Chevron Left
Back to Understanding Clinical Research: Behind the Statistics

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Understanding Clinical Research: Behind the Statistics by University of Cape Town

4.8
1,125 ratings
312 reviews

About the Course

If you’ve ever skipped over`the results section of a medical paper because terms like “confidence interval” or “p-value” go over your head, then you’re in the right place. You may be a clinical practitioner reading research articles to keep up-to-date with developments in your field or a medical student wondering how to approach your own research. Greater confidence in understanding statistical analysis and the results can benefit both working professionals and those undertaking research themselves. If you are simply interested in properly understanding the published literature or if you are embarking on conducting your own research, this course is your first step. It offers an easy entry into interpreting common statistical concepts without getting into nitty-gritty mathematical formulae. To be able to interpret and understand these concepts is the best way to start your journey into the world of clinical literature. That’s where this course comes in - so let’s get started! The course is free to enroll and take. You will be offered the option of purchasing a certificate of completion which you become eligible for, if you successfully complete the course requirements. This can be an excellent way of staying motivated! Financial Aid is also available....

Top reviews

AM

Dec 16, 2018

Klopper MD is a great teacher. There are other courses from another top universities about this topic, but I think this is my favourite. This the shortest in duration and most comprehensive among all.

LK

Jul 29, 2017

Great course!! it is gonna provide you a good foundation in clinical studies if you want to start your career in clinical research! Clear explanation and comprehensive case study! highly recommended!

Filter by:

276 - 300 of 308 Reviews for Understanding Clinical Research: Behind the Statistics

By Peerada N

May 16, 2017

Overall okay, but touches each of the subjects only at the basics. Makes you unable to understand the different types of research and what tests/assessments to use for different kinds of data. Additional self study is required, as they will not go deep into the maths and actual calculation.

By syed r y

Apr 08, 2018

very interesting and easy to understand course it made statistics really easy for me so far

By MEENAKUMARI

Oct 06, 2016

excellent course

By Harold X

Dec 15, 2016

I increased my clinical backgroup through this course. Thank

By Deleted A

Jul 26, 2017

This is a true course of statistics for beginner especially tailored for health professional. I learn so many basic terms and concept behind the statistics. The 2 to 10 minutes videos combined with keynote are really helpful for understanding. However, I do wish there is similar course that use longer time to include more depth in all aspects.

By Federica M

Apr 16, 2018

Thank you for your course. Teaching statistics to the ones (majority) who do not have maths background is incredibly hard and the works for teacher is humongous. Few flaws to highlight: some parts where a little bit too "simplistic" like for instance; sampling and frequency distribution , ANOVA Z and T tables. These parts I believe requires a little bit more insight in the nature of the maths behind it to grab a better understanding of it. I have to say I had to integrate your material with other you tube videos on the web to get a deeper sense of it. An introduction to ROC curve and Meta-analysis is something to consider for future courses

I have also noted a lack of reply to many questions written on the Forum.

But overall a very good course which delivers basic concept of statistics. I think I have improved the ability to better understand the methodology behind research and research manuscript.

By Yamini K

Apr 07, 2017

The videos and key notes seem to be not in snc when it comes to some points .

By Trinesh B

Apr 06, 2018

It is a good course to understand the basics of statistics in clinical research.

By Giulia G

Mar 22, 2017

plus d'exercise à faire chaque semaine.

By Husam E A M I

Jul 22, 2016

have learn too much interesting concepts and perspective regarding interpreting the results of an statistical analysis, also knowing how to chose the perfect statistic tool for a given data set>>>>really enjoyed to have such course with that excellent explanation

Note:can you guys make a better presentation image to visualize hard concepts.

By Tri L

Dec 19, 2017

I'm thankful for the fact that there is little mathematical detail about the statistics, which is indeed a good choice for anyone who just want to correctly "read" a clinical research. The knowledge of the last 3 weeks is, however, too concise. I would love know more about story/nature behind each test, or at least, some good material too read or listen to. But I think, the course is very well structured, lectures are short and clear, examples are interesting and practical.

By Nicholas Y

Apr 18, 2016

-Would highly recommend for anyone looking to quickly get a basis for evaluating statistics and logistics of medical literature. Notes sections after videos are an excellent supplement to the videos (which are not too long), and does a great job of hitting high points.

-If I could make 1 change I would expand the test section to explain more tests (logistic regression, etc.)

By Jennifer P

Aug 04, 2017

If it were just a little longer it would work to count as the Clinical Research requirement for the the IBLCE exam. I learned a lot but that was the real reason I took the class!

By Dr. I A

Nov 24, 2017

This is a excellent first step in learning the basics of clinical research. I strongly recommend beginners like me to take this course before doing your own research work.

By Mitali S

Aug 11, 2017

very informative

By Rephaim M

Apr 18, 2017

Good course, most of the concepts were taught well. It enabled me to develop a more intuitive understanding of clinical research and statistical concepts used

By Fahad U

Jun 22, 2018

Excellent course for beginners!

By Andrea M

Aug 17, 2018

This course gives general informations about the medical statistics.

It's easy to follow and I found it very useful

By Padmaja

Jul 31, 2019

Prof Juan Klopper was good with his explanations and provided examples for us to understand. This course truthfully taught the concepts involved in clinical research without having to memorize the mathematical formulas.

By Noha Y S

Aug 06, 2019

Very good and informative course

By Dennis S

Aug 19, 2019

Dr Klopper is clear in his explanations and has a good grasp of statistics. This course really summarizes the information on statistical tests, but helps introduce you to the terminology and overall meaning of medical studies.

By Mohamed E

Nov 23, 2018

It is a great course but it needs more supplementary sources. Furthermore, the lecturer is fine but he only reads the script without some deep explanation of some issues. All in all, it is a great course for building the basic principles about clinical research and statistical concepts

By Nathan G

Aug 24, 2018

The course is presented by an engaging and likeable lecturer. Moreover, the course is free and so will only cost you your time and whatever effort you put in.

The topics range from very basic to quite advanced and, thus, much information may be at the wrong level for you; on the other hand, there should be some appropriate content for you.

By Lori B

Sep 23, 2016

I believe this may be a more helpful course to those already quite familiar with statistics and for those who use statistical terminology daily.

By pablo s

Aug 18, 2017

its ok, stays some time on a lot of concepts and then goes on to very brief explanations of other ones.