Chevron Left
Back to Preventing Chronic Pain: A Human Systems Approach

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Preventing Chronic Pain: A Human Systems Approach by University of Minnesota

4.7
stars
397 ratings

About the Course

Chronic pain is at epidemic levels and has become the highest-cost condition in health care. This course uses evidence-based science with creative and experiential learning to better understand chronic pain conditions and how they can be prevented through self-management in our cognitive, behavioral, physical, emotional, spiritual, social, and environmental realms. The goal of this course is to blend creative, experiential, and evidence-based teaching strategies to help participants understand chronic pain conditions and how a human systems approach can be applied to self-management strategies to reduce risk factors, enhance protective factors, and prevent chronic pain. There are four major objectives to the course; 1. Describe the prevalence, personal impact, and health care dilemma associated with chronic pain. 2. Recognize the clinical characteristics and underlying etiology of several common pain conditions and the peripheral, central, and genetic mechanisms of chronic pain 3. Based on the literature associated with risk and protective factors in the seven realms of our lives, learn specific strategies in each realm that can be employed daily to prevent chronic pain and enhance wellness. 4. Appreciate the value of a human systems approach to health care and how it can provide a basis for integrative, interdisciplinary, and individualized care to preventing pain and enhancing wellness. CONTINUING EDUCATION CREDIT Health Care Professionals Health care professionals who participate in this CE activity may submit this certificate statement of participation to their appropriate accrediting organizations or state boards for consideration of credit. The participant is responsible for determining whether this activity meets the requirements for acceptable continuing education. Email your Coursera certificate statement of completion to your appropriate organization....

Top reviews

PM

Aug 1, 2021

A very thorough discourse. All aspects have been covered. I can only hope that what has been accomplished here is more widely accepted & practiced. This course is too important to dismiss lightly.

RM

Nov 25, 2023

A great & informative course. i really enjoyed and learned a lot of things about Chronic pain through out the course. Thank you the whole team for launching such a informative course for us.

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 121 Reviews for Preventing Chronic Pain: A Human Systems Approach

By Tammy R

Jan 1, 2019

The best course I have taken on Coursera. As a person with multiple illnesses I experience pain of many types. The course taught me the reasons for different types of pain as well as techniques to help. The many dimension's of pain management were a great reminder of what I knew as well as adding to my knowledge. The videos and outlines give you what you need to pass the course yet they provide articles, research data, links and handouts to use if you desire. There is also a follow along with a novel that I still have to finish. I have recommended the course to many of my doctors already. It has spurred me to reassess MY role in my health and look for areas I have not been developing. As a result I am starting a support group for people with chronic physical illness in my area.

By Ulrike S

Jan 6, 2018

This was such an eye-opener and so very, very motivational. I liked the presentations of all modules, especially the cartoons, music clips and the quotes. Also, I liked the variety of instructors and the experiential modules which let me try out mindfulness, meditation and breathing. A great class which I highly recommend!

By Patricia J K

Aug 24, 2020

This course put into perspective what I have felt all along about the current health care system. It is broken in some areas and seriously fractured in others. It needs an overhaul. I agree wholeheartedly with all the training I have received in this course. I now how skills to help myself with my chronic pain and better knowledge about self care and my responsibility to help myself. I am so glad I took this course.

By Rajendra J

Jun 17, 2018

This is a wonderful course. It is designed for patients as well as healthcare providers. I am sure it will help many people and facilitate the process of transformation in the way we deal with this major problem. Thanks again for making it available for general public and professionals.

By Jane W

Sep 12, 2018

This course has helped me understand my role in dealing with my chronic pain.

By Allison T

Aug 22, 2022

This is a course from 2015. The book, The Lost Scroll, associated with it, has a promising premise but terrible execution. Most of the links on the first page link to sites that are no longer running. I only skimmed through the intro lecture, but there was a lot of photos from google. There's a paper on preventing chronic pain, so I checked out the journal it came from, the Global Advances in Health and Medicine journal. Literally the second link from the top is a recipe on how to make a weed cake. Why??? The article seems to be legit, though.

This course needs some upkeep. It probably could've been useful. However, it seems unreliable.

