Chevron Left
Back to Design and Interpretation of Clinical Trials

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Design and Interpretation of Clinical Trials by Johns Hopkins University

4.7
stars
1,863 ratings
320 reviews

About the Course

Clinical trials are experiments designed to evaluate new interventions to prevent or treat disease in humans. The interventions evaluated can be drugs, devices (e.g., hearing aid), surgeries, behavioral interventions (e.g., smoking cessation program), community health programs (e.g. cancer screening programs) or health delivery systems (e.g., special care units for hospital admissions). We consider clinical trials experiments because the investigators rather than the patients or their doctors select the treatment the patients receive. Results from randomized clinical trials are usually considered the highest level of evidence for determining whether a treatment is effective because trials incorporates features to ensure that evaluation of the benefits and risks of treatments are objective and unbiased. The FDA requires that drugs or biologics (e.g., vaccines) are shown to be effective in clinical trials before they can be sold in the US. The course will explain the basic principles for design of randomized clinical trials and how they should be reported. In the first part of the course, students will be introduced to terminology used in clinical trials and the several common designs used for clinical trials, such as parallel and cross-over designs. We will also explain some of the mechanics of clinical trials, like randomization and blinding of treatment. In the second half of the course, we will explain how clinical trials are analyzed and interpreted. Finally, we will review the essential ethical consideration involved in conducting experiments on people....

Top reviews

TS

Jul 04, 2018

High quality course ! covering important areas and detailed lectures, more and better than a mere introduction. Congrats ! My only regret : I'd have liked to hear more about NI and equivalence trials

OS

Sep 19, 2019

This course would be most useful to the participant if pursued within a short time-frame, of maximum of 6 weeks. Both lecturers were clear and good communicators. I would take more of their classes.

Filter by:

76 - 100 of 315 Reviews for Design and Interpretation of Clinical Trials

By TRAN B T

May 21, 2018

This is good course, which provides very basic and fundamental of clinical trials. I strongly recommend for whom interest in clinical research.

By 王颖

Jun 01, 2019

Excellent courses. Very informative and organized lectures. I would like to learn more on data analysis, non-inferiority design and etc.

By Gerda S

Mar 27, 2018

Very good explanation of design and study types. It is helpful for my work. The tests are great and good to understand. Thanks a lot for

By Trija V

Jul 17, 2017

This course gives a good description and a detailed overview on the statistics used in clinical trials. The lectures are easy to follow.

By Antonio G

Nov 15, 2016

Muy buen curso, utilizare todos los conocimeintos obtenidos para el bienestar de mis pacientes, muchas gracias por la ayuda economica.

By Uzoma O N

Nov 09, 2017

This course was exceptionally educative, short time but the information was packed full, thank you for putting together this course

By Gulam M A K

Apr 12, 2017

Excellent course. I would recommend this course for everyone who are interested and don't have the opportunity at their institute.

By Asmaa s

Aug 06, 2019

This course is amazing and interesting, I recommend it for every student, I learned a lot and earned skills of clinical research.

By Athira B

Mar 18, 2019

Excellent course for understanding basics of clinical trial in detail. Very useful, informative, detailed sections with examples.

By shaurya d b

Sep 10, 2018

An amazing course especially for professionals who work in clinical research operations. Very knowledgeable and interesting !

By DRASHTANT R P

Feb 22, 2020

Excellent & quick overview of clinical trials.

Fundamentals of clinical trials are thoroughly described in a stepwise manner.

By Sarah R

Jan 15, 2019

I learned so much from this course. I thought the lectures were very well designed and easy to follow. Thanks Janet and Lea!

By Diogenes S F

Feb 14, 2017

Great introductory course about Clinical Trials methodology. It helps if you have some background knowledge on Epidemiology.

By Lily K

Jan 07, 2017

Eventhough my English language is not strong, i just can complete this course as requirement! Excellent! Thank you very much

By Veronika V

Oct 23, 2016

Clear, concise, and well-presented, should be part of corporate educational programs for staff involved in clinical trials.

By Cynthia F

Apr 03, 2018

Las expositoras son excelentes

La claridad de los contenidos y el abordaje hace que algo tan complejo sea facil de entender

By MUSOKE A

Mar 30, 2017

It is pretty exciting course with rich knowledge in clinical trials' field which is well expressed with practical examples

By Shafagh E

Jan 16, 2019

It's detailed and well-designed course, which could be helpful for digging into Clinical Trials and how it works!

By Stella R

Aug 01, 2019

Very informative course! I took it as a refresher and it helped me to review many concepts in Clinical Research.

By CARLOS E D V

Oct 20, 2019

Good course to refresh knowledge from Clinical Epidiomiology, expand some skills and prepare for ohter courses.

By Liting C

Mar 29, 2020

the course is mainly an abstrast of clinical trials, if there are more detailed information would be better.

By Chirag S

Dec 17, 2016

Comprehensive, pitched at just the right level. Perfect length of course. An eye opener - highly recommend.

By Elizabeth M

Mar 21, 2020

great pacing, great information. really enjoyed the instructors' enthusiasm and obvious depth of knowledge.

By Mahasweta P

Jan 09, 2018

The lectures are in-depth and complete. I'm able to learn by revisiting the lectures again as I require to.

By Ivanova O

Jul 28, 2017

Very balanced course. It helped me to facilitate communication with the Clinical Department in our Company.