Chevron Left
Back to Stocks and Bonds

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Stocks and Bonds by University of Michigan

4.6
stars
378 ratings

About the Course

In this course, we will apply the central concept and applications of Time Value of Money (TVM) to explore the structure and pricing of stocks and bonds at an introductory level. In this course, you will learn about bonds, different types of bonds (Zero Coupon bonds, Government bonds). You will learn about bond pricing calculations and see their direct connection to market data on bonds. You will also learn about stocks, and their pricing and valuation. You will learn about growth and dividend stocks and how to use market data. After completing this course, you will have an understanding of the two fundamental and pervasive ways in which savers transfer money to governments and corporations. You will be able to apply all this knowledge to personal investing decisions and, importantly, these same tools and frameworks are applicable to corporate decisions. This course is part of the four-course Foundational Finance for Strategic Decision Making Specialization....

Top reviews

SB

Dec 18, 2021

It was Really understandable and Gautam Kaul is really kind, he knows where you can get confuse so he explains one more time.

DH

May 12, 2020

The bonds material was a little unclear for me, I had to seek additional resources, but the Stocks was very informative

Filter by:

26 - 50 of 60 Reviews for Stocks and Bonds

By Masayuki M

Jul 31, 2020

The lecture was well organized and easy to understand.

By ANTO J D

Jul 4, 2020

Really a great course... Got a firm foundation.

By Thalkola d T k s

Feb 21, 2021

Very good one, improved my knowledge

By Shahzaman

Apr 27, 2020

i learned a lot! keep it up.

By Jorge M R

Oct 5, 2023

Bueno y bien explicado.

By Marceau D

Apr 8, 2020

Absolutely loved it.

By Diego B

Mar 13, 2019

Excellent course!!

By nadimhariri

Jul 13, 2021

Excellent course

By Saman B

May 9, 2020

Formative lecture

By Carlos J R P

Aug 5, 2020

Good course

By Claudia A R A

Aug 19, 2021

very good!

By Christer J U

Oct 30, 2020

excellent!

By Jack S

Jan 2, 2021

very good

By Ramazan S

Mar 29, 2020

Fantastic

By Gang T

May 30, 2019

very good

By BURAK T

Mar 15, 2021

GREAT

By Yajan r V

Jun 25, 2020

good

By Gurkaran S C

Jun 23, 2020

Good

By Siri T

Jul 4, 2020

As a person not specifically inclined towards finance, I found the concepts explored in this course to be relatively easy to digest. However, on some questions on the quiz, it could have been beneficial to better understand what went wrong when I did get an answer wrong. Since I didn't make too many mistakes, this was hardly an issue, but some review or further exploration of harder problems could have been used to further understanding. Overall, however, I found this course to be quite informative, even though I did not take all of the courses in this specialization.

By Carlotta F

Feb 16, 2021

This is already the third course of the specialization I am following and I am extremely satisfied. Basic concepts are explained very well and carefully.

The teacher is so passionate and motivated, that you build a relationship with him even if with a distance of years and kilometres! Very well done!

Improvements: it needs to be updated about the current status of the market to make the students have a feeling of applications in the reality of what they are learning.

By Vishesh A

Jul 10, 2020

Another good course in the specialization. The only issue (yet again!) is that the course content is too less! Professor explains all concepts in such a great way, I'd prefer if the course had more content.

By Nikolaos P

Oct 24, 2019

Good professor, good course. Please give more notes (PDF) that includes at least formulas from each week. If possible, formulas and further detail and info.

By Roya s

Jul 12, 2021

This is great for people who have dipped into this subject before , however not for complete beginners as i can be a bit hard to navigate on your own.

By Jacky L

Jun 13, 2020

Jargons could sometimes be better explained in the notes, but overall good intro to bonds and stocks and lays out the fundamentals.

By Tamimul H R

May 8, 2020

This course has helped me a lot to know more about stock and bonds. How to measure the bonds and stocks for finance.