Chevron Left
Back to Basic Statistics

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Basic Statistics by University of Amsterdam

4.7
2,122 ratings
562 reviews

About the Course

Understanding statistics is essential to understand research in the social and behavioral sciences. In this course you will learn the basics of statistics; not just how to calculate them, but also how to evaluate them. This course will also prepare you for the next course in the specialization - the course Inferential Statistics. In the first part of the course we will discuss methods of descriptive statistics. You will learn what cases and variables are and how you can compute measures of central tendency (mean, median and mode) and dispersion (standard deviation and variance). Next, we discuss how to assess relationships between variables, and we introduce the concepts correlation and regression. The second part of the course is concerned with the basics of probability: calculating probabilities, probability distributions and sampling distributions. You need to know about these things in order to understand how inferential statistics work. The third part of the course consists of an introduction to methods of inferential statistics - methods that help us decide whether the patterns we see in our data are strong enough to draw conclusions about the underlying population we are interested in. We will discuss confidence intervals and significance tests. You will not only learn about all these statistical concepts, you will also be trained to calculate and generate these statistics yourself using freely available statistical software....

Top reviews

PG

Apr 21, 2016

This is a nice course...thanks for providing such a great content from University of Amserdam.\n\nPlease allow us to complete the course as I have to wait till the session starts for week 2 lessions.

CD

Mar 06, 2016

This course is really awesome. Designed well. Looks like a lot of efforts have been taken by the team to build this course. Kudos to everyone. Keep up the good work and thank you very much.

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 550 Reviews for Basic Statistics

By Yuqin L

Nov 20, 2017

Week 3 really puts me off

By Luis O C

May 12, 2019

It is a great course, I learned a lot but some recommendations.

The teachers should revisit some R classes, I found some typos and specially week 7 R Class, since most of the class are problems based on the videoclasses but more advanced, getting together topics already taught in a more difficult way, a class about all that is recommended, I understood almost nothing and it was more like guessing.

Some exams need extra explanation of the reasons why an answer is wrong or why the right answer is the correct one.

By Mark v d S

Apr 06, 2019

This course is very good. Make sure you know very basic principals of R-programming, or just programming in general. It doesn't have to be much, but a little knowledge will spare a lot of frustration.

There are a few errors in the course and the quiz answers here and there, and the forum is not maintained well. Brace for week 3 and 4! The instructor speaks very fast and unclear for some people (especially non native speakers I guess), and the material gets quite tricky in these weeks. However, it all gets a bit easier again later.

So much for my whining. The instructor(s) actually uses a lot of fun ways to dive into statistic methods. week 6 and 7 were an absolute blast to me. Finally, the course really teaches you a lot about basic statistics! So it does exactly what it is meant to do.

p.s. Don't stress for your final exam. You get more attempts per month than it says. Take a few hours for it though.

By Adya K

Apr 02, 2019

The course is good so far...However be warned that you need to know the basics of a computing language called R. If you don't know this it would set you back by a many days. Then the option is given to reset deadlines and they charge regardless.

There is no advice stating "Know R " before signing up.

By Summer

Mar 29, 2019

The instructor spend most of the time explaining the easy part like calculate the numbers but ignore the difficult part like explaining the concept and derive the equations. Although the whole team spend a lot of time preparing the course and try to make the course vivid, as a student with minimal statistic knowledge it is still really important for me to understand each concept and equations instead of just reciting them. For every equations that appeared in this course I was asking why, but there is no explanation of why this equation is like this and how you derive, there are just follow up examples to put the number in the equation and calculate them.

Thanks for the efforts your team put in this course.

By Mike P

Jan 08, 2019

This class is fast paced. Weeks 1 and 2 are the equivalent of Stats 101 at a university. Some of the videos cover the topics too fast and would benefit from some additional examples. To truly learn the topics, I visit other sites that cover the topics in more detail, presented in a different manner, and provide more examples.

