Chevron Left
Back to Understanding Clinical Research: Behind the Statistics

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Understanding Clinical Research: Behind the Statistics by University of Cape Town

4.8
1,265 ratings
348 reviews

About the Course

If you’ve ever skipped over`the results section of a medical paper because terms like “confidence interval” or “p-value” go over your head, then you’re in the right place. You may be a clinical practitioner reading research articles to keep up-to-date with developments in your field or a medical student wondering how to approach your own research. Greater confidence in understanding statistical analysis and the results can benefit both working professionals and those undertaking research themselves. If you are simply interested in properly understanding the published literature or if you are embarking on conducting your own research, this course is your first step. It offers an easy entry into interpreting common statistical concepts without getting into nitty-gritty mathematical formulae. To be able to interpret and understand these concepts is the best way to start your journey into the world of clinical literature. That’s where this course comes in - so let’s get started! The course is free to enroll and take. You will be offered the option of purchasing a certificate of completion which you become eligible for, if you successfully complete the course requirements. This can be an excellent way of staying motivated! Financial Aid is also available....

Top reviews

AM

Dec 16, 2018

Klopper MD is a great teacher. There are other courses from another top universities about this topic, but I think this is my favourite. This the shortest in duration and most comprehensive among all.

LK

Jul 29, 2017

Great course!! it is gonna provide you a good foundation in clinical studies if you want to start your career in clinical research! Clear explanation and comprehensive case study! highly recommended!

Filter by:

26 - 50 of 343 Reviews for Understanding Clinical Research: Behind the Statistics

By Matthew W B

Jan 20, 2019

Thank you for this course. The knowledge learned was invaluable.

By Wagner S B

Jan 11, 2019

A fantastic intro to the statistics behind clinical research! I haven't done much of my own research, so I am not really familiar with data analysis yet, but the course gave me a great panorama of the basic key concepts and how to think about results more critically. Totally recommend!

By Christmar D Q L

Jan 22, 2019

One of the best courses i've ever done! I really enjoyed it.

By John N T N

Jan 22, 2019

Just an excellent refresher in biostatistics that put many things into perspective. I'll be looking more keenly and with a more critical eye at research papers and now I have more ammunition for doing my own research and writing papers.

By JAMES B A

Feb 15, 2019

Thanks to the team for putting together this course. Dr. Klopper to was excellent in the delivery

By David B

Feb 19, 2019

Fantastic course. Gave me a much better understanding of trial methodology and the underlying statistics. The lectures are well paced and interesting. The assessments and quizzes help to underpin the course.

By Dr. R X K

Feb 18, 2019

Excellent and enjoyable course.

By Sean K

Mar 01, 2019

I very much enjoyed Dr Kloppers course. He manages to teach a wide range of statistical theory within a clinical framework – which is where the value added was as far as I am concerned as I am not a clinician, but I do need to know my way around reports and assessments etc. Further, if the course leaves you wanting more (and it should) look at Dr Klopper’s YouTube page – the content is superb.

By Farida D

Mar 10, 2019

It was very helpful course,with lot of things to learn and are require to know under clinical research field. Thanks to coursera and Juan Klopper Sir for the valuable course

By Mahfouz_elsawi@yahoo.com S

Mar 14, 2019

very good and informative basics

By Ashraf I E S

Mar 15, 2019

It gives me a greater pleasure to attend this valuable ,concise and easy understanded course and I would like to thank everyone contribute to make this work came to the light special thanks to Dr.Juan Klopper

best regards

By Geoffrey

Mar 07, 2019

The course was presented with absolute perfection. It has enabled me to really understand the statistical elements of clinical research. The skills and knowledge attained will enable me to appreciate the statistical elements of publication more comprehensively. Thanks to Dr. Juan Klopper and the University of cape town team.

By Judy-April O

Dec 14, 2018

Good basic overview of the concepts behind statistics. Enjoyed this course.

By Ian W

Jul 30, 2018

After this course, you'll understand the basic knowledge, common statistic methods and which one to use for different data types. Note that the detailed math calculations behind the methods are NOT the aim for this course.

By Anugamini P S

Jul 21, 2018

This course enabled me to understand the key aspects of different forms of researches and methodologies with interesting examples. Thanks coursera.

By Bianca M

Aug 22, 2018

The concepts are explained systematically, improving the understanding thereof. Enjoyed this course.

By Gene D

Aug 27, 2018

Great refresher's course for those who took Biostat in college or in graduate school and a valuable backgrounder course for those who did not. It helps you navigate the Statistical section of the medical journals while assist you in appreciating the meaning behind the data.

By ved p p

Aug 28, 2018

nice course

By Hosea B

Oct 11, 2018

this course really gives more insight into understanding and appreciating the results of a clinical research and to choose correctly the statistics for a given research work

By Chi F M

Oct 14, 2018

this course is everything you need to launch your path into clinical research

By ioannis b

Oct 18, 2018

Excellent course. Clear and concise presentations. Highly recommended.

By Preethi k

Oct 20, 2018

one of the best courses i have done

By dhanalakshmi v

Sep 14, 2018

Excellent Course! Really very easy to understand the content thoughout the course. Hats off to Sir. Juan H Klopper .

By skye r

Jan 26, 2016

I have been looking for a course like this for years.

By Washington C d A

Jan 10, 2017

The course is very good, and I learned a lot.