Chevron Left
Back to Bonds & Stocks

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Bonds & Stocks by University of Michigan

4.6
stars
219 ratings
41 reviews

About the Course

This course is an introduction to bonds and stocks and how they are valued using the principles of time value of money (TVM) covered in the two preceding courses in this specialization. You’ll learn how money is raised by business to support or expand their operations. Since individuals and households typically lend money to governments and businesses, this course will help you make personal financial decision-making. This course is part of a specialization titled “Foundational Finance for Strategic Decision Making” and is helpful if you are interested in applying to an MBA degree program or learning the foundations of finance to be more effective in your career. The pedagogy of the course is applied and problem-based with assignments covering every part of the course that each contain multiple problems that, by design, are introductory and simpler than the more real-world applications you will confront in the real world and more advanced courses. The assignments are all designed by the faculty lead and machine graded....

Top reviews

DH

May 13, 2020

The bonds material was a little unclear for me, I had to seek additional resources, but the Stocks was very informative

EO

May 18, 2020

Great course. The lectures addressed all the foundations of the subject. Also instructor's delivery was on point

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 41 Reviews for Bonds & Stocks

By Christopher Q

Sep 18, 2019

I hope this professor teaches a course in international finance. I would like to take the course.

By Aleksandra R

Feb 19, 2020

Every other week professor just shows you a video of the website Yahoo Finance.

Every week you get 30 minutes to study the same list of formulae, not customized for the lesson.

Assignments are not based on practices or lectures.

By Madhumitha

Sep 13, 2019

Gautam's teaching is very much understandable even for a layman. Great course!

By Santiago R R

Jun 22, 2020

Best of the specialization so far, in my opinion. Great assignments that reflect what was covered in class and encourage further thinking without being unnecessarily hard and the professor is as engaging as always. Thank you!

By ARVIND K S

Apr 24, 2019

One of the finest courses on bond and stock valuation. Besides lots of examples, the course places a premium on understanding formulas intuitively, graphically and mathematically. Recommended for students and managers alike.

By K S D K

May 14, 2020

THE COURSE IS REALLY GOOD. I THANK VERY MUCH THE PROFESSOR FOR THE WAY IN WHICH HE EXPLAINED THE SUBJECT AND AND THANKS COURSERA FOR PROVIDING ME AN OPPORTUNITY TO LEARN THIS COURSE. I ALSO THANK THE SUPPORT STAFF.

By Kaushal B

May 10, 2020

A very well designed course that finally explains in detail all that was going on in the previous courses. Also, when you finally understand what was taught in the stocks module, you are like - BAM, that was neat!

By Dominique H

May 13, 2020

The bonds material was a little unclear for me, I had to seek additional resources, but the Stocks was very informative

By Eugene O

May 18, 2020

Great course. The lectures addressed all the foundations of the subject. Also instructor's delivery was on point

By Sherzodbek N

Apr 04, 2020

One of the best courses to get undertanding of stock market and bons&equity! Thanky you so much

By Dr. M J

May 22, 2020

Very nicely explained with simple examples. Assignments are well designed and very intuitive

By David R H

Aug 08, 2020

Good introduction! It is a pity it does not explains more, but I learn new stuff.

By Masayuki M

Jul 31, 2020

The lecture was well organized and easy to understand.

By ANTO J D

Jul 04, 2020

Really a great course... Got a firm foundation.

By Shahzaman

Apr 27, 2020

i learned a lot! keep it up.

By Marceau D

Apr 08, 2020

Absolutely loved it.

By Diego B

Mar 13, 2019

Excellent course!!

By Saman B

May 09, 2020

Formative lecture

By Carlos J R P

Aug 06, 2020

Good course

By Ramazan S

Mar 29, 2020

Fantastic

By Gang T

May 30, 2019

very good

By Yajan r V

Jun 25, 2020

good

By Gurkaran S C

Jun 24, 2020

Good

By Siri T

Jul 04, 2020

As a person not specifically inclined towards finance, I found the concepts explored in this course to be relatively easy to digest. However, on some questions on the quiz, it could have been beneficial to better understand what went wrong when I did get an answer wrong. Since I didn't make too many mistakes, this was hardly an issue, but some review or further exploration of harder problems could have been used to further understanding. Overall, however, I found this course to be quite informative, even though I did not take all of the courses in this specialization.

By Vishesh A

Jul 10, 2020

Another good course in the specialization. The only issue (yet again!) is that the course content is too less! Professor explains all concepts in such a great way, I'd prefer if the course had more content.