Chevron Left
Back to Understanding Clinical Research: Behind the Statistics

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Understanding Clinical Research: Behind the Statistics by University of Cape Town

4.8
stars
1,685 ratings
498 reviews

About the Course

If you’ve ever skipped over`the results section of a medical paper because terms like “confidence interval” or “p-value” go over your head, then you’re in the right place. You may be a clinical practitioner reading research articles to keep up-to-date with developments in your field or a medical student wondering how to approach your own research. Greater confidence in understanding statistical analysis and the results can benefit both working professionals and those undertaking research themselves. If you are simply interested in properly understanding the published literature or if you are embarking on conducting your own research, this course is your first step. It offers an easy entry into interpreting common statistical concepts without getting into nitty-gritty mathematical formulae. To be able to interpret and understand these concepts is the best way to start your journey into the world of clinical literature. That’s where this course comes in - so let’s get started! The course is free to enroll and take. You will be offered the option of purchasing a certificate of completion which you become eligible for, if you successfully complete the course requirements. This can be an excellent way of staying motivated! Financial Aid is also available....

Top reviews

AM

Dec 16, 2018

Klopper MD is a great teacher. There are other courses from another top universities about this topic, but I think this is my favourite. This the shortest in duration and most comprehensive among all.

LK

Jul 29, 2017

Great course!! it is gonna provide you a good foundation in clinical studies if you want to start your career in clinical research! Clear explanation and comprehensive case study! highly recommended!

Filter by:

76 - 100 of 493 Reviews for Understanding Clinical Research: Behind the Statistics

By Payal S

Jul 17, 2019

This is an excellent course if you are involved in research work or simply want to understand medical literature better. The concepts are presented in a very simple and easy to understand manner with appropriate examples. Thank you Dr Juan for your excellent effort.

By Laura A G A

May 20, 2020

Really great course to let go of the fear of statistical language. Gives you the necessary tools to adequately understand research papers and the data behind them. Plus gives you a good quick refresh on all research terminology. Understanding statistics made easy.

By Mohammed K

Apr 27, 2019

Excellent course, very well explained and tested the individual appropriately. Covered many topics and although not deeply, it allowed you to understand the basics that will allow you to understand what you are reading and will help you to go further on your path.

By Vitalii U

May 22, 2018

Excellent course! I will recommend it as a MUST to medical advisors and medical liaison officers in pharmaceutical company I am currently working. Very simple and useful explanation of statistics concepts. Extremely useful. Thank you very much for this course.

By Camilla S

Jul 03, 2018

A great and very easy to understand course. It gives you an idea of commonly used statistical analysis, but without going too deep into the math. Great if you are tired of reading articles and not understanding what a p-value or a paired t-test is. thumps up!

By Hugo H Z

Aug 28, 2019

Very easy pace of learning things related with clinical research. The concepts are very well explained, and if you are not an statistician, this course is gonna help you a lot. Thanks to the Dr. Juan Klopper for doing this couse. I higly recomend this couse.

By Ramesh C

Nov 10, 2016

It is an excellent course and opportunity to learn about statistics and its applications in the medical research. The concepts are well explained and easy to understand. I express my heartfelt gratitude to the Coursera community and University of Cape Town.

By Rasheed M F

Jan 19, 2020

This was an excellent experience, refreshing all the information, updating for few unclear things , better understanding of the basics ....... Fast, easy to focus and well explained .......I enjoyed every moment of the course, thanks for all the efforts

By Sebawe S

Dec 22, 2019

A very exceptional course that teaches you so much about clinical research, and I think it's a must for every medical student, who wants to become and evidence-based physician as all the 21st century novel physicians should be, and not just researchers.

By MOHAMED M

May 07, 2020

it was always stressful moment for me when i come cross with reading any article or research data results . but after taking this course it relay made it clear understandable. = the skim for understanding the statistics. thank you very much Dr Klopper.

By Leigh

Aug 02, 2019

Excellent. I would love to have had some of the final test answers explained in some way so I could understand why I got a couple wrong. Either way it was an excellent course, excellent Instructor and appropriate material for basic level statistics.

By Kavan

Jun 03, 2019

The course has been immensely helpful! As claimed in the introduction, it really helped me build an intuitive understanding of statistics. Concepts that seemed boring or confusing, were presented in a very simplified, easy to learn form. Great work!

By Rachel R

Mar 11, 2018

Excellent course. Really helped me to have a better understanding of research, what the different tests actually mean and when to properly apply them. Most clear explanation of basic statistical concepts I have heard. Would highly recommend course.

By Dilini K

Apr 05, 2020

Really enjoyed the course, provided me with a solid understanding of the basics of stats used in biological research. The examples used were relatable, and the material was quite in-depth. Would definitely take another course given by Dr. Klopper.

By Loong S Y

May 15, 2020

Excellent course with clear and concise lectures by Dr Juan Klopper and useful notes. It really helps me to read research papers now with more confidence without really going into the mathematical theories of the statistic. Highly recommended.

By Priti M

Apr 29, 2020

It is indeed a great online course. Dr.Juan(and his team) have explained medical research and the statistics behind it very clearly and succinctly. The case studies as well as the concept of the the peer reviews and assignments is very good too.

By Danilo D

Feb 06, 2017

If you're interested in clinical research or just wanting to grasp the basics of Evidence-Based Medicine, this course is definitely for you. Dr. Klopper's lessons are clear and understandable, yet rich of useful concepts. Highly recommended!

By Maria S

May 20, 2020

This is an excellent course with the right level of detail for understanding what the statistical tests indicate and when they should and should not be used. I liked the written notes that followed the video lectures to reinforce the material.

By Jacqueline H

Mar 04, 2020

This course was a great review of statistics I learned years ago during my undergraduate degree. The lecture videos were interesting, and the use of examples from research studies made the course all the more relevant to me and my job. Thanks!

By Rodney A R

Feb 04, 2019

The course provides a easy-to-follow learning track to understanding basic research methodology, clinical research and statistics. Completion of the course is mandatory to perform an clinical research internship at our institution, www.zmc.mk

By Nguemeni C

May 31, 2017

Great course. I enjoyed taking it and the instructor really explained complex concepts with elegance. He makes everything very easy to understand by providing step-bystep reasoning and appropriate examples. Thanks also to the amazing mentors.

By Gamuchirai T

Feb 12, 2016

Great course-really helps to gain insight into all the statistical info when reading the literature. This course has been particularly good in terms of understanding study results and how I can apply research findings to my clinical practice.

By Ramón A R P

May 05, 2020

I learned a whole bunch! i feel like i can do a complete research with the knowledge i gained. Thank you Dr. Koppler! I promise i will put all of your teachings to good use and maybe the next research to appear on the course will be mine!!!

By John N T N

Jan 22, 2019

Just an excellent refresher in biostatistics that put many things into perspective. I'll be looking more keenly and with a more critical eye at research papers and now I have more ammunition for doing my own research and writing papers.

By Angelina C W J

May 27, 2020

Appreciate Dr Koppler and team that provided this course! As a dummy for statistics this is course really great and helpful. It starts from explaining the basics of research and slowly zoom into the statistics part. Love this course!