Chevron Left
Back to Understanding Clinical Research: Behind the Statistics

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Understanding Clinical Research: Behind the Statistics by University of Cape Town

4.8
1,161 ratings
321 reviews

About the Course

If you’ve ever skipped over`the results section of a medical paper because terms like “confidence interval” or “p-value” go over your head, then you’re in the right place. You may be a clinical practitioner reading research articles to keep up-to-date with developments in your field or a medical student wondering how to approach your own research. Greater confidence in understanding statistical analysis and the results can benefit both working professionals and those undertaking research themselves. If you are simply interested in properly understanding the published literature or if you are embarking on conducting your own research, this course is your first step. It offers an easy entry into interpreting common statistical concepts without getting into nitty-gritty mathematical formulae. To be able to interpret and understand these concepts is the best way to start your journey into the world of clinical literature. That’s where this course comes in - so let’s get started! The course is free to enroll and take. You will be offered the option of purchasing a certificate of completion which you become eligible for, if you successfully complete the course requirements. This can be an excellent way of staying motivated! Financial Aid is also available....

Top reviews

AM

Dec 16, 2018

Klopper MD is a great teacher. There are other courses from another top universities about this topic, but I think this is my favourite. This the shortest in duration and most comprehensive among all.

LK

Jul 29, 2017

Great course!! it is gonna provide you a good foundation in clinical studies if you want to start your career in clinical research! Clear explanation and comprehensive case study! highly recommended!

Filter by:

26 - 50 of 316 Reviews for Understanding Clinical Research: Behind the Statistics

By Dominik B

Mar 27, 2019

Well-paced and easy to understand course on an important topic! I especially liked the way the assignements were done - tests were challenging and contained practical information, and peer review assignments let me try analyzing papers by myself. I would surely recommend the course to anyone interested in developing the knowledge about statistics in healthcare!

By Giancarlo S Z

Jan 31, 2019

Excellent course

By Víctor M G R

Feb 02, 2019

It is a great course. Teacher is very clear and good examples and exercices

By Jessica M

Apr 04, 2019

Great course. Would plan on taking more courses in the future

By Alan J

Apr 11, 2019

Great introductions to the use of basic statistics

By ANAMIKA S

Apr 15, 2019

the course is nicely structured both as an introduction and the summary. I absolutely enjoyed it!

By Mahfouz_elsawi@yahoo.com S

Mar 14, 2019

very good and informative basics

By Ashraf I E S

Mar 15, 2019

It gives me a greater pleasure to attend this valuable ,concise and easy understanded course and I would like to thank everyone contribute to make this work came to the light special thanks to Dr.Juan Klopper

best regards

By Geoffrey

Mar 07, 2019

The course was presented with absolute perfection. It has enabled me to really understand the statistical elements of clinical research. The skills and knowledge attained will enable me to appreciate the statistical elements of publication more comprehensively. Thanks to Dr. Juan Klopper and the University of cape town team.

By Thadikamala S

Dec 09, 2018

Very Good, giving all necessary Basics of Bio-statistics

By omkolthoum

Dec 09, 2018

Very simple yet comprehensive and useful course

Thanks

By Rodney A R

Feb 04, 2019

The course provides a easy-to-follow learning track to understanding basic research methodology, clinical research and statistics. Completion of the course is mandatory to perform an clinical research internship at our institution, www.zmc.mk

By Matthew W B

Jan 20, 2019

Thank you for this course. The knowledge learned was invaluable.

By Farida D

Mar 10, 2019

It was very helpful course,with lot of things to learn and are require to know under clinical research field. Thanks to coursera and Juan Klopper Sir for the valuable course

By 杨卓璇

Jul 12, 2018

This course is really helpful for my understanding oin clinical research and paper writing

By dhanalakshmi v

Sep 14, 2018

Excellent Course! Really very easy to understand the content thoughout the course. Hats off to Sir. Juan H Klopper .

By Gene D

Aug 27, 2018

Great refresher's course for those who took Biostat in college or in graduate school and a valuable backgrounder course for those who did not. It helps you navigate the Statistical section of the medical journals while assist you in appreciating the meaning behind the data.

By ved p p

Aug 28, 2018

nice course

By Seethamraju S M K

Aug 15, 2018

i found this course very intuitive in leveraging the basic understanding of statistics and why a particular statistic is applied in clinical. The course is unique providing practical exposure in understanding the topics like fetching article in pubmed, p-value, need of central limit theorem, hypothesis testing, ANOVA, sensitivity and specificity analysis used by the authors. I am pretty sure i applied this course practically to my student in class and results are encouraging.

By Leo U

Aug 30, 2018

This has been a good experience. All statistics I have taken prior to this one did not make any sense, because they were not as intuitive as this one! Highly recommend!

By ioannis b

Oct 18, 2018

Excellent course. Clear and concise presentations. Highly recommended.

By Preethi k

Oct 20, 2018

one of the best courses i have done

By Hosea B

Oct 11, 2018

this course really gives more insight into understanding and appreciating the results of a clinical research and to choose correctly the statistics for a given research work

By Wayne F

Oct 30, 2018

An excellent course! I would recommend it to anyone interested in statistics or who needs to communicate with statisticians

By Nguyen H N

Nov 01, 2018

excellent course designated to clinician worker