Chevron Left
Back to Archaeoastronomy

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Archaeoastronomy by Politecnico di Milano

4.5
451 ratings
131 reviews

About the Course

Archaeoastronomy is the “science of stars and stones”. It is an interdisciplinary science in between architecture, archaeology, and astronomy. It studies the relationships between the ancient monuments and the sky, in order to gain a better understanding of the ideas of the architects of the past and of their religious and symbolic world. The course provides the first complete, easy introduction to this fascinating discipline. During the course, many spectacular ancient sites of archaeology – such as Stonehenge in England, Giza and Karnak in Egypt, Chichen Itzá in the Yucatan, Macchu Picchu in Peru and the Pantheon in Rome – will be visited and the fascinating events occurring there in special days of the year (such as solstices, equinoxes, or the day of the foundation of Rome) will be shown and explained. The course also provides the necessary background on Astronomy with the naked eye and a general introduction to the role of Astronomy in religion and in the management of power among ancient cultures....

Top reviews

II

Mar 03, 2019

Amazingly made MOOC. Perhaps it feels a bit short in comparison to some of the others, but the material is well presented and the suggested readings give plenty of opportunity for further learning.

WT

Sep 17, 2019

It is a great course. I have enjoyed each of the segments covering many more ancient sites than I have known about in the past and explaining the ones I did know about in much greater depth.

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 130 Reviews for Archaeoastronomy

By Muhammad W K

Jan 13, 2019

Excellent Course Outline and easy to understand content, Prof. Giulio Magli has done an excellent job to make that all information understandable to the students. Regards!

By Mandy N

May 11, 2019

Fascinating topic taught in a very engaging way! I thought the instructor was very clear, especially with all the new vocab for this subject. The review of stats and probability at the end was helpful to understand how some of the conclusions are made in this field of study. I would like added modules on Pacific and Asian astroarcheological sites too.

By Olivia D

Jun 13, 2018

Insightful and super interesting, would recommend to anyone with an interest in this particular field and is a beginner.

By Bredelet F

Jan 17, 2019

A most interesting course where links between history and science are underlying. It made me want to travel and discover these wonders so rare in our world.

By Lina M D W

Jan 22, 2019

Excelent

By Sharan S M

Feb 05, 2019

I enjoyed this course

By Diane S

Mar 20, 2019

Interesting course and quite complex in places. Well worth the time

By Barry M F

Mar 20, 2019

Fascinating course, delivered in a most engaging manner with some real challenges for those of us who find the language of mathematics a little baffling. Professor Magli pursues a well balanced perspective on what the connections between 'stars' and the stones of ancient sites might be. A quite brilliant blend of culture, religion, architecture, archaeology and astronomy - as Tina would say ' simply the best'

By Imanuel

Mar 03, 2019

Amazingly made MOOC. Perhaps it feels a bit short in comparison to some of the others, but the material is well presented and the suggested readings give plenty of opportunity for further learning.

By Douglas A K

Jan 29, 2019

This course is absolutely outstanding, I loved it! Far more in-depth than expected, and the teaching was phenomenal. Thank you very much!

By Paul H

Jan 26, 2019

Brilliant subject area. Well constructed and well put together. Excellent delivery.

By GBT

Feb 02, 2019

Great quick course, wish there was a little more videos at the end rather than readings tho.

By Peta A

Apr 04, 2019

Was great, very enjoyable

a course on this topics subsection spanning a greater length of time would be also worth participating in if it is ever offered in the future.

Thank you again and it was a wonderfully presented course.

By Georgios L

Apr 11, 2019

Amazing course.Interesting and you have the chance to learn the basic connection of stones and stars.Archaelogy and Astronomy.Thank you very much.

By Marcela R V

Mar 12, 2019

Excellent course.

By Jaime

Sep 11, 2018

Amazing. I've enjoyed a lot. Thank you very much! Me ha parecido muy completo e interesante. Me ha sorprendido en muchos momentos y creo que está preparado para ser fácilmente accesible por todas las explicaciones y ejemplos que da. Ya lo he recomendado a varios amigos porque creo que ayuda a cambiar la mirada. ¡Muchísimas gracias!

By Manon v U

Aug 10, 2018

Thank you very much for all the interesting lectures and reading material. I have really enjoyed the last 6 weeks and I have learned many new things. I am sure that I will continue to expand my knowledge about Aarcheoastronomy. I have however one remark about the quiz questions. Despite the fact that the level of the questions changed from being rather difficult to really obvious, it happened a few times that the questions belonging to a specific week were not mentioned at all. Perhaps the questions could be more chronologic with the weeks and the mentioned material.

By GANESH V P

Aug 20, 2018

Good course.

By Sohini B

Oct 06, 2018

It is a wonderful course. Easy with short videos. You get to know about why the archaeology was created and what stellar or solar phenomenon can we perceive through those.

By Dimitrios K

Oct 07, 2018

Fascinated by the high academic level of the impressivly presented scientific knowledge. My respect to Dr. Magli.

By Luis E J G

Oct 16, 2018

Great combination of astronomy and ancient cultures, everything with a scientific eye.

By Muhammad T M

Nov 13, 2018

GOOD ONE

By Kurt M

Nov 17, 2018

This course has lots of good information with an interesting instructor. The integration of visual images and stories with the astronomy and archaeology data is well done.

By Gonzalo V

Sep 06, 2017

I enjoyed this class a lot! Living in Mexico, surrounded by ancient ruins (not "european" ancient, but ancient nonetheless), I am know visiting archeologic places with a different view... and a compass in hand.

Thanks!

By Felipe A A

Jun 02, 2018

Very interesting the combination of two of my favorites areas of interest: astronomy and archeology. I hope there will be a continuation of this course