Chevron Left
Back to Bayesian Statistics: From Concept to Data Analysis

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Bayesian Statistics: From Concept to Data Analysis by University of California, Santa Cruz

4.6
stars
2,603 ratings
681 reviews

About the Course

This course introduces the Bayesian approach to statistics, starting with the concept of probability and moving to the analysis of data. We will learn about the philosophy of the Bayesian approach as well as how to implement it for common types of data. We will compare the Bayesian approach to the more commonly-taught Frequentist approach, and see some of the benefits of the Bayesian approach. In particular, the Bayesian approach allows for better accounting of uncertainty, results that have more intuitive and interpretable meaning, and more explicit statements of assumptions. This course combines lecture videos, computer demonstrations, readings, exercises, and discussion boards to create an active learning experience. For computing, you have the choice of using Microsoft Excel or the open-source, freely available statistical package R, with equivalent content for both options. The lectures provide some of the basic mathematical development as well as explanations of philosophy and interpretation. Completion of this course will give you an understanding of the concepts of the Bayesian approach, understanding the key differences between Bayesian and Frequentist approaches, and the ability to do basic data analyses....

Top reviews

GS
Aug 31, 2017

Good intro to Bayesian Statistics. Covers the basic concepts. Workload is reasonable and quizzes/exercises are helpful. Could include more exercises and additional backgroung/future reading materials.

JB
Oct 16, 2020

An excellent course with some good hands on exercises in both R and excel. Not for the faint of heart mathematically speaking, assumes a competent understanding of statistics and probability going in

Filter by:

126 - 150 of 668 Reviews for Bayesian Statistics: From Concept to Data Analysis

By Medha A

May 6, 2020

I thoroughly enjoyed the course. Honest feedback would be that the course should have included a coding assignment with a particular template. But all apart, it was a great learning experience. Thanks!!

By Fabian S

Feb 17, 2019

A great introduction to Bayesian Statistics. For some of the Quiz questions, it would have been helpful to get an error warning in case one might had accidentally used a comma instead of a dot notation.

By Raja F Z

May 24, 2020

instructor style and way of delivering lectures is very interactive and made this course very easy to understand, wit even a little knowledge of probability. Tank you very much instructor and coursera.

By annalise s

Mar 25, 2020

it is a wonderful course. In this course, I have learned some basic theories and concepts for bayesian statistics and also do some applications with R programming. Highly Recommended as a intro courses

By Alex T

Feb 19, 2020

Excellent first course in Bayesian statistics - definitely not too basic, but just at the right level that you can understand everything in the course without having studied Bayesian statistics before.

By Jorge V C

Jun 1, 2017

A very complete and easy to follow course. It's very helpful for everyone who needs to work with data and has to take decisions about that. It also has examples in R and Excel. I strongly recommend it.

By Alexandre H d S

Jul 13, 2020

It's an amazing course, I strongly recommend. It was like a complementary course for the Data Analysis course of my university, giving a wide explanation over bayesian analysis. I'm glad to finish it.

By James B

Oct 16, 2020

An excellent course with some good hands on exercises in both R and excel. Not for the faint of heart mathematically speaking, assumes a competent understanding of statistics and probability going in

By John H

Jun 27, 2018

Great course. The content moves at a nice pace and the videos are really good to follow. The Quizzes are also set at a good level. You can't pass this course unless you have understood the material.

By Jose P C

Nov 7, 2017

I've learned how to process data and analyze data from studies, that's a wonderful ability I think everybody should try to learn in order to not get manipulated by the media. Thanks for this course!

By KAUSHIK B

Nov 14, 2020

A very good introduction to Bayesian Statistics.Couple of optional R modules of data analysis could have been introduced . However, prerequisites are essential in order to appreciate the course.

By Yiwen

Jan 25, 2019

The course if very informative but some previous knowledge and understanding of basic statistics (e.g., distributions) is recommended to fully grasp the concepts delivered through the course.

By Jonathan H

Oct 6, 2017

This course is well prepared.

The videos are of high quality and the lessons are easy to follow.

I enjoyed the Honors content as well, that gives an extra challenge to those who want it.

Thanks!

By Ana E R O

Jul 21, 2020

Prof. Lee's approach is simple and intuitive. There are exercises throughout the videos, which help you make sure you and the professor are on the same track. I would certainly recommend it!

By Sudhir K P

Nov 16, 2017

This is first time exposure to bayesian statistics and I must say it has given me a different perspective to analyzing data especially when dealing with unpredictable data or unknown data.

By Gabriel

Jan 9, 2017

Very nice introduction to bayesian concepts and rationale. With this course I could understand why should I spend more time learning this technique (which I will definetly do on sequence).

By Burak U

May 25, 2020

This was an invaluable learning experience. I was delighted to go through this learning.

I strongly suggest this course to anyone who wants to learn or refresh their statistics knowledge.

By Flavio L

Oct 29, 2016

Amazing course ! Excellent. Prof. Herbert has a great didactics, the material is clear and very well planned, including the assessments. Thank you very much. Flavio Lichtenstein (Brazil).

By Ming L

May 6, 2018

I like the course and how the questions are designed. I wish it can be accompanied by a booklet of transcripts of some sort. Videos are good, but so are traditional reading materials.

By Sanjiv P

Nov 22, 2020

Very insightful. I'd recommend this course to anyone who wants to learn how to adjust a model after observing data. Test questions were quite practical modeling real world scenarios.

By Manos T

Jul 19, 2017

Exceptional course on probabilities and statistics from a Bayesian point of view. I would recommend this course to anyone wishing to learn more about probabilities and statistics.

By Magdalena S

Dec 7, 2016

One of the best courses I took to date. Paralleled only by ML (by Andrew Ng). Non-trivial assignments, focused on practice, well-explained concepts in readings. Truly impressed.

By Oleksii N

Aug 25, 2020

The best course for beginners in Bayesian analysis! But some knowledge of frequentist statistics, distributions (Exponential, Poisson, Normal, Bernoulli, Binomial) is required.

By Jaime E A T

Mar 7, 2019

I recommend this course for anyone interested in learning Bayesian statistics: You can start here. It covers the core concepts as well as some computations using R and Excel.

By Deepak K

Sep 17, 2017

Very well structured course. Problems and quiz are real life problems, and it's challenging and rewarding to solve them. Thanks to Prof. Lee for delivering an awesome course.