

thanku

By Kandem S

Nov 22, 2020

Super

By LINDA A L

Jan 10, 2020

#Jana

By Suchita K

Feb 4, 2016

Great

By Navindra C

Oct 13, 2020

Good

By Shikha C

Oct 10, 2020

good

By Tejas K

Sep 29, 2020

good

By Mansi B

Sep 19, 2020

good

By Khushbu V

Sep 18, 2020

good

By JENEETA

Sep 3, 2020

good

By HECTOR I M R

Aug 23, 2020

good

By 付兴晨

Mar 31, 2018

NICE

By Guangyu X

Dec 3, 2017

good

By Bharath M

Jul 4, 2017

good

By Nguyễn Đ C

Nov 10, 2016

good

By QING L

Dec 1, 2015

good

By Samer A

Mar 17, 2016

v

By Walter R

Mar 11, 2016

T

By Manoj P

Feb 17, 2016

T

By Marica C

Dec 22, 2015

G

By BAYYA R

Apr 12, 2017

I am a working professional in the field of data analytics where in Tableau is one of the application we use it on a daily basis. My motive for taking this course is to learn some more innovative techniques that are used by professionals in tableau but the fact was there is nothing new for me to learn here in terms of techniques. I would say this course suits best for a beginner but not for someone who already has some lineage with tableau.

Pros:

1. Hourglass model is one of the things I liked the most.

2. Final project submission is really challenging and which help me to learn lot of new things.

Cons:

1. Weekly tests are very lengthy

2. Every once can get 100% not a big deal by trial and error

3. Most of the questions in the weekly course are very subjective and cannot have a single correct answer. We had to retake the test again and again to get 100% due to subjective questions

However this course has definitely changed my way of looking into data and the way we decipher it. I am looking forward to continue and take more coursers to be a the part of this esteemed analytics community.

By Benjamin C

Jun 8, 2016

Prof. Jana S. Borg is the simply the best! Every lecture material (videos/exercises/final project) is carefully crafted to optimize student's learning experience. She's made the learning fun and that's not easy to do!

Now, let's talk about the reason why I didn't give this course a full 5-star rating.... It's the students! As you might already know, this class requires us to put together a 5-minute screencast video that will demonstrate our understanding in 1) Tableau, 2) Business Analytics and 3) Presentation skills. Unfortunately, most of the students only care about the first one while blatantly ignoring the other two. And that makes the grading process a pain in the..errr.... you know what!

Another important reminder. Be sure to submit the final project days before the deadline. Otherwise, you might be at risk of not getting graded by 3 other students! On the forum, a student claimed that she was forced to join this session because she couldn't get 3 peers to grade her project TWO SESSIONS ago! The horror!