Chevron Left
Back to Big Data, Artificial Intelligence, and Ethics

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Big Data, Artificial Intelligence, and Ethics by University of California, Davis

4.6
stars
319 ratings
89 reviews

About the Course

This course gives you context and first-hand experience with the two major catalyzers of the computational science revolution: big data and artificial intelligence. With more than 99% of all mediated information in digital format and with 98% of the world population using digital technology, humanity produces an impressive digital footprint. In theory, this provides unprecedented opportunities to understand and shape society. In practice, the only way this information deluge can be processed is through using the same digital technologies that produced it. Data is the fuel, but machine learning it the motor to extract remarkable new knowledge from vasts amounts of data. Since an important part of this data is about ourselves, using algorithms in order to learn more about ourselves naturally leads to ethical questions. Therefore, we cannot finish this course without also talking about research ethics and about some of the old and new lines computational social scientists have to keep in mind. As hands-on labs, you will use IBM Watson’s artificial intelligence to extract the personality of people from their digital text traces, and you will experience the power and limitations of machine learning by teaching two teachable machines from Google yourself....

Top reviews

MV
Apr 27, 2020

A perfect course for beginners and non-computational professionals who are curious to explore Digital foot print, the state of the art Artificial Intelligence applications and the research ethics.

PK
Jul 8, 2020

Excellent course on How the Big Data, AI and ML technology plays a big role in developing the world. Thanks to all the professors who made it even easier to understand the subject with clarity.

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 88 Reviews for Big Data, Artificial Intelligence, and Ethics

By JEBIL J C

May 19, 2020

The course has been extremely useful to me. Especially inn developing interests in the filed of Big Data and AI. It also helped me to realize the moral and ethical responsibilities one needs to have while engaging in the fields.

By Malla V

Apr 28, 2020

A perfect course for beginners and non-computational professionals who are curious to explore Digital foot print, the state of the art Artificial Intelligence applications and the research ethics.

By Charlotte H

Apr 19, 2020

Thank you for this very interesting program. However, I think that reflection could go even further on ethics, by also tackling the legality aspect, since the law often lags behind practice.

By Pranjal S

May 24, 2020

The course is great and it helps to get us an idea about what this AI is all about

By Sunil S

Jun 15, 2020

I expected it to give a brief knowledge about AI and big data with the help of coding, but it only showed the past of it and its ethics, which was not quite helpful.

By Fernando A

Jan 21, 2021

Delighted with the content of the course, the pace and how much I've actually learnt. Even though I studied branches of AI (Genetics Algorithms, Neural Networks and Computer Vision) in my degree, this course has provided me an incredible current and relevant understanding that has changed how I think and feel about AI.

With everything that's going on, I truly believe this is a "must do" for everybody who wants yo understand how the world works today and in the future. Well done University of California putting this course together.

By Tuhina R

Mar 9, 2021

A very informative and well designed course. Strongly recommended for beginners in computational social science with no prior background in coding. Especially liked the NLP task and the lectures of AI and Big data ! Kudos to the hard work of course organizers who presented the vast /seemingly complex topic in a simple manner .

By Malini A W

Oct 26, 2020

Absolutely loved the course content. The section on Ethics was absolutely brilliant with case studies and in depth explanations! My only wish was that was longer!

Thankyou for such a wonderful curated course!

By Georgios L

Sep 7, 2020

Given a high score and it provides a great deal for Big Data and Ethics. I would expect a bit more for AIm but overall, a nice course if you don't have the time to technically deep dive into these areas.

By Prasad K

Jul 9, 2020

Excellent course on How the Big Data, AI and ML technology plays a big role in developing the world. Thanks to all the professors who made it even easier to understand the subject with clarity.

By Pranav J

Aug 6, 2020

Excellent course. Helps in developing a good base in artificial intelligence for beginners. The explanations and lectures are very clear and understandable. Won't bore the listeners.

By Arpita G

Jun 12, 2020

This is a very comprehensive course that gives a very good understanding of what we mean by Big Data, how it is utilized and relevance to the data and AI in our lufe.

By Pragati C

Jun 11, 2020

i m very grateful to learn big things in simple way, with experienced prof from various streams. impact was mind storming by peer reviews and solving assignment.

By Guan-Yuan W

May 31, 2020

I would say this course is a good introduction to Big Data, Artificial Intelligence, and Ethics. Highly recommend to one who wants to learn basic knowledge.

By Blessen S A

Apr 9, 2021

The course gave me absolutely great insights into AI & Big Data. Will definitely carry forward the discipline and will engage in an advanced level course.

By Poliana D

Jul 20, 2020

The course is very interesting and provides a good basis for what digital footprint is, the limits of big data and a sense of artificial intelligence.

By Guilherme L B

Mar 28, 2021

Spectacular teachers, wonderful content, the cost of artificial intelligence and ethics taught by the University of California at Davis is excellent!

By Reshmi S

Apr 28, 2021

Excellent course. Professon Martin Hilbert has done an excellent jon in terms of content, presentation as well as explanation. Thank you.

By Deleted A

Jul 15, 2020

Pretty awesome and helpful for a new comer detailed explanation of every topic and provide a strong and firm foundation for the topic!

By Milena

Jul 4, 2020

Excellent course, lots of interesting concepts covering the field of artificial intelligence and a welcomed take on research ethics.

By Esther R J

Jun 3, 2020

This course is really very interesting.I have learned a lot about big data,artificial intelligence and ethics.

By Dindson P

Apr 19, 2020

Great course for a quick and easily comprehensible overview of what big data, machine learning and AI entails.

By Paul D

Oct 2, 2020

Excellent course. Gives you a very complete understanding of the basics of Big Data, AI and Research Ethics.

By Minh C N

May 13, 2020

This course has a very engaging and exciting instructor that motivates me to learn more about this subject.

By Alexander P V

Jul 2, 2020

Excelente curso para conocer más y con algo de profundidad sobre los temas avanzados en el primer modulo.