Chevron Left
Back to Understanding Clinical Research: Behind the Statistics

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Understanding Clinical Research: Behind the Statistics by University of Cape Town

4.8
1,132 ratings
313 reviews

About the Course

If you’ve ever skipped over`the results section of a medical paper because terms like “confidence interval” or “p-value” go over your head, then you’re in the right place. You may be a clinical practitioner reading research articles to keep up-to-date with developments in your field or a medical student wondering how to approach your own research. Greater confidence in understanding statistical analysis and the results can benefit both working professionals and those undertaking research themselves. If you are simply interested in properly understanding the published literature or if you are embarking on conducting your own research, this course is your first step. It offers an easy entry into interpreting common statistical concepts without getting into nitty-gritty mathematical formulae. To be able to interpret and understand these concepts is the best way to start your journey into the world of clinical literature. That’s where this course comes in - so let’s get started! The course is free to enroll and take. You will be offered the option of purchasing a certificate of completion which you become eligible for, if you successfully complete the course requirements. This can be an excellent way of staying motivated! Financial Aid is also available....

Top reviews

AM

Dec 16, 2018

Klopper MD is a great teacher. There are other courses from another top universities about this topic, but I think this is my favourite. This the shortest in duration and most comprehensive among all.

LK

Jul 29, 2017

Great course!! it is gonna provide you a good foundation in clinical studies if you want to start your career in clinical research! Clear explanation and comprehensive case study! highly recommended!

Filter by:

201 - 225 of 309 Reviews for Understanding Clinical Research: Behind the Statistics

By Shukrani L S

May 10, 2018

Great course!

Clinical Mathematics like P values were so evident in this course. Really, it opened up my mind in reading the research articles

By Izabella M

Apr 10, 2018

Awesome course. Covers many topics that are in my opinion essential for clinicians

By Martín S H

Jan 22, 2018

It is an excellent course. It is easy to understand and, in truth, generates valuable and applicable knowledge in daily practice.

By Gehad M T R

Sep 11, 2017

excellent one really

By Parker S

Sep 24, 2017

Excellent lectures and written materials. Thanks so much for creating this course!

By Ana I P C

Feb 28, 2018

Excelent!!!

By Harilal V

Mar 12, 2016

i love this vcourse

By VISHNUVARDHAN R

Feb 27, 2018

Awesome Course.. Best course in Coursera for Clinical Research.

By IAN M

May 09, 2018

This course offers a simplified way of understanding the complexities of searching free full-text pubmed articles, study designs, sampling methods, statistical analysis and interpretation of scientific research. I highly recommend it to any clinical research beginner.

By Timur A

Jan 21, 2018

On the one hand, ppl loving no math can really appreciate it (as there's nearly no math at all), on the other hand, some math behind certain topics wouldn't be out of place - for a deeper understanding.

By Mohammed G E

Mar 09, 2018

I think it was a very useful course to get a grasp on what's behind the 'Methods' and 'Statistical Analysis' sections that we read in published papers everyday. It would be even better if another 'advanced' course with similar scope is developed with more examples of real literature studies so the the picture can be even clearer. Thank you!

By Khaldoun B

Mar 07, 2018

Excellent course . Well structured. Highly recommended refresher to research methodology. Relevant to my practice. And well taught.

Can be completed in less than 6 weeks which is great.

By Aletha W

Jun 21, 2018

Really an excellent course. Well presented. Easy to follow, making it easy to understand the fundamentals behind statistics in medical research.

By Rachel R

Mar 11, 2018

Excellent course. Really helped me to have a better understanding of research, what the different tests actually mean and when to properly apply them. Most clear explanation of basic statistical concepts I have heard. Would highly recommend course.

By RAJIV K

Apr 06, 2018

It is definitely a one of the best course for understanding use of statistics in the research.

By Anastasia P

Jun 29, 2018

Perfectly helpful videos and explanations.

By Zhanwu C

Jun 26, 2018

A very good introductory course on statistics in clinical research!

By Cinthya R

Jan 11, 2018

I found the course to be really good for beginners. It was well explained, with examples and teaching how to use statistics (excel). I really recommend it!

By Nallely E M

Apr 10, 2018

highly recommended.

By T. A L

Mar 07, 2018

Clear to understand by step by step manners. Great video and the lecture.

Really helps me understand the clinical research from the basic.

By Maleeha M

Feb 27, 2018

Really love this module, it is very challenging and engaging, I feel that I have definitely learnt a lot from taking this course.

By Otakhoigbogie U

Jun 13, 2018

Excellent course. Instructor is fantastic. Thank you sir.

By Camilla S

Jul 03, 2018

A great and very easy to understand course. It gives you an idea of commonly used statistical analysis, but without going too deep into the math. Great if you are tired of reading articles and not understanding what a p-value or a paired t-test is. thumps up!

By Anesu M

May 07, 2018

So so good! All concepts explained very clearly and concisely. Questions are very good for applying key concepts and assessing understanding. Practice quizzes are very helpful. Wish I had found this course when I first started Medical school - would've saved me A LOT of sleepless nights.

By Bianca M

Aug 22, 2018

The concepts are explained systematically, improving the understanding thereof. Enjoyed this course.