Pros

Comprehensive

Great illustrations

Cons

Requirement time is grossly underestimated in the course overview

Quiz questions can be stated in a confusing manner

Videos can cover topics too fast without enough examples or information

By Stefano C

Jun 15, 2019

This course was great to get an introduction of basic statistics and inferential statistics. The R exercises are great to test what you learned with practical exercises (in a real-life scenario where you have access to a tool like R). I cannot give 5 stars, because the chapters on probability are confusing and poorly explained: probabilities are one of the most difficult parts of statistics, so they require more pedagogy (with clear formulas to calculate conditional probabilities and step by step explanations)

By Du F

Apr 22, 2019

非常完美~~~ 我爱了!!!敲稀饭这个组合 可萌可攻可 ... 这个basic statistics的课程 很稀饭很稀饭很稀饭

By Ute T

Mar 13, 2019

Very well explained and timed in a good flow. All important infos are there. The handouts are correct, and the videos correspond with audio/handouts. It is very nice that the quizz has hints for those answers that were wrong.

By Mohammed R A

Mar 03, 2019

Excellent for understanding the basic concepts and designed for those who have no clue what R is..

By Francisco M A C

Feb 21, 2019

This is an incredible curse. It has a lot of information, but they manage to deliver it in a dynamic, fun, and quite intuitive way, so it is really easy to develop an inner logic for all of the statistical concepts. Thank you very much.

By Syberen v M

Feb 09, 2019

The instructional videos are clear, nicely illustrated, and contain good examples that make you get an intuitive grasp of the course material. Exams are good and the feedback provided references the lecture in question, so that you can re-watch it, very nice.

The biggest drawback of this course are the R labs. The questions are extremely sloppy, full of spelling errors. Most of the questions could have been asked during the regular exam, since all you are doing is submitting answers, no programming needed at all. If there are multiple questions in one section, there is no way of knowing which one you got wrong, it will simply say "something isn't right", which is very infuriating.

I hope they will shift these questions from the R lab to the regular exam. Given that I'm paying a considerable monthly fee to take this course, I would have definitely expected this aspect to be better, and feedback to be taken seriously, which I don't think it is unfortunately.

By Pau V A

Aug 06, 2018

This is great! Every single concept is explained in avery easy and intuitive way! I loved it!

By mridul b

Jul 20, 2018

Some statistical things require explanation which was missing.

By chengxiaoxue

Oct 13, 2017

I do not understand why the instructors cannot use simple, daily-life examples. Why should the invented islands, rocket be involved in their examples? For a person who has no idea about planes, we should try hard to understand something unnecessary ! Please do not just stay in the ivory tower! Think about real life.

By Alessandro F

Jan 26, 2017

great introduction to statistics with no prior knowledge required. Although in parts has been challenging, for me is the right degree of difficulty to push an individual to learning.

By Daniel S

Sep 30, 2016

The lecturer does not clearly explain the topics very well especially on the topics in Probability and Distribution. His presentation in English is honestly quite hard to understand.

By Deleted A

Aug 06, 2016

One of the best courses of statistics for the beginners. The concepts are well explained, the learning path well researched and above everything the R labs were ideal for the beginners.

By Big W

Jan 08, 2016

---------- way too much time is devoted to introducing definitions and way too little time is given for student practicing and review . the presenter's accent is constantly impeding instant recognition of what he's saying. the subtitles sometimes don't accurately represent what he's saying. sometimes there are misspellings - which makes it even harder to know what he's saying. this student was inundated with formulas that needed to be practiced - and i didn't even have time to write them down !

By Shaun

Jun 25, 2019

Great instructional videos and other materials. This course has helped me achieve my goal of relearning statistical methods.

By Mugdha

Jun 25, 2019

Concepts are explained in a very effective manner

By Santhanalakshmi M

Jun 15, 2019

Well and neatly explained with examples. I just love the effort that you put and such a wonderful course to take.. Thnx a lot!! have fun!!

By Akash

Jun 11, 2019

I like this it's quite interesting

By Zaid I P

Jun 11, 2019

Taking up this course helped me get a crystal clear understanding of the statistics concepts. I would recommend this course to anyone who is trying to learn the basic concepts of statistics. Cheers!

By K. N S K A G

Jun 10, 2019

Extremely helpful course. Laid my foundations for a hopefully bright future in Analytics and Data Science.