Chevron Left
Back to Understanding Clinical Research: Behind the Statistics

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Understanding Clinical Research: Behind the Statistics by University of Cape Town

4.8
1,194 ratings
325 reviews

About the Course

If you’ve ever skipped over`the results section of a medical paper because terms like “confidence interval” or “p-value” go over your head, then you’re in the right place. You may be a clinical practitioner reading research articles to keep up-to-date with developments in your field or a medical student wondering how to approach your own research. Greater confidence in understanding statistical analysis and the results can benefit both working professionals and those undertaking research themselves. If you are simply interested in properly understanding the published literature or if you are embarking on conducting your own research, this course is your first step. It offers an easy entry into interpreting common statistical concepts without getting into nitty-gritty mathematical formulae. To be able to interpret and understand these concepts is the best way to start your journey into the world of clinical literature. That’s where this course comes in - so let’s get started! The course is free to enroll and take. You will be offered the option of purchasing a certificate of completion which you become eligible for, if you successfully complete the course requirements. This can be an excellent way of staying motivated! Financial Aid is also available....

Top reviews

AM

Dec 16, 2018

Klopper MD is a great teacher. There are other courses from another top universities about this topic, but I think this is my favourite. This the shortest in duration and most comprehensive among all.

LK

Jul 29, 2017

Great course!! it is gonna provide you a good foundation in clinical studies if you want to start your career in clinical research! Clear explanation and comprehensive case study! highly recommended!

Filter by:

126 - 150 of 324 Reviews for Understanding Clinical Research: Behind the Statistics

By aml s

Dec 12, 2016

very systematic and knowlegable

By Nabin L

Jan 04, 2016

very useful and systematically designed course.

By Marina A H

Sep 14, 2017

i really loved like that course.

By Diana P

Sep 02, 2016

One of the best courses I've ever had (including classes at my University)...

Starting fro the basics, explaining the difference between numerical, categorical data, discrete and continuous variables, Prof. Klopper gave me a better insight in the subject.

I am extremely grateful.

Kind regards,

Diana

By Francisco G

Nov 13, 2016

Very recomended course

By Linn D

Sep 25, 2016

Wonderful! I really enjoyed it and learned so much

By Philip G

Oct 16, 2016

I found this course to be excellent. The material is high-yield in every regard, giving the right balance of big-picture understanding coupled with enough detail to flesh out the experience and the understanding. The professor was very direct and clear in his explanations; I consider the course to be extremely well taught. There were a few areas where the explanation could have been slightly more illustrative or detailed, but nobody is perfect. Overall this is a very valuable course and a worthwhile use of time for any medical practitioner who has to interact in any way with the world of research.

By Maria L

Apr 22, 2016

Excellent work by the professor.I was always bored of maths and statistics but in this course everything was simplyfied and explained. 5/5

By María J L W

Dec 03, 2017

Super buen curso. Muy explicativo y práctico.

By Rodrigo U

Feb 25, 2016

I'm loving it

By Laura K G R

Feb 14, 2016

I really liked it, learned a lot.

:)

By Juan G C M

Apr 13, 2016

Excelente gracias.

By Juliane H

Jul 03, 2016

Excellent course!

By Ashumeet K

Sep 29, 2016

excellent and flexible way to obtain helpfull knowledge

By Julia K

Jan 26, 2016

Totally comprehensible and a most interesting course even for people not involved in the medical profession. Thank you!

By Deborah C

Feb 10, 2016

Excellent course and instructor. It covered the basics and related them to real life research.

By Arieh R M S

Jun 08, 2016

Is a great course, easy to understand!!

By Anuj S P

Mar 18, 2018

Awesomely designed Corse

By Scott56

Mar 15, 2016

This is the first statistics course I could keep up with and understand. It is enjoyable.

By Danilo D

Feb 06, 2017

If you're interested in clinical research or just wanting to grasp the basics of Evidence-Based Medicine, this course is definitely for you. Dr. Klopper's lessons are clear and understandable, yet rich of useful concepts. Highly recommended!

By Sari M

Dec 18, 2017

This course is a really friendly approach to statistics.

By Konstantinos T

Jul 16, 2016

Nice course....

By Nicholas R

Mar 11, 2016

Great course. Very useful as it has translated to me running a cohort study in a major private hospital in Queensland, Australia.

By Dr. H H

May 16, 2018

Excellent course media, downloads and interaction with lecturer.

By Julio A C B

Oct 25, 2017

Congratulations!!! It's a great course.