Chevron Left
Back to Understanding Clinical Research: Behind the Statistics

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Understanding Clinical Research: Behind the Statistics by University of Cape Town

4.8
1,164 ratings
321 reviews

About the Course

If you’ve ever skipped over`the results section of a medical paper because terms like “confidence interval” or “p-value” go over your head, then you’re in the right place. You may be a clinical practitioner reading research articles to keep up-to-date with developments in your field or a medical student wondering how to approach your own research. Greater confidence in understanding statistical analysis and the results can benefit both working professionals and those undertaking research themselves. If you are simply interested in properly understanding the published literature or if you are embarking on conducting your own research, this course is your first step. It offers an easy entry into interpreting common statistical concepts without getting into nitty-gritty mathematical formulae. To be able to interpret and understand these concepts is the best way to start your journey into the world of clinical literature. That’s where this course comes in - so let’s get started! The course is free to enroll and take. You will be offered the option of purchasing a certificate of completion which you become eligible for, if you successfully complete the course requirements. This can be an excellent way of staying motivated! Financial Aid is also available....

Top reviews

AM

Dec 16, 2018

Klopper MD is a great teacher. There are other courses from another top universities about this topic, but I think this is my favourite. This the shortest in duration and most comprehensive among all.

LK

Jul 29, 2017

Great course!! it is gonna provide you a good foundation in clinical studies if you want to start your career in clinical research! Clear explanation and comprehensive case study! highly recommended!

Filter by:

101 - 125 of 316 Reviews for Understanding Clinical Research: Behind the Statistics

By javed a

Nov 20, 2016

its very useful test. Information id presented in a very simple and lucid way , easy to grasp and remember. The notes provided are very useful. Thanks Dr.Juan H Klopper. you were very helpful. Allah Bless you

By Ali Y E

Dec 15, 2016

very good start to understand basics of clinical research and its statistics

By Mark A D

Aug 24, 2017

Clear concise presentation of the most relevant topics, structure was flexible but rigorous.

By Tamara M

Dec 22, 2015

I highly recommend this course to anyone wanting to understand medical research papers. The concepts are presently clearly and I wish I had taken this course years ago!

By Peter S

Sep 20, 2016

Great course. A good review of material I learned back in University a couple of year ago.

By Amie Z

Jul 25, 2017

Excellent course! Our instructor was one of the best that I have had! Thank you!!!

By Fairuz F

Jan 11, 2016

Great course!

By Robert A

Apr 15, 2016

Excellent course! Thank you very much Dr. Klopper. A++.

By Samar S

Jun 18, 2017

It was a very helpful course, now I know which method I will use in my clinical research and also how to read others.

Thank a lot

By Shihabeddein S A A

May 15, 2016

Excellent introduction in statistics

By Itamar T

Oct 29, 2016

Excellent course. Gives all that is needed in order to practically understand and criticize every piece of scientific paper in clinical context.

By Nguemeni C

May 31, 2017

Great course. I enjoyed taking it and the instructor really explained complex concepts with elegance. He makes everything very easy to understand by providing step-bystep reasoning and appropriate examples. Thanks also to the amazing mentors.

By Zarnain S

Jul 04, 2016

amazing course. Recommend it to everyone out there!

By Ahmad S A

Aug 08, 2017

great experience i got it through this course thank you

By Arieh R M S

Jun 08, 2016

Is a great course, easy to understand!!

By Danilo D

Feb 06, 2017

If you're interested in clinical research or just wanting to grasp the basics of Evidence-Based Medicine, this course is definitely for you. Dr. Klopper's lessons are clear and understandable, yet rich of useful concepts. Highly recommended!

By Sari M

Dec 18, 2017

This course is a really friendly approach to statistics.

By Konstantinos T

Jul 16, 2016

Nice course....

By Ahmed S A S S

Jul 03, 2018

Very organised course and clearly explain the basics of Statistics needed by Medical researchers. It doesn't get very deep in explaining the math behind the tests, however it gets you a good start for understanding the results section in any article you read. Any one who need to start medical research should go by this course.

By Ramesh C

Nov 10, 2016

It is an excellent course and opportunity to learn about statistics and its applications in the medical research. The concepts are well explained and easy to understand. I express my heartfelt gratitude to the Coursera community and University of Cape Town.

By Cesar c

Feb 15, 2016

Very clear and understand material.

Tks

By Lisa K

Dec 03, 2015

excellent course!

By Zeeshan A

Mar 06, 2016

It was nice course. I have learnt a lot from it.

By Sarika B

May 26, 2017

Very informative and extremely useful .Really enjoyed the course and highly recommend it

By Ditte H S

Mar 08, 2016

I learned a lot about statistics without doing any maths :) The course is a good introduction to stats and I feel more confident reading clinical researchs papers now