Chevron Left
Back to Building a Data Science Team

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Building a Data Science Team by Johns Hopkins University

4.5
2,511 ratings
336 reviews

About the Course

Data science is a team sport. As a data science executive it is your job to recruit, organize, and manage the team to success. In this one-week course, we will cover how you can find the right people to fill out your data science team, how to organize them to give them the best chance to feel empowered and successful, and how to manage your team as it grows. This is a focused course designed to rapidly get you up to speed on the process of building and managing a data science team. Our goal was to make this as convenient as possible for you without sacrificing any essential content. We've left the technical information aside so that you can focus on managing your team and moving it forward. After completing this course you will know. 1. The different roles in the data science team including data scientist and data engineer 2. How the data science team relates to other teams in an organization 3. What are the expected qualifications of different data science team members 4. Relevant questions for interviewing data scientists 5. How to manage the onboarding process for the team 6. How to guide data science teams to success 7. How to encourage and empower data science teams Commitment: 1 week of study, 4-6 hours Course cover image by JaredZammit. Creative Commons BY-SA. https://flic.kr/p/5vuWZz...
Highlights
Applicable teachings
(79 Reviews)
Brief, helpful lectures
(11 Reviews)

Top reviews

NN

Dec 15, 2017

This course was an exceptional experience where it introduces me to building a data science team, its challenges, nuances and also what kind of approach to take while building and sustaining the team.

JS

Mar 12, 2017

Extremely practical and essentially human, this was really interesting to better understand the different roles and how to help data science teams to work together, highly recommended

Filter by:

51 - 75 of 329 Reviews for Building a Data Science Team

By Zeev G

Mar 13, 2017

very good course for beginners, in my case I built the same team and processes by heart and it matched the suggestions in this course

By Michael F

Jan 18, 2018

nice, easy to follow introduction and guidlines to the topic

By Mahesh A

Aug 12, 2017

An excellent course. The different roles in a data science team and the challenges faced are well explained.

By Allen J M A

Aug 28, 2017

I really like the way this course was divided into manageable sections. It is really engaging and fun (and for those of you wondering, no, it's not boring at all). The course offers all the basics of how to build a data science team. I look forward to more courses like this from JHU and I would love to complete more courses and specialization courses from JHU. Kudos and Thank you!

By jackie c

Aug 26, 2017

a good course to get the Data Science team up and running. gives an overview of each roles and their responsibilities so as possible shortcoming.

By Edij

Dec 30, 2017

Excellent introduction to how to build a data scientist team.

By Anna S

Nov 24, 2017

Very interesting, because it deals with "soft skills" too and handling these seems increasingly important. It helps you understand how a data team works and how to interact with them and manage the environment best. I find this course very useful.

By Antonio B

Apr 26, 2018

great value!

By Alberto D E

May 14, 2018

The basic for building and managing a DS team.

By Bauyrzhan S

Jun 12, 2018

Excellent

By austin v v

Apr 23, 2018

Simple and powerful, really well done.

By Jill M W

Jun 19, 2017

I really enjoyed learn the specific roles of each person in a data science team. By learning the role of each team member, it is a start in learning how to manage each individual role and the whole class came together in a cohesive way.

Great class!

By Juan F

Oct 24, 2016

Great course for someone who will be leading a DS team for the first time.

By Christos G

Aug 25, 2017

Well thought and communicated, concise and punctual. Great experience, excellent value for time invested.

By Liz H

Oct 15, 2017

good coverage of skills needed, what a manager of this type of team would need to look out for.

By Anupama B M

Oct 13, 2016

This course delivered all the materials the way I expected it to and was easy to understand.

By Gabriel U U

May 26, 2018

Great learning experience

By SagarSrinivas

Oct 02, 2017

Good Course!

By Santanu C

May 17, 2017

Excellent.. Thanks Jeff

By olgakl77

Feb 15, 2017

Nice course. Thank you.

By Chloe L

Oct 18, 2017

Great course, great teacher, super useful!

By Mark H

Aug 24, 2017

Very informative and easy to digest. I am the Manager of a Data Science team Manager, so I'm a bit removed from the team and this course is helping me appreciate and understand more about what goes on within the team and how we as an organisation can get more from them and they from the organisation. Very good lectures, with transcripts and all well paced in small, easy to swallow chunks. Very good.

By Sohail B

Sep 07, 2017

Brief Profile: Sohail Butt

I am a man of 58 years old and having an experience of almost 30 years of Business Management of Pharmaceutical & Nutraceutical Industries of Pakistan. Presently I am having my own Consulting Company " AIMMS CONSULTING" and extending my services as Management Consultant to different companies of said sectors.

I am of the conviction that learning is never ending and have a habit of learning new ideas about my favorite subject about Data Science. Although I have the limited usage of this subject in my working areas but I love to know about new areas of different specialties.

I really appreciate highly the efforts of respected instructor and enjoyed the course material and videos presentation of this course. Mind blowing approach was adopted especially in the basic components of Building A Data Science Team Data Analysis.

SUGGESTION:

MY PERSONAL HUMBLE REQUEST, Please make also the important components of course material as a part of this Certificate with % AGGREGATE so that it has a much more worth & impact for the courses participated.

A separate Transcript must be issued with having Aggregate % Score and important Components of participated course.

Thanks & best wishes to all Coursera Team.

By John E

Dec 20, 2017

Helpful breakdown, thanks!

By Ayna M

Dec 15, 2017

So much practical, easy-to-digest material!