Chevron Left
Back to Building a Data Science Team

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Building a Data Science Team by Johns Hopkins University

4.5
stars
2,608 ratings
349 reviews

About the Course

Data science is a team sport. As a data science executive it is your job to recruit, organize, and manage the team to success. In this one-week course, we will cover how you can find the right people to fill out your data science team, how to organize them to give them the best chance to feel empowered and successful, and how to manage your team as it grows. This is a focused course designed to rapidly get you up to speed on the process of building and managing a data science team. Our goal was to make this as convenient as possible for you without sacrificing any essential content. We've left the technical information aside so that you can focus on managing your team and moving it forward. After completing this course you will know. 1. The different roles in the data science team including data scientist and data engineer 2. How the data science team relates to other teams in an organization 3. What are the expected qualifications of different data science team members 4. Relevant questions for interviewing data scientists 5. How to manage the onboarding process for the team 6. How to guide data science teams to success 7. How to encourage and empower data science teams Commitment: 1 week of study, 4-6 hours Course cover image by JaredZammit. Creative Commons BY-SA. https://flic.kr/p/5vuWZz...
Highlights
Applicable teachings
(79 Reviews)
Brief, helpful lectures
(11 Reviews)

Top reviews

NN

Dec 15, 2017

This course was an exceptional experience where it introduces me to building a data science team, its challenges, nuances and also what kind of approach to take while building and sustaining the team.

JS

Mar 12, 2017

Extremely practical and essentially human, this was really interesting to better understand the different roles and how to help data science teams to work together, highly recommended

Filter by:

51 - 75 of 342 Reviews for Building a Data Science Team

By Brooks K

Aug 03, 2017

Good overview of the essential parts of a data science team, how to recruit them, and how to manage them effectively.

By Paul H

Jan 04, 2017

Great overview, lots of useful tips, and an interesting angle to approach data science that i was not well versed in.

By sudhakar c

Sep 16, 2016

Lectures are very brief and concepts that were delivered will surely help Data Science Managers in

their profession.

By Michael A L

Mar 16, 2018

Team builders of all stripes can benefit from the insights imparted in this course, not just data science groups.

By Mukesh R

Jul 04, 2017

This course proved very useful to me as I am in the process of setting up a data science team for my customer.

By Francesco I

Jun 04, 2017

Excellent!!! I learned a lot, the videos are explanatory and very clear. I would warmly recommend this course

By Mahesh A

Aug 12, 2017

An excellent course. The different roles in a data science team and the challenges faced are well explained.

By Christos G

Aug 25, 2017

Well thought and communicated, concise and punctual. Great experience, excellent value for time invested.

By Deleted A

Jul 30, 2016

Excellent overview of the structure and dynamics of data science teams in various types of organizations.

By Elton K

Dec 14, 2018

Interesting for a Non-Data Science Executive despite some minor spelling errors in video transcripts.

By Dimitrios L

Mar 19, 2018

really helpful since i found many occasions that i can use this course's material for my organization

By Olga A

Jan 19, 2017

Very good course! Thanks to it, i got an interest in developing my skills in Data Analysis further.

By ANNE G S

Mar 18, 2019

I found the subject matter well-presented. The content is actionable and the instructor engaging.

By Robert W

Nov 18, 2017

This is a great course for gaining a top-level understanding of how to build a Data Science team.

By Liz H

Oct 15, 2017

good coverage of skills needed, what a manager of this type of team would need to look out for.

By Samuel V

Feb 12, 2017

Jeff Leek is great, explains things in a very clear and understandable way. Loved the course.

By Luis A

Mar 14, 2019

The Professors are world class and the courses provide a great overview of an emerging field.

By Craig O

Jun 19, 2017

Great overview of current approaches to management of data science/engineering professionals.

By Anupama B M

Oct 13, 2016

This course delivered all the materials the way I expected it to and was easy to understand.

By Diego B

Jan 26, 2019

It's a really good overview with severals useful tips and tricks on how to build our team!

By José L M A

Mar 03, 2019

Very good material. Concise and simple. It has been thoroughly worked out. Good job!

By Joseph S

Jul 17, 2017

Great Course. very helpful in my current assignment in leading a Data Science Team.

By Shabana S

Jun 18, 2018

super engaging, there's no extra fluff that's not applicable. a good use of time

By David I S

Mar 29, 2017

Very good overview , very interesting and with a very good management approach.

By 周宁 N Z L

Mar 28, 2016

Easy to understanding the structure knowledge of building a data science team.