Chevron Left
Back to Archaeoastronomy

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Archaeoastronomy by Politecnico di Milano

4.5
stars
684 ratings
210 reviews

About the Course

Archaeoastronomy is the “science of stars and stones”. It is an interdisciplinary science in between architecture, archaeology, and astronomy. It studies the relationships between the ancient monuments and the sky, in order to gain a better understanding of the ideas of the architects of the past and of their religious and symbolic world. The course provides the first complete, easy introduction to this fascinating discipline. During the course, many spectacular ancient sites of archaeology – such as Stonehenge in England, Giza and Karnak in Egypt, Chichen Itzá in the Yucatan, Macchu Picchu in Peru and the Pantheon in Rome – will be visited and the fascinating events occurring there in special days of the year (such as solstices, equinoxes, or the day of the foundation of Rome) will be shown and explained. The course also provides the necessary background on Astronomy with the naked eye and a general introduction to the role of Astronomy in religion and in the management of power among ancient cultures....

Top reviews

II

Mar 03, 2019

Amazingly made MOOC. Perhaps it feels a bit short in comparison to some of the others, but the material is well presented and the suggested readings give plenty of opportunity for further learning.

WT

Sep 17, 2019

It is a great course. I have enjoyed each of the segments covering many more ancient sites than I have known about in the past and explaining the ones I did know about in much greater depth.

Filter by:

76 - 100 of 210 Reviews for Archaeoastronomy

By Dimitrios K

Oct 07, 2018

Fascinated by the high academic level of the impressivly presented scientific knowledge. My respect to Dr. Magli.

By Pipaluk

Apr 27, 2017

Absolutely excellent! Would love to delve deeper into this subject matter with another iteration of this course.

By Guy G

May 18, 2018

Very nice course. It is a real eye opener and enabled me to understand classical Architecture much better.

By susan

Aug 28, 2017

Except for the fact that the Professor said that the Pharaohs built the Pyramids, it was a great course!!!

By Mark E

Apr 05, 2020

Really interesting overview of the topic. You can really sense the lecturer's love of the course.

By GBT

Feb 02, 2019

Great quick course, wish there was a little more videos at the end rather than readings tho.

By Luis E J G

Oct 16, 2018

Great combination of astronomy and ancient cultures, everything with a scientific eye.

By sumeet

Jul 12, 2017

Amazing and Excellent and Exciting. Hoping to cover more sites from other countries :)

By GAURI S

Apr 18, 2020

This is a very interesting course, however a bit hard to play with angles in the sky.

By Paul H

Jan 26, 2019

Brilliant subject area. Well constructed and well put together. Excellent delivery.

By Francesco V

Sep 29, 2017

Wonderful insight in ancient thoughts about the sky, wish it could be also for us!

By José R I

Jun 28, 2019

A very interesting course and a perfect introduction to Professor Magli's book.

By Juan G V B

Apr 21, 2019

Excelente curso, desde el inicio va de la mano en la explicación de cada tema.

By Adriana J

Sep 20, 2017

I learned a lot in this course, it was very interesting. Thank you very much!

By Michael C S

Jun 05, 2020

Muy interesante la visión "estrellas y piedras"

Un curso que debes hacer.

By Andrea S

Aug 09, 2019

Es un curso entretenido pero me fue difícil entender algunos tecnicismos

By ilayda

May 17, 2020

It was a great course. I learned many things I didn't know. Thank you.

By Diane S

Mar 20, 2019

Interesting course and quite complex in places. Well worth the time

By Elena G S

May 15, 2017

Well done, clear and informative. The main ideas are clearly stated.

By Jorge A A E

May 26, 2018

Excellent course material. Very Interesting and easy to follow.

By Laura K

May 23, 2020

Fascinated course, really well explained. Highly recommend!

By Zully H M T

Jan 10, 2020

Grandioso. gracias por todo el conocimiento que me dieron.

By Alvaro J C M

Apr 17, 2017

Excelent and nice course. Congratulations. I learned a lot

By Melanie M

Apr 20, 2020

A well thought out course. I loved it and learnt so much.

By Kirill G

Apr 19, 2020

It was meaningful and cool learning, thank you very much!