By Emily K

Jun 4, 2017

The only "bothersome" piece was that the first presenter continually introduced himself, over and over, telling us where he is teaching, etc. I liked him but wow, no need to do that as a waste of my time and boring, too! I loved the course, though, and it helped me personally and tremendously, a plethora of valuable information in it!

By Sho S

Mar 31, 2020

This course is very professional and focused, professional doctors, a lot of information and valuable details. I learned a lot beyond the chronic pain, making a treatment plan , trigger points, and the 7 realms. As a cupping therapist , THIS WAS THE BEST I HAVE EVER LEARNED. I AM GRATEFUL!

By Ada P Q N

Feb 2, 2017

A wonderful experience, a course well planned and structured, and with the best human resource, I will miss this enriching experience. Thank you for helping me to improve and to love each day more my work and to help many people, just as you have helped me .... infinite thanks ....

By Laine D

Jul 2, 2017

Great holistic course delivering an integrative healthcare methodology wrapped around preventative factors and risk factors for chronic pain. Lots of new insight even with my education. I only hope that all primary care physicians receive this training.

By MIKY M

Apr 9, 2020

An interesting and well organized seminar about the relatively novel idea of holistic patient-centered approach for chronic pain management. Evenly distributed material and thought-provoking presentations.

By Pradip M

Aug 2, 2021

A very thorough discourse. All aspects have been covered. I can only hope that what has been accomplished here is more widely accepted & practiced. This course is too important to dismiss lightly.

By JDeJong

Oct 30, 2020

very interesting perpective for both patients and healthcare workers- Once again highlighting the need for interprofessional teamwork that centers around the individual patient

By Nita

Jan 31, 2022

I found this course interesting and topical. The readings were well produced and added value to the course. The video's were presented well and included lots of information

By Milltown M

May 30, 2020

As a Therapeutic Massage Therapist, this was a great course to have to go more in-depth into different pain conditions and taking a holistic approach to them.

By Neil C

Feb 17, 2019

Excellent course with a broad perspective on applying the principles of transformative health care to the prevention and management of chronic pain.

By Claire B

Nov 12, 2022

It was informative and well thought out. I would appreciate an outline per topic so it would be easier to follow.

By Lorrie R

Apr 1, 2018

I appreciate the information shared. The patient interviews. I found good clinical advise in the course.

By Jonah K

Oct 27, 2019

As an epidemiologist, this course could not come at a better time than now. Muchas gracias.

By Bryony

Sep 22, 2017

I found the course very interesting and easy to digest

By Anna E

Mar 7, 2018

Very comprehensive course. Some elements reall

By Miguel S C

Apr 24, 2019

Amazing information, loving everything so far

By Kestas J

Dec 23, 2018

Very, very useful and interesting course!

By Erin C

Dec 1, 2022

With a background in physiotherapy and a fairly good working knowledge of chronic pain, this course is a useful add-on and a refresher for ways to approach management for people with chronic pain. I enjoyed the lectures that had a bit more science behind them, as well as the very clinically driven elements for TMJ and fibromyalgia especially.

I think this could be a useful course for professionals without significant chronic pain experience as it covers some of the science, as well as management strategies and frameworks to use with patients while managing their pain. For the general public, I think you can probably pick and choose as some subjects may not be relevant to you (ie, the rather beefy fibro section if you have headaches, if the pain mechanism/science feels a bit too full on, etc).

From what I understand, the course has been reworked somewhat. I'm not sure if that restructure has caused some continuity problems, or what. I found some of the guest lecturers seemed to refer to things we hadn't talked about, or referenced something "in an upcoming module" we had long since covered. Some of the videos were somewhat repetitive (regarding the 7 realms), and I believe it could be streamlined while still retaining the same content.

Overall, I appreciated this robust course as it had a good breadth of content, and it had plenty of hours to add to my yearly PD requirements.

By Louise H

Aug 20, 2019

Some module gave an interesting perspective on Chronic pain, its prevelance, complexity and multitude of considerations needed in managing and treating pain symptoms. Some of the wording and concepts require updating, as they are no longer based on up-to-date and evidence-based information. But overall a good introduction to chronic pain and its management.