Chevron Left
Back to Astro 101: Black Holes

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Astro 101: Black Holes by University of Alberta

4.8
stars
844 ratings
285 reviews

About the Course

What is a black hole? Do they really exist? How do they form? How are they related to stars? What would happen if you fell into one? How do you see a black hole if they emit no light? What’s the difference between a black hole and a really dark star? Could a particle accelerator create a black hole? Can a black hole also be a worm hole or a time machine? In Astro 101: Black Holes, you will explore the concepts behind black holes. Using the theme of black holes, you will learn the basic ideas of astronomy, relativity, and quantum physics. After completing this course, you will be able to: • Describe the essential properties of black holes. • Explain recent black hole research using plain language and appropriate analogies. • Compare black holes in popular culture to modern physics to distinguish science fact from science fiction. • Describe the application of fundamental physical concepts including gravity, special and general relativity, and quantum mechanics to reported scientific observations. • Recognize different types of stars and distinguish which stars can potentially become black holes. • Differentiate types of black holes and classify each type as observed or theoretical. • Characterize formation theories associated with each type of black hole. • Identify different ways of detecting black holes, and appropriate technologies associated with each detection method. • Summarize the puzzles facing black hole researchers in modern science....

Top reviews

SK

Jul 30, 2020

i love this course, everything from knowledge to the visual and scientific data, this course amazed me.\n\ni thanking to all the person in this course to sharing this knowledge in such an amazing way

DB

Jul 26, 2020

It is an Excellent course , with no math assignments, if you want to learn Black holes Definitely, this is the course for you , i am looking for another course from same team. Excellent Team Effort.

Filter by:

151 - 175 of 291 Reviews for Astro 101: Black Holes

By Irving S

Nov 28, 2020

Excellent course I really enjoyed it. Thanks to all the lectures for their skillful presentation of the subject.

By Sarvesh _

May 28, 2019

Excellent course, gives a lot of knowledge and understanding about space, could have included a little more math

By Richard F

Oct 22, 2021

interesting and easy to follow without the need for a mathematical background (although that would always help)

By Joshua J

May 19, 2020

Amazing course! Teachers were great, videos were fun, and the content was amazing. Would definitely recommend.

By Laura M B V

Jul 19, 2020

it was an incredible course , i learn a lot, the explanaitions were very clear and sustancious, i love it :)

By Aroosha W

Apr 11, 2019

I am so grateful to learn this course from the Alberta university.

and Thankyou professors. :) Keep it up

By Dhananjay S

Aug 11, 2021

Excellent course with a lot of information and a great way for learning the basic physics of a Black Hole.

By John P

Oct 14, 2020

Brilliantly organized and presented. The course stretched my imagination to almost bursting. I loved it.

By ASIF N

Jun 4, 2020

It was great..really great

Most lectures are pretty clear.

Visual representation of the concepts was great.

By Mohammad A

Oct 23, 2019

If I have some money then I would have bought this certificate. It is so interesting subject, I liked it.

By Stephen H

Jul 20, 2021

Thank you! The explanations of (potentially) challenging topics were particularly effective and welcome.

By Leela L S

Sep 16, 2020

This was an excellent course thank you for my instructors they taught me something I couldn't learn ☺️☺️

By EDM18B044 S N D B

Jun 2, 2020

AMAZING COURSE.

HIGHLY INSPIRATIONAL AND THOUGHT PROVOKING.

THANKS A LOT.

REALLY USEFUL TO LIVE MY PASSION

By MASON, D K

Oct 22, 2021

Really loved this course - very inspiring and interesting and taught by an amazing team - thank you!

By Aditi S

Jul 26, 2021

very informative and it made me think about the various mysteries still prevelant around blackholes

By John R

Nov 29, 2018

Excellent course providing a great high level overview of the current science of black hole physics.

By Pamela M

Dec 7, 2020

I really enjoyed the course. I look forward to taking my studies further in the field of astronomy.

By Rohit K

Aug 26, 2021

Amazing course ! Simple explanation with great animation visuals. Recommend to every science lover

By Marek W

Jan 6, 2019

Very simple course, but in not mathematical words explain, how to born, live and died Black Holes.

By Dishari R

Jul 29, 2020

Very helpful . Thanks for this wonderful course. Helped me a lot to gather about the black holes.

By Aniket K S

May 25, 2020

The Course is very informative and interesting. It's a very joyful way of teaching from you guys.

By Hatish G

Apr 9, 2019

Very good content and helpful in understanding the concepts of black hole without any confusion.

By SWASTIK P

Jul 27, 2020

An awesome course. it was a lot of fun, was very informative. Loved this course, enjoyed a lot.

By Francis C

Jun 16, 2020

Really enjoyed the course , excellent presentations and very well explained by all presenters !

By H. R K R

Aug 16, 2021

A​wesome course! The presentation, the graphics, the visuals and the humor! Loved it all!